Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Doris from Toronto

Excellent Hotel, Great Staff

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: The service and the quality and staff attitude.
I stayed at this hotel from June 6 to June 14. We had a road trip planned in between and had to change our reservation a couple times. The staff Rosalba and Victoria were wonderful accommodating our reservation and took care of our luggage during the time we were out. The breakfast was good and included, the service excellent. This hotel is small and old but very clean and well taken care of. We definitely recommend it. Thanks to the staff for making our trip relaxed and enjoyable. Doris
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Hector

Nice and great location!

Posted Aug 7, 2013
Pros: Staff was great, even though they were short staffed due to staff vacation!
Location: Fantastic Location, within a few blocks to main attractions...
Good value for your money! Great Location!... we were pleased with it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Greg R. from USA

Great family place

Posted Jul 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
Our stay in Rome started out horrendous. We had ALL of our suitcases stolen from our rental vehicle at a rest stop on Via Arulia after we left the airport. When we couldn't get any help even from the local police (in fact they refused to come to the rest stop I was told to drive to "a" police station to file a complaint). Good luck finding a police station! We arrived at the Hotel Panama Garden exhausted and only the clothes on our back. The staff was extremely apologetic for the experience we had in "their city" and they gave precise walking directions to many local stores and shops for basic needs and clothing. Although the major city sites are not in walking distance the bus (5 min. walk) and tram (10 min. walk) are, all sites about 20 min. away once you get on the line you need. The hotel its self provided a very comforting stay for our group of 7 (4 adults 3 children). We had 2 rooms although slightly outdated, both very clean, comfortable and spacious, the breakfast was a nice plus and they even had "American coffee". Many local restaurants for dinner. I would highly recommend a stay. Great price, great service!!!! after what we experienced in the first 3 hours of arriving in Rome, Hotel Panama Garden became our home away from home for our 3 night stay...
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rome holiday

Posted Jun 11, 2013
Pros: The hotel staff was attentive and easy to work with. They were the joy of my hotel stay.
Cons: The room quality, the workmanship in the rooms is shabby to say the least, the internet service was spotty. I was in a room with water damage.
Location: There are cafe's and shops near by but you're far from the city center and need to take a bus to get to and from the hotel.
I would not recommend the Hotel Panama Gardens. When booking a hotel its important for me to see pictures of the rooms, which they had but unfortuantely the pictures no longer match the facility. They definitely need some touch ups. I'm also upset as I was told before booking that the hotel was a quick 15 min walk to the city centre which is not the case. I was required to take a bus for 15-20mins to get to the city centre which made it difficult to see Rome at night. I could have stayed at other hotels closer for the same price but didn't want to be too close to the hustle and bustle of the city. I should have stayed at one of the other hotels. The hotel staff was amazing and kind, its too bad about the facilities.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from usa

Posted May 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
Not really near the must-see sights and quite far to catch public transportation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Darren & Lizzie from England

A bit of peace in Rome

Posted May 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
We loved our little hotel, out of the way, comfortable and not far from the tram. It was comfy, clean and every person we met who worked there went out of their way to make it relaxing. I wouldn't imagine you can find much better for the price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Ashley from Florida, USA

Great Family Hotel!

Posted Dec 8, 2012
Pros: Great breakfast and friendly staff.
Cons: The shower leaked out onto the carpet, but it was in the corner so it didn't effect us much.
Location: Good location just outside the main attractions of Rome. Short walk to bus and tram which get you to any sight you wish to see.
We had two adults an eight year old and a eight month old. We got a triple room, which is a queen bed with a small twin bed about a foot away. The room was a little cramped, but it was what we expected for a European hotel. The hotel itself is a little older, but it was nice and decently clean. I highly recommend getting the breakfast buffet. It was very convenient and the food was great. We ate a large breakfast and it lasted us most of the day. Another plus to this hotel was it is a short walk to the bus stop and the tram which take you to all the major sites. The hotel staff spoke English and were very friendly. The night clerk answered all of my questions and didn't seem to mind when I kept calling back with silly questions about riding the bus and such. My recommendation is to mentally prepare that you are not going to get the five star experience like you would in the US, but for a decent place to stay while you are touring Rome I highly recommend it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Taha

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 15, 2012 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Heather from Washington, DC, USA

Wonderful hotel!

Posted Sep 11, 2012
The Hotel Panama Garden was a wonderful hotel. It is not within the city walls of Rome, but there is a bus stop not too far away that comes every 5-10 mins. It is actually nice to escape the busy city center and return to the hotel that is in a quiet part of the city. The staff was very friendly and helpful and even arranged a car for us to the airport which only cost us a flat rate of 52 euros. The breakfast spread was very good and you had a large variety of things to choose from. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who doesn't mind not being right in the middle of the major tourist attractions.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ingrid from San Francisco, California

nice hotel just a bit far for me.

Posted Jul 18, 2012
Pros: it was a quiet hotel
Cons: one night there was a loss of power for two hours and the hotel did not do anything to make the experience better for the guests.
Location: As noted above although the area itself was a nice area, the hotel is far from the main tourist sites like the Vatican.
This hotel is a pretty good distance from the historic district. It is about a 15-20 Euro cab ride to the main landmarks you likely want to see. The cab fare from the FCO airport was 56 euro for me. But this can vary greatly as my sister who came on a later flight paid 76 euro. Ugh. You can take a bus to the historic area which was pretty efficient means of transportation and cheaper. This hotel is in a good area but I would not rate it a 4 star but more like a 3.5. The rooms were fine but it has a bit worn looking lobby. The staff is very nice. And as noted the area the hotel is in feels safe. I would likely not stay there again because I would want to be closer to the historic district. But the hotel was fine overall.