Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kelsey from Washington, DC

Terrible, lazy front desk staff

Posted May 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed here our last night in Rome before departing for the airport early the next morning. While the gentleman at the front desk upon our arrival was very pleasant and friendly, something obviously went terribly wrong during the shift change. We had been told that our early departure would not be a problem - we could pay the city tax by credit card and they would call a cab to take us to the airport. However, when we called down to the night front desk attendant to ask her to call a cab, she simply didn't do it. We arrived in the lobby to check out and no cab had been called. She instead proceeded to try to talk us out of calling a cab and to use the hotel's (more expensive) private service. We also were not permitted to pay the city tax on our credit card, and she was unable to make any change for our cash payment. We overpaid the tax and getting a cab was like pulling teeth. It was all very unprofessional.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Montreal, Canada

location location...

Posted Feb 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
stayed few times, great location, very very good for a 3 stars
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Brian from Long Beach, CA, USA

Perfect Location

Posted Mar 30, 2013
Pros: Charm, Location
Cons: Confusing Air Conditioning
Location: Fantastic
The location is perfect. The hotel is in the middle of everything. It has the charm of Italy and was comfortable enough for our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane QLD, Australia

Rome hotel

Posted Nov 16, 2012
Pros: the position
Cons: room temperature
Location: we could look out of the window to the Spanish Steps in Rome. But the street below, the Via Condotti was very busy with lots of noise
the room temperature was far too hot and we had to open the window on and off all night to let cool air in! a perfect position for us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mike from New York, NY, USA

Nice location, friendly service.

Posted Oct 15, 2012
Pros: Very Clean.
Cons: Shower
Location: convenient location
Stayed here one night in the middle of October, the hotel is in a fairly convenient location to the Spanish steps and Trevi Fountain and other tourist attractions. The area is extremely busy in the day with shopping, and very quiet at night. In the immediate area there are not a lot of nighttime options for dinner, cafe's, bars etc. The room was nice, very clean, we were on the 5th floor (top floor) next to breakfast area. You could hear noise from the breakfast area but was not a problem for us. I would say the only downside we experienced was the shower. The shower stall itself was really small and the the water never really got warm/hot, if we stayed more nights it probably would have bothered us more. Breakfast - was very basic, was in expectations for price of hotel etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Wells, ME

Great hotel in a great area of town

Posted Sep 25, 2012
Pros: Clean room and great hotel staff
Cons: Not being able to connect to the internet...not good if you're on a business trip
Location: Great location near the Spanish Steps...just steps from the hotel front door.
La Lumiere di Piazza di Spagna is in a great location near the Spanish Steps, and centrally located to most other attractions. The room was spacious and clean, the staff were very helpful, and breakfast in the roof top breakfast room was very good. The only 'complaint' I would have was connecting to the internet. The only place I could connect was in one chair in the small lobby near the desk. We would highly recommend staying here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Mcihele

CUTE HOTEL, BUT SMALL ROOMS

Posted May 14, 2012 on Hotels.com
Hotel was clean and neat. Front desk staff was very friendly and helpful, but only spoke moderate English. Breakfast was good, but simple. Breads, Fruits, Cereal, Coffee, meats and cheeses. Always clean and comfortable. Three minute walk to the Spanish Steps. Only negative was the excessive amount of noise outside the windows every night until 2 am or later-- especially on the weekends-- due to the proximity to shopping and night life. Would not stay here again with children.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jamie from London, UK

Lumiere - light and snow!

Posted Feb 14, 2012
Pros: Friendly and helpful staff
Cons: The lift is tiny!
Location: Fantastic location not far from the Spanish Steps
Great location, friendly staff and good value. I would definitely use this hotel again for a short trip.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Outstanding Location Near Spanish Steps

Posted Nov 30, 2011 on Hotels.com
This is the 5th or 6th time I have stayed at this hotel. The location is outstanding, staff pleasant and helpful and rooms larger than most all Italian hotels at this price point. Only disappointment on this trip was that my requested non-smoking room had been someone's smoking room. The odor was absolutely horrendous. I asked to be moved and only one room was available. Was traveling with a friend so we had to give up a twin bed room for a queen bed room. We made it work for one night. I jokingly commented that I hope they collected a very large fine for the person(s) who smoked in the room but got the impression they did not. They should have b/c the room will be very unpleasant for non-smokers for a very long time.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel not bad

Posted Jul 8, 2011 on Hotels.com
Hotel is in an incredible location. Three blocks from the Spanish Steps. But don't expect any other hotel services. No lobby to sit in and the terrace advertised on the web is generally not accessible for much of the day. Breakfast is coffee and cereal. There is a 24 hour desk clerk, but don't expect typical concierge services. Also something that surprised me is that you have to pay on site and not through Hotels.com in advance. I didn't read the fine print and was surprised when I was presented a bill upon check out.