Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom London

Good position, very small room. Need of decoratin.

Posted Nov 16, 2014
Pros: The position
Cons: Should not just rely on the position
Location: Centre of the city. Very good for shopping.
Good position, my room was in need of redecorating. Breakfast was adequate. The menu for lunch and dinner very limited. The only reasons to stay at this hotel was the excellent position.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Oxford

Traditional hotel in excellent location.

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: The excellent location, within easy walking distance of many attractions and restaurants. Free Wi-Fi for 4 hours per day of stay.
Cons: The decor could be improved, the damp patches in the bathroom should be remedied, the air conditioning could be improved - there was only one setting.
Location: Right by the Spanish Steps, the Via Condotti for shopping, the Trevi Fountain, and easy walking distance to the Colosseum and Forum.
We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights to celebrate our Ruby wedding anniversary and wanted somewhere special. The building is historic and has character, but is somewhat shabby and in need of redecoration in places. We were upgraded to a Deluxe room and although comfortable, was rather dark as it looked out over other properties. On the plus side, it was quiet. The bathroom was very good and spacious and we also had a connecting dressing area which was small. The staff were friendly and very helpful. A buffet breakfast was included in our room rate and was very good with plenty of choice. We didn't dine in the hotel but had drinks in the bar. The bar snacks that accompanied our drinks were excellent. We enjoyed our stay at the d'Inghilterra!
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Istanbul, TURKEY

Central to shopping

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Very old, run down. Personnel rude. Rooms dirty, dark.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom melnourne

Location, location, location

Posted Sep 26, 2014
Pros: Location and great staff!
Cons: Rooms are very tired!
Location: Shopping Cafe Greco Restaurants - ginger, truffle restaurant, nines Sights
Fabulous staff and wonderful restaurant. Cafe Romano and the Bond Bar brilliant! Airconditioning was much improved from my last stay! I had an amazing time and the staff and other guests made it memorable!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Scotland

Perfect location. Quiet.

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: Location, quietness, pleasant staff, comfortable bedroom, excellent restaurant.
Cons: Bathrooms need updating. Reception/concierge have too many responsibilities. Reception should be completely separate from concierge.
Location: Ideal location for tourism.
I asked the Concierge for directions from Autostrade A1. Nothing was sent and as a result we had a difficult time getting into the right part of Rome. On arrival (2pm) we were offered a double bed room when we specifically asked for twin beds. The bath was a bit ancient - no taps other than via shower control. The concierge/reception staff were charming but over faced by the demanding guests. Quite excellent restaurant with very attentive staff. Had two delicious lunches and our dinner was the best meal of our whole week in Italy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bristol, UK

Great location!

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Pros: Location and a sense of history
Cons: Larger shower room - although there was plenty of hot water
Location: It's right in the centre. Hop on hop off bus best for the major attractions
I stayed in a reasonable size single room here which, whilst having THE smallest shower room in the universe, had the massive advantage of benefiting from a cute South facing balcony - which was a real bonus. The hotel restaurant is certainly worth a visit - and the staff made me very welcome - which is not always the case with lone travellers. The real find for me was the specialist truffle restaurant virtually next door - if you are a fan then a visit here is a must. Other than that there are all the usual sights and of course the hotel is located absolutely in the centre of the chic shopping area! There are also numerous wonderful back streets and alleyways where you will find all of the more interesting shops and indeed restaurants. I would stay in this hotel again - especially for its location but also for its elegant 'old Italy' charm. Enjoy!
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver, BC Canada

