Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from melbourne

Nice family run hotel, close to the old sites

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: Location and family vibe.
Cons: It would be nice if you didn't have to pay for Wifi or the air com separately.
Location: The Colosseum and Termini metro
We had a very pleasant stay over two nights at Hotel Giuliana. We received a very friendly welcome and were even upgraded to a superior room. It's in a great location- close to shops, restaurants and attractions (such as The Colosseum). Termini station is a 10-15 walk, and very convenient as you can catch a train straight to the airport or other parts of the country. The complimentary breakfast is basic, but more than enough to get you going for the day. Overall a great hotel I'd very much recommend.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from BC, Canada

Close to Termini Station

Posted Mar 25, 2014
Pros: The staff.
Cons: Would have been nice if there had been a box of tissues in the room.The blow dryer could have been improved
Location: Location was good, close to the main train/bus station. Walking distance to lots of historical sites
The hotel staff were very warm and welcoming. Able to assist and answer our questions. The hotel was easily located on arrival to the main station.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from belfast

Good hotel close to public transport &amenities

Posted Jan 30, 2014
Pros: I liked the fact that it hotel was quiet small with a personal touch. Before my trip started the hotel staff emailed me with a list of tours to go on
Location: Hotel is close to the metro& buses. Ancient monuments within walking distance, the opera house a short stroll away ,as is Santa Maria Maggiore church.
Good hotel experience. Clean room & clean common ares of hotel. Warm & cosy @ night. Hotel owners & staff helpful & friendly.
2 out of 5
by MS2013 from London

“Decent location and service - but very overrated"

Posted Nov 26, 2013
Pros: Location and service
Cons: Room state and condition for the price charged
Location: Plenty to do nearby and good access to transport
The location of the hotel is very good being close to the Metro, main station, decent restaurants and markets. The service was outstanding from all staff. But this is where it ends - we asked for another room instead of the triple superior room as the bathroom was so run down. We ended up staying in a standard double room out of choice as it was in a marginally better state - I couldn't list all the issues within the character limits. With exception to the building entrance and lift which truly add character, the hotel needs a significant overhaul. It is a self-proclaimed two star hotel which is accurate and acceptable if the cost was accordingly. It is ironic that I ended up discussing with one of the owners (who never I knew was so at the time) how Rome was cheaper than London - certainly from a hotel perspective a hotel of this grade wouldn't have cost us this much in London.Emphasis on service quality only means this hotel will always be in demand despite its significant shortcomings - being helpful and friendly is far cheaper than to renovate. Based on service and location alone this hotel ranking would be spot on - but rankings and reviews are subjective. Our mistake was to follow these too analytically - there are certainly better hotels for less cost
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by leelee from Canada

Family run hotel...reminded us of England

Posted Nov 6, 2013
Pros: Location, friendly staff.
Cons: Air conditioning included in rooms would be nice.
Location: Near Termini. Walked to the Colesseum,and Forum. We caught the hop on hop off bus at the Temini and toured easily.
Close to many attractions which we were able to walk to. Walking distance from the Termini...train station. Our room was very small but clean and tidy. No air conditioning so we left the window open for the night but were wakened by noise on the street. Apparently they were setting up a market on the street below. This does not take place daily though. Area felt safe but we did not walk about later at night. Door is tucked away so you really need to follow the directions to find your way there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in a good location in Rome

Posted Nov 5, 2013
Pros: Location, friendly staff, cleanliness
Cons: Should be more clear on extra charges like the charge for an extra bed and the charge for using the a/c
Location: Situated quite close to Termini station, Via Nazionale and Piazza Quirinale.
A lovely two-star hotel situated in a good location in Rome. By italian standards, the room was good in size. Again, breakfast was good by comparison to other hotels in the same country, staff very friendly and hotel clean at all times. I didn't like the charge asked to pay for the extra bed. I have booked the room for 2 adults and one child and was asked to pay an extra Eur 20 per night if I wanted the bed for my daughter. Anyway, we managed to fix this as she slept on the sofa. Also, we were asked to pay Eur 10 extra if we wanted to use the a/c, which I did not like as I believe that the a/c should be included in the price of the room. All in all, we had a pleasant stay at the hotel and would recommend it to a friend!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Hawleydaze from Surrey, British Columbia, Canada

Posted Oct 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
Staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was great! Room was clean and comfortable but desperately in need of a facelift. Outdoor market on adjacent street was interesting. I would definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Excellent basic hotel

Posted Sep 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
I stayed at the Hotel Giuliana while vacationing in Rome. Overall, I was very happy with the hotel. The location was convenient - it is near Santa Maria Maggiore church, and a couple of blocks from the Termini station. The walk to the colosseum or the spanish steps were each 15 - 20 minutes. There was a contintental breakfast each morning (croissant, coffee, yogurt, cereal, etc...). The room itself was small (as expected for a European hotel) but comfortable. The building is rather old and some of the facilities are a bit worn, but not to the point of being a problem. They charge an extra 10 euro per night for an air conditioner, but I think this is typical for Rome. The hotel staff were very pleasant and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly Hotel

Posted Aug 30, 2013
Pros: Cheap, cheerful, fantastically clean! Staff are the icing on the cake.
Cons: Possibly the breakfast area. It was clean but small.
Location: 2 min walk from Termini station, trains run v often. Short walk from Colosseum & Trevi fountain. Lots of places to eat
Hotel was in a really handy location, not on a main road but right by the main Termini station and within easy walking distance of Trevi fountain & Colosseum. The room we had was comfortable & spotlessly clean. I was traveling with just my 10 year old son and he was happy with the room too. The breakfast area was a bit cosy but it wasn't a restaurant so I didn't expect much more. The staff were absolutely fabulous, they arranged a pick up from the airport as I had booked a tour for the day we arrived but it started before I could check in, they looked after my luggage until we finished the tour. They pointed us in the right direction & gave us a map so we knew where we were going. I had emailed them several times before we arrived and they replied instantly with all the info I'd requested. I have to say that I didn't particularly love the locals but the staff at the hotel made us feel at home, I can't express enough how lovely they were. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanted a no nonsense hotel, you get what you pay for and I'm glad I booked with them. x
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Denise

Friendly clean hotel close to the metro

Posted Aug 26, 2013
Pros: The staff were amazing. The breakfast they offered was the perfect way to start our mornings.
Our family stayed for a week in the triple room. The room was clean, had air conditioning, small fridge and wall safe. The area is close to metro stops, but is also walking distance most attractions. The area surrounding the hotel is clean and safe. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would highly recommend to others.