Ratings based on 298 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom ville de Québec

Emplacement idéal

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Hôtel charmant, petit mais il y a tout ce qu'il faut. Personnel très sympathique donc certains qui parlent français. Le point fort est l'emplacement il est près de tout.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom E.

low budget in het centrum

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Eenvoudig hotel op loopafstand van de belangrijkste bezienswaardigheden.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom københavn

hyggeligt kvarter

Posted Feb 14, 2015
godt værelse venligt og hjælpsomt personale dog en lille brusekabine
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Palencia (España)

Encantada de mi viaje a Roma

Posted Feb 13, 2015
Pros: LO CENTRICO QUE ESTA
Location: MUY BUENAS
Me comentaron que si viajaba a Roma fuera en un Hotel céntrico, pues asi fue encontré el Hotel grifo por una oferta, pero después de llegar y al principio pensar que era un poco viejo, estuve encantada, el trato que me han dado ha sido familiar, me han asesorado de cosas que yo quería hacer y luego no hice, como coger un autobús turístico, cuando estábamos en pleno centro y teníamos todo lo que quereimos ver todo en pequeños paseos. La limpieza esta bien pues todos los dias teníamos toallas y todo limpio. Hemos desayunado fenomenal con un desayuno que no comemos en nuestras casas y los trabajadores intentan hablarte para que tu les comprendas. En fin una buena esperiencia GRACIAS A TODOS LOS QUE ME ATENDIERON EN EL HOTEL GRIFO LOURDES Y VICEN
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom USA

Close, but not quite there

Posted Feb 13, 2015
Pros: The location was great. An easy walk from the Termini and very close to the Colosseum and Forum. There are plenty of restaurants and pubs nearby.
Cons: Decor could be updated to this century. Breakfast could offer more selection, perhaps some fresh items that were included with the free breakfast
Location: The location was great! Very close to the Colosseum and Forum. Restaurants and pubs all around!
I thought long and hard about this review and have opted to just go ahead and say it. Don't stay here. It really is an OK place, kind of kitschy, kind of rustic and authentic, but please look elsewhere if you want comfort and peace of mind. Don't get me wrong, I like that, sometimes, but this just ended up being a bit too much, or less for that matter. Upon entering the lobby, the pleasant lady at the front desk was very helpful and lovely. When she tells us that we'll be on the top floor and that our room has two terraces, TWO terraces, I begin thinking that someone has learned of my super secret high roller status. Wait. Then she explains that after we take the lift to the 4th floor, we have to exit out onto another terrace, take the metal staircase, which was tantamount to a fire escape, up to the roof to find our room. OK, hmm. We get up to the room and inspect. First, the floor is tile. Its 40 degrees outside. The beds are small, European standards, but ok, however the bedspreads look to be about 40 years old. There's a portable space heater on the floor. Its 40 degrees outside. The shower was small, beyond European standards, and the sink had more water pressure. Our front terrace was nice, the rear one was nothing more than an exposed service area. The third night we had ants! they were promptly taken care of the next day, but still! The free breakfast was minimal. We were taunted with a menu every morning of fresh edible items we could buy for just a bit more.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Pittsburgh, PA

Great location and great staff!

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Pros: Location, Staff, Ambiance...it was wonderful to not be in a cookie cutter chain hotel. We felt we were experiencing a more authentic side of Rome.
Cons: The shower stall was small, making showers a little difficult for my husband who is 6'4".
Location: Perfect! Ten minute walk to Colosseum, National Museum, Capitoline Museum, Doria Pamphilj Gallery, many churches, eateries, shops, pub. transport, etc
This hotel's staff was always pleasant and very helpful. All spoke English. The breakfast had plenty to choose from and we always left feeling full. The room was clean and quiet with its own bathroom. Public transportation is very close by. We were also within a ten minute walk to many sights and churches, including the Colosseum and St. Peter in Chains. The neighborhood is a mix of tourists and locals with an amazing number of restaurants, cafes and gelatto shops all charging a slightly lower price than nearby more "touristy" neighborhoods. There are also many shopping areas within a short radius of the hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Oregon, USA

Hotel in terrible condition, a total rip off

Posted Jan 6, 2015
Pros: The only thing we actually liked about this hotel was the location. Short walking distance to the Forum, Colliseum, etc.
Cons: EVERYTHING!
We booked a quadruple room for Dec. 31-Jan.3 a few months ahead of time. We paid almost $1,000.00 for 3 nights. The room included breakfast and free wifi. The pictures and reviews on the internet looked good and the location was great so I thought it would be worth the price. We checked in and were put in a room above the 4th floor. We had to go up to the 4th floor, go outside to a terrace that is currently being used as a construction storage place, and go up 2 flights of metal, rickety stairs to our room. The room had an old keyhole that you can see through, no heat (the temperatures were down to freezing at night), no wifi, dirty walls and floors, a tiny, barely usable bathroom, old worn beds with ancient comforters and windows with only curtain rods and no curtains. The windows whistled because they weren't sealed and no light could come in because they'd been shuttered over. They had a space heater in the room that helped some with the cold but lighted up the entire room so we couldn't sleep with it on. I asked the hotel for different rooms and they weren't able to accommodate us until the 2nd day with only 1 double room. So half of us had to stay in this awful room. They didn't give us any discounts besides not charging us the $36 Euro tax at the end of our stay. They clearly took advantage of us during a busy time in Rome when we couldn't just leave to find somewhere else to stay. The room they moved 2 of us into was better than this other one but definitely
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom FLORIDA

THE BEST

Posted Dec 12, 2014
THE BEST, WE ARE GOING BACK NEXT YEAR IN LOVE WITH ROME
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great Family stay!

Posted Nov 2, 2014
Pros: Great location, friendly staff, good room with terrace, sweet croissants!
Cons: kettle in room
Location: 10 mins from colosseum, beautiful churches, good shops and restaurants. Not noisy, highly recommended.
Wonderful location, able to walk and explore easily, kids really enjoyed their time here, lovely gelaterie and snack bars nearby. Hotel staff very friendly and helpful when planning what to do. The taxi pick-up was great, as arrived late, got to see some of the landmarks at night-added bonus!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sankt Augustin

Freundliches Hotel in sehr schöner Lage

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Pros: Die Lage und die freundliche Atmosphäre.
Cons: Bleiben Sie bei der bewährten Form des einfachen Frühstücksbuffets!
Location: Sehr zentral in der Via del Boschetto, Kultur betrachten, aber auch das italienische Leben genießen.
Das kleine Hotel liegt in einer romantischen Gasse des Monti-Viertels. Die meisten bekannten touristischen Ziele sind zu Fuß erreichbar. Viele kleine Läden und Restaurants sind in der Nähe. Das Hotelpersonal ist sehr freundlich und hilfsbereit. Etwas merkwürdig und bürokratisch fanden wir das Bestellen des Frühstücks. Rundum war es eine sehr schöne Woche. Wir kommen bestimmt wieder.