Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from melnourne

Location, location, location

Posted Sep 26, 2014
Pros: Location and great staff!
Cons: Rooms are very tired!
Location: Shopping Cafe Greco Restaurants - ginger, truffle restaurant, nines Sights
Fabulous staff and wonderful restaurant. Cafe Romano and the Bond Bar brilliant! Airconditioning was much improved from my last stay! I had an amazing time and the staff and other guests made it memorable!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Perfect location. Quiet.

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: Location, quietness, pleasant staff, comfortable bedroom, excellent restaurant.
Cons: Bathrooms need updating. Reception/concierge have too many responsibilities. Reception should be completely separate from concierge.
Location: Ideal location for tourism.
I asked the Concierge for directions from Autostrade A1. Nothing was sent and as a result we had a difficult time getting into the right part of Rome. On arrival (2pm) we were offered a double bed room when we specifically asked for twin beds. The bath was a bit ancient - no taps other than via shower control. The concierge/reception staff were charming but over faced by the demanding guests. Quite excellent restaurant with very attentive staff. Had two delicious lunches and our dinner was the best meal of our whole week in Italy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol, UK

Great location!

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Pros: Location and a sense of history
Cons: Larger shower room - although there was plenty of hot water
Location: It's right in the centre. Hop on hop off bus best for the major attractions
I stayed in a reasonable size single room here which, whilst having THE smallest shower room in the universe, had the massive advantage of benefiting from a cute South facing balcony - which was a real bonus. The hotel restaurant is certainly worth a visit - and the staff made me very welcome - which is not always the case with lone travellers. The real find for me was the specialist truffle restaurant virtually next door - if you are a fan then a visit here is a must. Other than that there are all the usual sights and of course the hotel is located absolutely in the centre of the chic shopping area! There are also numerous wonderful back streets and alleyways where you will find all of the more interesting shops and indeed restaurants. I would stay in this hotel again - especially for its location but also for its elegant 'old Italy' charm. Enjoy!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC Canada

1 Star hotel in Rome

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Cons: Needs to be closed and reopened with renovations and new management.
Upon check in we were informed that the hotel had a water supply problem, which we subsequently found to be untrue. They had overbooked. We were then put into a cab and sent to another hotel. We were lucky, because the hotel we went to was a real 5 star just off of Via Veneto. Do not stay at this hotel. The reviews are true, it is old, run down and not by North American standards a 5 star. One point to mention, both the Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain are under repair. Trevi you can barely see. If you reason for staying in this hotel is because of proximity to these landmarks you will be disappointed. If you would like to stay in a great hotel with beautiful setting, a pool and amazing breakfast included in the room rate (it was for us) then book Parco dei Principi. It is next to Borghese Museum, walking distance to Via Veneto. It is in a good, safe area and very quiet at night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2014 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest I am writing in response to your recent review following your unsatisfactory stay at the Hotel d’Inghilterra. The period of your stay unfortunately coincided with some urgent unforeseen plumbing work to the hotel’s water system and all guests had to be found beds at our sister properties or other similar establishments throughout the city. The hotel management is addressing this infrastructure in what is a historic building with its challenges and takes all your points on board. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the alternative we found for you. With best wishes Andrew Jamieson Group Operations Director TDA Capital Ltd on behalf of Royal Demeure Hotel Group
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Hotel d'Inghilterra, a disappointing experience

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Pros: Apart from its location, I did not appreciate anything from this hotel.
Cons: This hotel needs to shut its doors and undergo a complete renovation from top to bottom and to stop pretending to be a luxury hotel.
Location: The location was good with shops, restaurants and taxis nearby.
I was attracted by the so called luxury and history of the Hotel d'Inghilterra where famous actors and authors like Ernest Hemingway stayed. Within minutes of stepping in the lobby, I discovered that very little as changed since Hemingway's last stay. This hotel is terribly dated, uncomfortable and utterly expensive. After 20 minutes of waiting, I was offered a room with a double bed when I had specifically requested 2 single beds. This room was a small,miserable, with carpet stains and with a noisy toilet that did not have a cover on top of the reservoir. I requested another room and I got a so called junior suite at an higher floor where the sofa was stained, the walls were covered with dirty wallpaper, the air conditioning was noisy and not properly working and the bed was so stiff that it felt like I was sleeping on the top of a cardboard.The next morning, I discovered a bug in the bathroom. That was it for me, I wanted a full refund. I asked for to speak with the manager who, of course, was on his way but after 30 minutes of waiting was no where to be seen.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2014 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest I am writing in response to your recent review following your unsatisfactory stay at the Hotel d’Inghilterra. As a classic Italian five star property we always endeavour to maintain high standards of cleanliness, repair and service throughout the hotel, in particular your bathroom and bedroom facilities, and am extremely sorry to hear the standard and service you experienced on the occasion was well below par. All negative comments and feedback are being reviewed as part of planned improvements to the hotel’s facilities and guest rooms going forward. The hotel management is addressing the infrastructure in what is a historic building with its challenges. I am sorry you were unable to discuss this in person with the GM. To sum up on behalf of the Management Team at the Hotel d’Inghilterra and Royal Demeure Hotel Group we would once again like to apologise for what was an unsatisfactory stay at the hotel. With best wishes Andrew Jamieson Group Operations Director TDA Capital Ltd on behalf of Royal Demeure Hotel Group
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 16, 2014
This place is a dump. Watch for peeling paint in the bathrooms, unidentified hair in the tub, and scuffed walls throughout.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2014 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest I am writing in response to your recent review following your unsatisfactory stay at the Hotel d’Inghilterra. As a five star property we always endeavour to maintain high standards of cleanliness, repair and service throughout the hotel, in particular your bathroom facilities, and am extremely sorry to hear the standard and service you experienced on the occasion was well below par. All negative comments and feedback are being reviewed as part of planned improvements to the hotel’s facilities and guest rooms going forward. To sum up on behalf of the Management Team at the Hotel d’Inghilterra and Royal Demeure Hotel Group we would once again like to apologise for what was an unsatisfactory stay at the hotel. With best wishes Massimo Colli, Hotel Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad Experience

