Ratings based on 316 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham, UK

Perfect Location

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Close to attractions, cheap, clean, lovely staff.
Location: The location of the hotel is perfect, it was about a 20-30 minute walk to the Trevi Fountain and Spanish Steps.
The Hotel was a perfect location for us to explore Rome; its not too far away from the centre but its not too close so that everything nearby was too expensive. The hotel rooms were clean and tidy and were cleaned daily if you put the sign on the door so say that you wanted the room cleaning. The staff were lovely and friendly and had no trouble helping us with directions when we needed them. Overall was pleased with our stay at Hotel Gambrinus for what we paid for the 5 nights, however the only thing we were disappointed with was that the restaurant only serves breakfast and room service and the bar is quite limited.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Les from Toronto

Good location, very friendly staff.

Posted May 10, 2014
Pros: Location, Staff, Breakfast
Cons: I was gonna use the stairs instead of elevator, but the staircase needs improvement.
Location: Close to Termini
This hotel has a good location, 10 min walk from Termini. Breakfast is excellent. Staff very friendly and helpful. Standard room has tiny shower, however the room has a safe and a very comfortable bed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Iain from Napier, New Zealand

Good location for exploring Rome by foot or bus

Posted May 7, 2014
Pros: Location and friendliness of the staff.
Cons: It's a small boutique hotel so room sizes are not always large but who spends all day in their room?
Location: Great location, a short walk to the Railway Station, Bus Termini, Trevi Fountain, lots of small family restaurants nearby.
We spent two nights here and would certainly have no reservation in recommending. The breakfast was excellent and so well presented with a good selection for most tastes. Staff we're very helpful with touring advice and immediately responsive to one small issue we had in our room. TV remote not working, replaced within 10 minutes.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
A value choice that needs a new lobby but gains virtue for its quiet amid buzzing Roma.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Harryboy from UK

Good value for a weekend break

Posted Mar 19, 2014
Pros: Friendly and clean
Cons: Size of shower
Location: Quite handy for transport links to the sites .
Had 4 nights here for a sport + culture weekend . Near enough to city centre to be able to use Public transport or taxi ( but too far to walk in to the main sites ) Rooms were just big enough , but still had all that was needed for the time we spent in it . Staff couldn't have been more helpful for travel advice etc . Enough local and good restaurants close by .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel out of the centre

Posted Mar 18, 2014
Pros: Staff, location, cost
Cons: Better bar
Location: Rome!!
Compact but good room, only drawback was the balcony overlooked the sad inner courtyard. Good breakfast choice and quantity. Nearby restaurants and bars good and non-centre prices, 5mins to termini 20-30 mins walk to main city sights
5 out of 5
by Christine from London

well pleased

Posted Jan 9, 2014
I had never been to Rome before, so when I booked this room on-line, I was a bit nervous. Some of the reviews mentioned small rooms and the slow elevator. Neither of these were a problem for me. We stayed in an economy room and it was good size as far as I'm concerned. The bed was comfortable, the room was quiet and the black out curtains worked so well that I over slept my first day. We were on the 4th floor and never had to wait too long for the elevator.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Keith from London

Functional Hotel close to Termini railway station

Posted Jan 4, 2014
Pros: The hotel is clean, friendly and efficient.
Cons: The breakfast had deteriorated between December 2013 and 2014. The breakfast quality will decide future visits.
Location: The hotel is about 10 minutes' walk from the Termini railway station with reasonable restaurants in the vicinity.
I have stayed twice in the hotel which is something of a recommendation. Its chief advantage is its closeness to the Termini railway station. Otherwise it is a perfectly functional hotel: clean, efficient and warm in the winter. The single rooms are rather cramped. I add a cautionary note about the breakfast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Charshy from Oxfordshire

Comfy beds and great restaurant across the road

Posted Nov 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel room was clean, the beds and bedlinen were very comfortable, and our room was very quiet, despite being on the first floor overlooking the street. The bathroom could probably do with an update, but it was very clean and everything worked fine. The hotel felt more like a 3* than a 4* though. The breakfast was a buffet and was good in terms of providing a very wide selection, so all 3 of us (me, my husband and our 9-year old son) found something that we enjoyed each day. The quality of the food was nothing special though. The downsides of the hotel were minor: the Wifi wasn't reliable and only worked sporadically; the TV didn't work. During breakfast, the waft of bleach from the kitchen wasn't too pleasant, and on a couple of occasions we had to ask for new cups as they smelt of bleach, nice! There was an excellent restaurant immediately across the road. We arrived quite late on the first evening, so it was great to have somewhere decent on our doorstep. We even went back there for lunch on our last day. Delicious pizzas, pasta dishes and puddings, and lovely staff. There was also an ice dream parlour at the end of the street. We didn't try it, but it looked lovely and was always busy. I would possibly stay here again if I got a good deal on the price as the things that are important to me (comforable, clean and quiet) were all there.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't do it

Posted Oct 21, 2013
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: It's a 10min walk away from the termini which is the local train station, but that's far given everything is close by.
Would def not rec. small rooms, small and right bathroom. No air con working. The street is very rough and no tourists nearby. More a residential area. Stay away.