Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 16, 2014
This place is a dump. Watch for peeling paint in the bathrooms, unidentified hair in the tub, and scuffed walls throughout.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2014 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest I am writing in response to your recent review following your unsatisfactory stay at the Hotel d’Inghilterra. As a five star property we always endeavour to maintain high standards of cleanliness, repair and service throughout the hotel, in particular your bathroom facilities, and am extremely sorry to hear the standard and service you experienced on the occasion was well below par. All negative comments and feedback are being reviewed as part of planned improvements to the hotel’s facilities and guest rooms going forward. To sum up on behalf of the Management Team at the Hotel d’Inghilterra and Royal Demeure Hotel Group we would once again like to apologise for what was an unsatisfactory stay at the hotel. With best wishes Massimo Colli, Hotel Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad Experience

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Hotel did not meet the expectations I had. The internet was down for half of my stay. The paint on the walls were chipping everywhere. The bed was very hard and uncomfortable. The worst part was when the hotel staff went on strike and it caused a huge problem.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2014 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest I am writing in response to your recent Expedia review following your unsatisfactory stay at the Hotel d’Inghilterra and wanted to urgently address the points you raise. As a five star property we always endeavour to maintain high standards of cleanliness, repair and service throughout the hotel and are extremely sorry to hear the standard you experienced on the occasion was well below par. The points you raise regards repair of the hotel and internet have been noted. All comments and feedback are being reviewed as part of planned improvements in all the Royal Demeure properties going forward. To address the Industrial action, on behalf of the Management Team at Royal Demeure I would like to extend sincere apologies for the disruption you experienced as a result of the activity. The Hotel was affected at short notice by this action across the entire property and the remaining team members did their best to manage the business in what was an extremely challenging situation. We are sorry that disruption and drop in service resulted despite their best efforts, and which impaired your enjoyment of the hotel. The team pride themselves on excellent customer service and were unable to fulfil on this occasion. To sum up on behalf of the Management Team at the Hotel d’Inghilterra and Royal Demeure Hotel Group we would once again like to apologise for what was an unsatisfactory stay at the hotel. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly should you have any further comments. With best wishes Massimo Colli, Hotel Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney Australia

The hotel was on strike

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: The Position
Cons: Everything
Location: The Spanish Steps,The Trevi Fountain,The Colosseum and the Vatican are all close.
We were booked in for 2 nights.The front desk remained and the room service staff only. They did a good job but the hotel is not a 5 star and should not be advertised as one.The facilities are 19th century and the hotel needs a total refurbishment.The position is excellent but there are plenty of hotels in Rome for the same expensive price that one can book into.Personally it has relied on past glory and it is DEFINEATELY not a 5 star.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2014 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Lillian I am writing in response to your Expedia Review posted last week following your unsatisfactory recent stay at the Hotel d’Inghilterra and wanted to urgently address the points you raise. As a five star property we always endeavour to maintain high standards of cleanliness, repair and service throughout the hotel and are extremely sorry to hear the standard you experienced on the occasion was well below par. The points you raise regards repair of the hotel have been noted. All comments and feedback are being reviewed as part of planned improvements in all the Royal Demeure properties going forward. To address the Industrial action, on behalf of the Management Team at Royal Demeure I would like to extend sincere apologies for the disruption you experienced as a result of the activity. The Hotel was affected at short notice by this action across the entire property and the remaining team members did their best to manage the business in what was an extremely challenging situation. We are sorry that disruption and drop in service resulted despite their best efforts, and which impaired your enjoyment of the hotel. The team pride themselves on excellent customer service and were unable to fulfil on this occasion. To sum up on behalf of the Management Team at the Hotel d’Inghilterra and Royal Demeure Hotel Group we would once again like to sincerely apologise for what was an unsatisfactory stay at the hotel. Massimo Colli Hotel Manager, Hotel d'Inghilterra
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Don from Canada

Great location, close to all attractions

Posted May 21, 2014
Pros: It has character, not a cookie cutter hotel. It has a unique history and was very well run.
Cons: The only thing that could be a problem was noise from the streets. We adjusted by sleeping with ear plugs.
Location: We were able to walk to all sites we wanted to see, even the Colosseum was only about a half hour walk.
Great place to stay. The Hotel was unique and very well maintained for such an old building. We were able to walk to most locations. Lots of restaurants nearby, cafe's etc...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rachel from midlands

Close to the Spanish steps

Posted May 19, 2014
Very welcoming staff and very helpful . Delicious breakfast, very handy to walk to sites.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel centrally located

Posted Apr 20, 2014
Pros: Location.
Cons: The room I stayed in wasn't the greatest. Would have helped by using lighter colours.
Location: Centre of rome Spanish steps, shopping district everything on your door step
Reception was very efficient. They were very helpful and the concerge was very gd.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by myrty from PR

Fabulous! Great location and staff was excellent.

Posted Mar 7, 2014
We had a wonderful experience. The concierge - Massimo could be better. That reserved restaurants recommended tours, made our stay comfortable and fabulous. Bar great as well as restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by TS

Exceptional

Posted Jan 8, 2014
Pros: Everything
One of the best hotels in Europe. Everything from the accommodations, to staff to service to location was perfect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Robbi from LA

Wonderful Hotel with awesome location

Posted Oct 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
I loved this hotel. It is in the perfect location to walk to restaurants, shops, and all the must see sights. Amazingly the rooms are very quiet. You don't hear all the people on the streets. The staff is exceptional and very attentive. I will definitely book this hotel again and recommend it to everyone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel, location is excellent.

Posted Sep 23, 2013
The staff were very helpful courteous. Very enjoyable stay.