Ratings based on 562 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Windsor, Canada

Experience grand luxury!

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: It was built in 1870 to accommodate guests for the attached Opera House. It was nice to think how many people have enjoyed this hotel.
Cons: More signs for the elevators. It is a large hotel and at times confusing when you have to find the elevators.
Location: Location is excellent right on Via Nazionale where there is plenty of shopping and lots of restaurants. Close to Termini, all buses and the subway.
As our room was not yet ready when we checked in after 2 PM we were graciously upgraded to a beautiful much larger room with a luxurious bath and a large balcony overlooking the courtyard. We were very tired as we had just arrived from Toronto. The room was wonderful. We enjoyed every second there. The breakfast was varied and plentiful and can be enjoyed in the peaceful courtyard where they also play music most evenings.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Burlington, ON Canada

We Love This Hotel!

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Pros: it is consistent ever time. Clean nice big bathrooms and as mentioned hardwood flooring in the rooms
Cons: they just replaced their coffee machines and they are not making good coffee at all.
Location: fantastic neighborhood! bus 64 is right in front of the hotel and will take you right down to Piazza Navona and Camp D'Fiori.
my husband and I have been staying in this character hotel since 2002 and return at least once a year. Great location with easy access to buses etc but still very walkable everywhere. Beautiful old hotel with relatively spacious rooms and I especially appreciate the hardwood flooring and no carpeting in the room. Breakfast always decent and staff very helpful. its a great neighborhood and we return every time Rome is our destination.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Sightseeing in Rome.

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Pros: We liked the convenience to the sight seeing bus, which took us to all the sights. The bathroom was large, and our room for three was adequate.
Cons: The hotel reception look stressed and grumpy not welcoming at all. We found only one staff member who was willing to give us any local information.
Location: The hotel, although not in the main shopping area was near one of the sights and the hop on hop off bus was around the corner, this took us everywhere
We arrived at the hotel at 2pm (which according to our documents was the check in time) but we were abruptly told our rooms were not ready, and to go somewhere else for an hour. They did mind our cases. When we returned we were again abruptly told check in is 2.30pm. No apologies for the delay, and definitely no welcome to Rome.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Ireland

Good Hotel in City Central Location

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Pros: The hotel is a haven of tranquility and very quiet at night despite the large number of people staying here. Its Ideally located for a walking tour .
Cons: Attitude at Reception
Location: 15 mins to Trevi Fountain and a raft of cultural sites . Trevi, Spanish Steps, Colaseeum is under a lot of scaffolding
I would not hesitate in recommending this hotel to anybody and would stay there again myself. The hotel is very old and is decorated to reflect old world charm. The bedrooms ( Standard ) are very spacious , nicely furnished with 14 foot high ceilings . The room was well air conditioned as were all the public areas. The reception desk tended to be busy with some of the staffs English leaving a lot to be desired. One undesirable practice at this hotel is front loading the cost of the booking plus a 400 euro security deposit on your credit card. One member of our group had been charged the full amount for her stay 2 weeks before arrival, however she had not the original booking credit card . The receptionist insisted on paying again with her new credit card plus 400 euro security deposit and told her she would get a refund of the original payment in a couple of weeks. Not very endearing I have stayed in 5 star hotels in different parts of the world and have not experienced this distain. The housekeeping staff were very nice and could not be more helpful. The included breakfast was mediocre and after 1 morning of it i went elsewhere. There is a very nice courtyard in the hotel with plenty of shade to relax in there is a bar there and they also serve food very nice
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sunderland

