Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 12, 2012 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent location, but wouldn't stay again

Posted Mar 27, 2012 on Hotels.com
I was looking for a no-frills, budget hotel for a weekend stay in Rome. Key word: hotel. Hotel Portafortuna is in a building of condominiums - which wouldn't normally be a problem, but you have to buzz your way in every single time you leave the hotel. Plus, if you're leaving early - the front desk is not 24 hours like they say it is. I needed to leave my key for someone else arriving after me and spent 5 minutes buzzing the door at the front office at 7 am, only to have some bleary-eyed man stumble to the door. My biggest peeve, though, was on the first night I arrived. I signed all the documents, went to my room, and went to sleep - I was exhausted from traveling all day. At 10:30pm someone is knocking on my door multiple times - because a single piece of paper hadn't been signed. And that couldn't have waited until the morning? I was furious. Taking a shower in our room was like a show at the circus. The shower head holes have been almost completely calcified, so if any water comes out it sprays in million different directions - and none of them at your head. It was a miserable experience, compounded by a slow-draining floor that very nearly flooded the whole bathroom. The location is pretty good - you have almost a direct view of the Piazza della Santa Maria Maggiore. That's pretty much the only good thing.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not that great

Posted Mar 20, 2012 on Hotels.com
I would not recommend. The shower took along time to get hot, and it had a very very slowdrain. I was standing in soapy water to my ankles by the time I finished. My husbaand asked for a double and got two beds....our frie d was a single and got a big bed. Not great breakfast, would noy recommend even at the price.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Close to "Termini" nothing else good to say!

Posted Mar 19, 2012 on Hotels.com
I stayed at Hotel “Portafortuna” on my final day in Italy. I arrived via train to the “Termini” (Rome train station) and needed something close to it. I will begin by saying the “hotel” is three blocks away from the station and this is the ONLY good thing I found about it. I reserved the hotel, which is nothing by an apartment house in the China Town, on hotels.com with the understanding that I will be changed on CHECK OUT. When I arrived to the hotel I found that the card I used to “reserve” the room online was full charged with the cost of the room. When I asked for an explanation I found a language barrier so deep it was not worth my time to argue and demand they reverse the charges. The manager, which I spoke to on the phone, seemed to be under the impression that I needed to “pre-pay” for my stay. The room (610) was located on the second and half floor (40 plus steps). It was spacious room with a balcony looking at a yard (no view at all). The bathroom (in suite) was clean with moldy ceiling. The BED WAS AS HARD AS A ROCK, I spent three hours trying to fall asleep. I cannot speak of the breakfast as I had to leave very early the next morning to the airport (another reason I choose this area). As for the STAFF, they had limited English and no matter how “nice” you are when it comes to service you need to be able to communicate with your guest and English is a very common language to communicate with. Overall, the area is safe, although I would not recommend it for young adults traveling alone. I do not recommend this hotel based on my personal experience, your mileage might vary.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

A B&B that made up everything in services!

Posted Oct 31, 2011 on Hotels.com
Hotel Portafortuna is actually a local B&B. This B&B may not look like much, but it made it all up in services and location! If you know Chinese, or don't mind some broken English, this is the place. The hotel staff doubled as our tour guides, telling us everything we needed and wished Rick Steve had mentioned in his book. We stayed at four hotels for our trip: self-owned, local chain, and even national chain, Hotel Portafortuna is the one I remember and would come back to. It felt like I was coming home everyday I stayed!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 29, 2011 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Richmond, Indiana

Posted Jul 18, 2011 on Hotels.com
My wife and I spent four nights here in July 2011. We were pleased with the cleanliness of the room, the attentiveness of the staff, and the services available to us. It is only a block from the metro, a 15 minute walk to the Coliseum, and about the same to the train station. There are plenty of restaurants close by. We would certainly recommend Portafortuna to our friends and would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Florida

Don't let the outside fool you; it's wonderful ins

Posted May 9, 2011 on Hotels.com
The hotel is within walking distance to the train station, but it's not the greatest area. However, once inside, the hotel was very, very nice and the owners went out of their way to accommodate us. They made all the difference. Breakfast was brought to our rooms each morning, and our rooms were clean and cheerful, with a balcony. Not the greatest view, but would definitely stay there again.