Ratings based on 54 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Easy to reach in great area just off via veneto

Posted Oct 16, 2014
Cons: advice ago how to get to the hotel. don't go to the metro spagna which is really close but it takes forever to get out of. Barberini is better.
As a single female traveller im always cautious about where I stay. For my first visit to rome Hotel Garda was perfect in that respect. Everything easy and helpful staff. I would advise you make bookings for tours to the vatican before you travel but if you dont thr hotel can do it. Breakfast not great for a gluten free type but I didn't specify my food intolerances so no problem for most and it was nice just to have a cuppa in the morning. I would return to this hotel and location again. In fact I need to return to buy all the things I didn't get this time round!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Small, personal hotel in good location

Posted Aug 14, 2014
My boyfriend and I travelled to Rome for a long weekend in July. We were finding it hard to find an affordable but decent hotel in a good location until we discovered Hotel Garda on the Expedia website. It turned out to be perfect for us and I would highly recommend it; not only was in very reasonable for a weekend in July, it was also in a great location, just off Via Veneto and 5 minutes walk to the Spanish Steps and the Villa Borghese Gardens. The hotel itself is small; it is located on the 4th and 5th floor of a building which did make it quite hard to find at first... but by no means was this a negative. The staff - who got to know us - were very friendly and helpful, the hotel and rooms were always very quiet and on most days we had the breakfast room (and all the fresh pastries!) to ourselves. The rooms themselves were clean and comfortable - all you need when you're spending most of the day out exploring the city. For the price and location, cleanliness and comfort I cannot fault this hotel for a short city break in Rome.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location, comfortable stay

Posted Jun 1, 2014
This hotel was ideal for our family trip to Rome - 2 adults, 2 children (aged 13 & 14). Its location is perfect in a smart area of Rome and only a 10 minute walk to the Trevi Fountain and Spanish Steps. We enjoyed walking to these areas each evening where we found a large selection of restaurants. On our arrival we took the train from the airport to Termini station and managed to walk from there to the hotel in 20-25 minutes, although if need be 2 stops on the Metro would take you to within a 5-10 minute walk. You could walk to both the Colosseum or the Vatican from the hotel (30 minutes) or take the Metro. The hotel itself had everything we needed. Our quadruple room was clean had plenty of space for us all. The beds were comfortable and the double glazing kept out most of the noise. The fridge/mini bar proved useful and we had the added bonus of a small balcony. The ensuite shower room was small and a little tired but was clean and had everything we needed. Breakfast consisted of fresh pastries, cereal, fruit juices and tea/coffee. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel as a comfortable base from which to explore the beautiful city of Rome.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Wheeler family from England

Hotel basic but excellent for what we wanted!

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Even better if there was tea and coffee facilities available in the room. But got round this by going to good cafe for snacks and drinks next door!
Location: Excellent, walking distance to Trevi fountain,Spanish steps, shopping area, if adventurous Colosseum. Sightseeing bus/metro and restaurants/ café.
All Staff always ready to help us in all ways, gave us map and instructions to all areas we wanted to visit, gave advise whether we needed taxis or better to walk. Booked lovely comfortable taxi for us to get from and to airport. One morning we were bit late for breakfast they still accommodated us. Told us of cafe next door to get take away teas and coffees . All we can say is WOW! We love Rome.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Very good value.

Posted Mar 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
We were in Rome 5 nights. Great folks...helpful and used to dealing with tourists asking dumb questions (us). It's on a little side street. One block to a main street with some great restaurants. Easy walking to the Metro. 4 blocks or so. Maybe 15 min walk to the Spanish Steps and 25 or so to the Pantheon. The ground floor looks a little sketchy when you get there...but the hotel (and the hotel desk) is up on the 4th floor. Overall a wonderful value. Clean...and a bigger room than I expected (especially after our stay in London!)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Javier from Lima, Peru

In a traditional Roman building near Via Veneto

Posted Mar 21, 2014
Pros: I enjoyed the location and the room, which being somewhat small was however elegant and well furnished. I liked the architecture old classic building.
Cons: A stronger wifi in the rooms.
The location helpedme to have a very pleasant stay. Yet I was outside the noisy atmosphere of the narrow baroque streets, it was within my reach. The Villa Borghese gardens were very near. This hotel is small enough as to feel a very personalized hospitality from the staff, and big enough to have all the adequate facilites.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Hotel was ok but very small breakfast room and not much to choose from...staff very helpfull and very nice....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by soraia from London

Amazing

Posted Feb 18, 2014
We didn't expect it to be anything special but loved every minute as we got there we got given a map which showed us around the city great staff room was amazing they have tv service aircon . Room gets cleaned everyday and lastly the breakfast buffet was more than I could ask . Loved every minute and service at hotel garda
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

worth the pay

Posted Jan 2, 2014
Pros: clean, WiFi, looks new.
Was the only one we can find for new year's ever. good rates. A good location, 5 minutes walk to plaza Spagna , some might complain about the uphill on the way back since the hotel is at the top of the hill (but i don't mind walking) clean hotel, has WiFi. seems recently renovated and has a nice interior.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Ben from England

no complaints

Posted Dec 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
Hotel is just what is needed, great place to sleep while visiting Rome. Breakfast is basic but sufficient, and there is sight variation day to day. Room was comfortable and staff friendly. Offered to arrange us a taxi to the airport (we got the train, but was nice to be offered) and gave us a map showing location of hotel in relation to the rest of the city when we arrived.