Ratings based on 484 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in the heart of Rome

Posted Sep 25, 2014
Pros: I love the breakfast. Absolutely amazing!!!!!
Cons: The rooms were very nice but I could feel the line down the middle of the bed.
Location: Lots to do in this area. Colosseum, restaurants, spanish steps.
This hotel is really nice. Very clean. Amazing food and the coffee was just great. The location is absolutely great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from houston, Texas

Roman Holiday

Posted Sep 24, 2014
Pros: Location and Staff
Cons: Can't think of a thing.
Location: Restaurants, metro stop, shopping.
This was our first trip to Rome. We had friends who had used Hotel Duca D'Alba a couple times on their Rome adventures and recommended it as a very good hotel. They were not wrong. It was great! The room was small but very comfortable. The staff was superb and the location could not have been better. The full breakfast each morning was wonderful. It is located within a short walk of the Colosseum and an even shorter walk to the Metro stop. Good restaurants near by. We especially like the one just across from the hotel entrance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Service and location

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Room was lovely and the staff were very accommodating. We only stayed 1 night, but all went smoothly
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Swansea, Wales, UK

Perfect location, fantastic staff, lovely hotel

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Pros: The reception staff, the cleaning staff, the breakfast room staff, portering staff were lovely, friendly, helpful, honest and hard working.
Cons: We can't really think of anything other than the odd unpleasant odour in the foyer of the annex
Location: Sited perfectly for site seeing, small characterful street in Rome, some lovely restaurants within easy walking distance
We were in Rome for 5 nights and had an amazing time. The hotel was lovely and just a 5 - 10 minute stroll to the Colosseum and Forum. Our room (D2) was in the hotel annex (just next door to the main hotel) it was lovely, modern, tasteful decoration, very comfortable bed, flat screen tv, bathroom with an excellent shower and air conditioning with a remote control handset. A small lift or winding staircase to reach the rooms. There is sometimes a noticeable odd odour as you enter the lower foyer of the annex but not found anywhere else. Buffet breakfast served in main hotel was great - selection of scrambled eggs, bacon, frankfurter sausages, boiled eggs, cold meats, bruchetta bread, cakes, cereals, fresh fruit, juices, tea, coffee etc. The reception staff were all extremely helpful, good humoured and spoke excellent English, they were able to recommend restaurants, provided maps and helped with booking a tour (Vatican) and contributed greatly to our enjoyment. We walked all the major sites of Rome and had an amazing experience. There are restaurants, and bars nearby, ice cream parlour and small supermarket round the corner. Easy walking distance to metro - we never found the need to use it, preferring to explore on foot. We explored and opted to walk to the Appian Way and along it (next time we'll catch the bus 118 to reach catacombs of San Sebastian and then continue walking) would recommend this lovely hotel to anyone and if we return to Rome would book again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

close to every thing.

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Pros: it was at a very nice location ,close to every thing .
Cons: the air condition system .and the noise .there was a lots of noise in the early morning .
Location: the location is close to every thing that you would want to do and visit all the attraction .
the room we stay in was very dark and very hot .the ac work a little but they had some ac back attach to a window in the room ,which send off a lots of heat .i could not sleep at night because of the heat .when you get there they ask you to leave your key whenever you leave the hotel .we told them we were uncomfortable with that .
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Nice Hotel

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Pros: Key policy
Location: Great location close to the Colosseum Rome. A quick taxi ride to the Vatican. I happily walked from the Vatican back to the hotel but I walk a lot.
I had a nice stay at this hotel. It is clean and comfortable but it is a traditional small Italian hotel - the rooms are small but functional. The elevator is VERY small, if you are claustrophobic take the stairs! The elevator is a little annoying in that you push the button, wait, wait, wait, then the light goes off and no elevator...I commonly gave up and happily took the stairs but if you have mobility issues I am sure this could be frustrating. The hotel has a policy that you must return your room key whenever you leave the hotel and will return it to you when you come back (assuming you match your passport photo they have). I had never heard of this before but they do it so if you lose or have your belongings stolen you will be able to get back into your room. But more importantly, if you were robbed, the person who took your stuff does not have access to the hotel and the rest of your belongings. As a result of this policy, you get to know the front desk staff very well, which makes it a very friendly atmosphere. Don't worry turning in and picking up your key is VERY quick. I loved having one less thing to carry with me to every tour. The front desk will also provide you with business cards to give taxi drivers so you always get back to the hotel easily. The breakfast buffet was typical Italian breakfast buffet, enjoyable but nothing too fancy. If you need a very quiet place to sleep this might not be the best hotel for you as there can be noise from people partying.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Close to the colosseum

Posted Sep 11, 2014
This hotel although small is very nice and the location is very close to the colosseum!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wolverhampton england

Great position for sites 5min walk to collesium

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Great hotel staff were all really friendly the only hotel I would use if I were to return to rome
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

stay

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Pros: location
I recently spent a night at the hotel. I wanted somewhere nice and relaxing to stay that was central to all the key attractions. The hotel was good for this. Very clean, and friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Queensland, Australia

Excellent location in the old city centre.

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Very good location with metro 100 meters away. Easy walk to most of the main sites. Staff fantastic, very helpful and friendly. On arrival I was given a complimentary upgrade from a single to a double room which was much appreciated as I was staying for a week. Even complimentary umbrellas provided. Rooms beautifully decorated only negative is that the beds are quite firm but to be fair I didn't ask if there were softer beds available. Wide variety of eating establishments available at reasonable prices. Some cute small caf├ęs with ivy growing up the walls creating a charming atmosphere. Would stay again.