Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Mike and Kristine from Canada

1 night across the street from the beach.

Posted Aug 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
Hotel was older, not luxury, but rooms were clean. The hotel was across the street from the beach and was economical. Breakfast was included and consisted of croissants, juice, coffee or tea.
2 out of 5
by Tonyvon from England, UK

No more than a low budget hotel !!

Posted Jun 19, 2013
Pros: Nothing good to say.
Cons: Standard of cleanliness and abysmal breakfast.
Location: Sea front location did seem promising.
Not impressed at all with this hotel,dark, dreary room. Shower in bathroom was worst we have ever had in any hotel, we are not large people but if you were on the large side you would never fit in.We were not given air con till our last night despite temps of over 28and dont even get me started on how very bad the breakfast is..this so called breakfast consists of a packet with 2small pieces of dried toast effect, 1croissant which you only got if you asked for it and 1 cup of cold coffee.In over 25 years of touring round Europe we have never had such a disgusting breakfast anywhere.One more point the toilet and shower were never cleaned in the whole week we were there, clean towels only 1 a dayand you may think why did we not complain, well simply because we wanted to see how long it would take for them to be cleaned. If it had not been for the fact that everywhere was fully booked due to a bike rally we would have found alternative accomodation. Totally disappointed as this is a 1star hotel charging for 3star facilities, will definitely never return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 20, 2012 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A place to avoid

Posted Oct 11, 2012
Pros: None
Cons: Everything about the room
Location: Good
Great location, across the street from the beach, close to the airport. Terrible room, old, bad condition, very poor bathroom. You get what you pay for so if these criticisms bother you look elsewhere and don't trust the reviews and ratings on TripAdvisor.
2 out of 5
by Jacqui from London, UK

2nd time not so lucky

Posted Oct 1, 2012
I had stayed at this hotel 1 year ago and had a wonderful time with my parents and this time i took my sister thinking it was a safe bet but I was dissappointed. I had asked on the comments for twin beds and a sea view room and we got neither and it wasnt mentioned. When i asked them, they said they hadnt seen the comments & basically dismissed us. The hotel had no PC to use internet.He couldnt tell us where an internet cafe was and wasnt helpful with basic Rome info. Breakfast was awful. all pre - packaged and the croissants were terrible. Train station was closed the weekend we were there so we had to bus the first 3 stops then train to Rome central then change to tube. There was air conditioning unit but no remote in the room and it was noisy with windows open at night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Solo traveler from Arkansas, USA

Small hotel exceeds expectations

Posted Sep 25, 2012
Pros: The helpfulness of all the staff. They went above and beyond my expectations.
Cons: The hotel is on busy street and can be noisy at times.
Location: Hotel is convenient to restaurants, shopping, tourist sites and the beach. Great location for all activities.
I truly enjoyed my stay at La Caravella. I was there 4 nights and was comfortable throughout my stay. My goal was to find a budget-friendly hotel in good location that met my basic lodging needs. In that respect, La Caravella exceeded my expectation. The staff was excellent. The building was recently renovated, in good condition, and very clean throughout. The breakfast was basic European style but fine to get me started for the day. The hotel is in a busy area and sometimes the noise from the street and neighboring night spots filters through to the room. There is no elevator (lift). These are not a problem when you compare it with other hotels in the area with higher star ratings. The location is very convenient to local restaurants and the beach. It is a 15 minute walk to train station. It was a good experience and I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.
1 out of 5
by MARIA from CRESSKILL, NJ

NOT RECOMEND

Posted Aug 15, 2012
Pros: VIEW OF THE WATER IF YOU HAVE THE FRONT ROOMS
Cons: OLD BATHROOMS, MUSTY SMELL, NO TELEPHONE CONNECTION
Location: GOOD LOCATION
NO ELEVATOR, SPARROW STAIRS, IF YOU GET THE TOP FLOOR, COMING BACK I GOT THE WALK IN FLOOR, MUSTY NASTY SMELL, BATHROOM OLD AND BROKEN, I WAS GIVEN A TWO PEOPLE BEDROOM FOR THREE PEOPLE, THEY JUST ADDED A BED NEAR THE DOUBLE BED AND PUT THE NIGHT TABLES UNDER THE DESK, NO PHONE CONNECTION IN THE ROOMS, I HAD A VERY BAD EXPERIENCE, I DON'T RECOMEND IT, I ALMOST WALKED OUT TO LOOK FOR ANIOTHER HOTEL.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Ralph C.

Unfortunate experience

Posted Jul 17, 2012 on Hotels.com
Stayed here before with good marks but this time no hot water for 3 days. Also staff would not confront unruly guest Transvestite "working" from hotel until we threatened to call police. This is run by a very nice family but no action taken to protect guests from issues, just a shrug. All else being equal I would still recommend but with caution.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by RC

Posted Jun 23, 2012 on Hotels.com
Very nice staff. Room clean and has air conditioning. Close to trains to Rome. Will stay again on my returning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

What a Fabulous Stay

Posted May 11, 2012 on Hotels.com
The inn keeper was absolutely fabulous, and the view from room 201 is simply magnificent, and the restaurant next door is the best in town, absolutely fabulous stay.