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Hotel did not meet the expectations I had. The internet was down for half of my stay. The paint on the walls were chipping everywhere. The bed was very hard and uncomfortable. The worst part was when the hotel staff went on strike and it caused a huge problem.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2014 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest I am writing in response to your recent Expedia review following your unsatisfactory stay at the Hotel d’Inghilterra and wanted to address the points you raise. As a five star property we always endeavour to maintain high standards of cleanliness, repair and service throughout the hotel and are extremely sorry to hear the standard you experienced on the occasion was below par. The points you raise regards repair of the hotel and WIFI have been noted. All comments and feedback are being reviewed as part of planned improvements in all the Royal Demeure properties going forward. Regards the industrial action I would like to extend sincere apologies for the disruption you experienced as a result of the activity. The Hotel was affected at short notice by this action across the entire property and the remaining team members did their best to manage the business in what was an extremely challenging situation. To sum up on behalf of the Management Team at the Hotel d’Inghilterra and Royal Demeure Hotel Group we would once again like to apologise for what was an unsatisfactory stay at the hotel. With best wishes Massimo Colli, Hotel Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney Australia

The hotel was on strike

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: The Position
Cons: Everything
Location: The Spanish Steps,The Trevi Fountain,The Colosseum and the Vatican are all close.
We were booked in for 2 nights.The front desk remained and the room service staff only. They did a good job but the hotel is not a 5 star and should not be advertised as one.The facilities are 19th century and the hotel needs a total refurbishment.The position is excellent but there are plenty of hotels in Rome for the same expensive price that one can book into.Personally it has relied on past glory and it is DEFINEATELY not a 5 star.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2014 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Lillian I am writing in response to your Expedia Review posted last week following your unsatisfactory recent stay at the Hotel d’Inghilterra and wanted to urgently address the points you raise. As a five star property we always endeavour to maintain high standards of cleanliness, repair and service throughout the hotel and are extremely sorry to hear the standard you experienced on the occasion was well below par. The points you raise regards repair of the hotel have been noted. All comments and feedback are being reviewed as part of planned improvements in all the Royal Demeure properties going forward. To address the Industrial action, on behalf of the Management Team at Royal Demeure I would like to extend sincere apologies for the disruption you experienced as a result of the activity. The Hotel was affected at short notice by this action across the entire property and the remaining team members did their best to manage the business in what was an extremely challenging situation. We are sorry that disruption and drop in service resulted despite their best efforts, and which impaired your enjoyment of the hotel. The team pride themselves on excellent customer service and were unable to fulfil on this occasion. To sum up on behalf of the Management Team at the Hotel d’Inghilterra and Royal Demeure Hotel Group we would once again like to sincerely apologise for what was an unsatisfactory stay at the hotel. Massimo Colli Hotel Manager, Hotel d'Inghilterra
4 out of 5
Recommended
by jim from Australia

Great Location

Posted Jun 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great place to stay but was disappointing about the size of room it said 18 sq meters, but the bathroom was bigger than the bedroom. but I guess they rate the verandah as letable space Broken safe still not fixed at the stage we departed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Corey from New York

Honeymoon

Posted Jun 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
Let me start by saying, the front desk staff are impeccable. When the concierge caught wind that my wife and I were on our honeymoon, he had a bottle of Prosecco delivered to the room while we were seeing the sights, with complements of the staff. They made reservations for us, got us VIP passes to the Coliseum and the Forum, the list goes on. Above all, the hotel is beyond nice, the room was outstanding, and the bar/restaurant had amazing food. The hotel is minutes from the Pantheon, the Spanish steps, and 30 min walk to the Vatican. I can't imagine going back to Rome and not staying there again and again!!!!