1 Star hotel in Rome

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Cons: Needs to be closed and reopened with renovations and new management.
Upon check in we were informed that the hotel had a water supply problem, which we subsequently found to be untrue. They had overbooked. We were then put into a cab and sent to another hotel. We were lucky, because the hotel we went to was a real 5 star just off of Via Veneto. Do not stay at this hotel. The reviews are true, it is old, run down and not by North American standards a 5 star. One point to mention, both the Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain are under repair. Trevi you can barely see. If you reason for staying in this hotel is because of proximity to these landmarks you will be disappointed. If you would like to stay in a great hotel with beautiful setting, a pool and amazing breakfast included in the room rate (it was for us) then book Parco dei Principi. It is next to Borghese Museum, walking distance to Via Veneto. It is in a good, safe area and very quiet at night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2014 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest I am writing in response to your recent review following your unsatisfactory stay at the Hotel d’Inghilterra. The period of your stay unfortunately coincided with some urgent unforeseen plumbing work to the hotel’s water system and all guests had to be found beds at our sister properties or other similar establishments throughout the city. The hotel management is addressing this infrastructure in what is a historic building with its challenges and takes all your points on board. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the alternative we found for you. With best wishes Andrew Jamieson Group Operations Director TDA Capital Ltd on behalf of Royal Demeure Hotel Group
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

Hotel d'Inghilterra, a disappointing experience

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Pros: Apart from its location, I did not appreciate anything from this hotel.
Cons: This hotel needs to shut its doors and undergo a complete renovation from top to bottom and to stop pretending to be a luxury hotel.
Location: The location was good with shops, restaurants and taxis nearby.
I was attracted by the so called luxury and history of the Hotel d'Inghilterra where famous actors and authors like Ernest Hemingway stayed. Within minutes of stepping in the lobby, I discovered that very little as changed since Hemingway's last stay. This hotel is terribly dated, uncomfortable and utterly expensive. After 20 minutes of waiting, I was offered a room with a double bed when I had specifically requested 2 single beds. This room was a small,miserable, with carpet stains and with a noisy toilet that did not have a cover on top of the reservoir. I requested another room and I got a so called junior suite at an higher floor where the sofa was stained, the walls were covered with dirty wallpaper, the air conditioning was noisy and not properly working and the bed was so stiff that it felt like I was sleeping on the top of a cardboard.The next morning, I discovered a bug in the bathroom. That was it for me, I wanted a full refund. I asked for to speak with the manager who, of course, was on his way but after 30 minutes of waiting was no where to be seen.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2014 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest I am writing in response to your recent review following your unsatisfactory stay at the Hotel d’Inghilterra. As a classic Italian five star property we always endeavour to maintain high standards of cleanliness, repair and service throughout the hotel, in particular your bathroom and bedroom facilities, and am extremely sorry to hear the standard and service you experienced on the occasion was well below par. All negative comments and feedback are being reviewed as part of planned improvements to the hotel’s facilities and guest rooms going forward. The hotel management is addressing the infrastructure in what is a historic building with its challenges. I am sorry you were unable to discuss this in person with the GM. To sum up on behalf of the Management Team at the Hotel d’Inghilterra and Royal Demeure Hotel Group we would once again like to apologise for what was an unsatisfactory stay at the hotel. With best wishes Andrew Jamieson Group Operations Director TDA Capital Ltd on behalf of Royal Demeure Hotel Group
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Felipefrom Borrero

Perfect Location for our trip

Posted Jul 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great helpful staff, hotel very nice although small for the price. granted europe hotel rooms are overall smaller. Location is perfect for a romantic getaway and the views are great
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 16, 2014
This place is a dump. Watch for peeling paint in the bathrooms, unidentified hair in the tub, and scuffed walls throughout.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2014 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest I am writing in response to your recent review following your unsatisfactory stay at the Hotel d’Inghilterra. As a five star property we always endeavour to maintain high standards of cleanliness, repair and service throughout the hotel, in particular your bathroom facilities, and am extremely sorry to hear the standard and service you experienced on the occasion was well below par. All negative comments and feedback are being reviewed as part of planned improvements to the hotel’s facilities and guest rooms going forward. To sum up on behalf of the Management Team at the Hotel d’Inghilterra and Royal Demeure Hotel Group we would once again like to apologise for what was an unsatisfactory stay at the hotel. With best wishes Massimo Colli, Hotel Manager