Hotel Quirinale: Quaint, Quiet and Quite wonderful

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Pros: Everything. The hotel, room and staff surpassed all our expectations and as we discovered, the location is fantastic.
Cons: If only the adjacent Theatre had been holding an opera while we were staying.
Location: as answered above - the location is perfect (on balance) for everywhere you wish to visit when in Rome.
Our 'junior suite' was ideal and perfect for our short break. The hotel is elegant, stylish, authentic and surpassed our expectations in all ways. We will definitely look at this hotel again when we return to Rome. The location is perfect - a short walk from Termini and even more convenient for the Metro (Repubblica). It is located on Via Nazionale and perfect for a large number of restaurants and quality shops and very central for walking to all the 'must see' sightseeing - Colosseo, Roman Forum, Palatine Hill, Trevi Fountain, Pantheon, Capuchin Crypt etc. It is also just a couple of stops from the Spanish Steps, Villa Borghese (a must do) and the Vatican. The room was spacious, airy, cool (a joy to return to after the heat of Rome in August) and the decor authentic and beautiful, the hotel and our room was clean, luxurious and very comfortable. The inner garden courtyard is a little gem, great during the day for a break from the hustle and bustle and an ideal venue for an evening meal and relaxing drink. The food was very good and the service very friendly, attentive and courteous. They have live music on an evening and even showed the Monday Night English Premier League football on a large projector screen which was a welcome surprise.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Loved this Hotel

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Pros: Breakfast, the garden, cleanliness, size of rooms.
Cons: Air Conditioning, mattresses.
Location: Near Termini Train Station, many restaurants, shops & even a pharmacy & grocery store.
My Wife, Daughter & I travelled to Rome to visit the city for 3 days & then headed to Civitavecchia for a Cruise. I found this hotel online & chose it because it had good reviews. It didn't disappoint. I will start with only 2 little negative points, the air conditioning wasn't very good & the mattresses were either too hard or too soft. Other than that everything was great. The rooms are really big & very clean. Breakfast was better than I ever expected. Afternoon drinks in their garden was a delight, it was a great place to unwind after a busy day of sightseeing around Rome. All the staff we encountered were very nice & helpful. I would definitely stay here again if I return to Rome.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia PA

Value priced classic European centrally located

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, spectacular lobby, great breakfast buffet
Location: Very close to a lot of Rome attractions that are within a 20 minute walking location and also very close to the Termini train station.
Group of 6 had 3 adjoining rooms booked months ahead at 100 Euros per night including breakfast and free wifi. A great bargain. Front desk very helpful with many questions our companions had. Great variety at breakfast buffet. Rooms were small but a great value and a very nice bathroom. Would not hesitate to stay here again should we ever return to Rome. An astounding number of sites of interest are within 30 minute walk. Termini train station and metro are a 7 minute walk away Consider ranking 4.5 stars, knocking off half for room size. Do not miss riding the class elevator. Built in 1870 this was the first hotel built after Rome was declared capital of the new Italy Ask for a room close to one of the elevators if corridor walks are a concern. There are two elevators, one of which is the classic old style you see in the movies.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Grand hotel central to everything.

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: The garden, the breakfasts on the patio, our beautiful room and the computers we could print our flights on.
Cons: The bath and shower could use updating.
Location: Lots of things to do. Walk to main attractions. Lots of restaurants. In the centre of Rome.
We got Junior Suite Room 413. It was large and lovely. This was the first building in Rome apparently built as a hotel. It is grand and would have been amazing in it's heyday. It is still lovely. Staff are friendly and can speak English. We walked to Trevi Fountain, Colosseum, Pantheon and other attractions from this Hotel. Also walked to St. Peters Basilica but it was a long walk. Our room faced the garden and it was beautiful in Summer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from VA

Nice hotel, close to the metro and Termini station

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: Location, room size, comfort, wi-fi and included breakfast
Cons: some of the front desk people weren't the greatest.
Location: shopping, dining, sight seeing and close to metro and train station.
We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The staff was friendly enough and the included breakfast was basically the same as all the other hotels we stayed at. The bathroom was a nice size and the bed was much more comfortable than some others we experienced. It's very close to the metro so you can get to where ever you need to go easily and it's very close to the Termini station. There is also a lot dining and shopping right outside the hotel so you don't have to go far if you don't want to. There's also wi-fi which is pretty standard in most hotels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from new york

Walking distance to all interesting area

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: Convenient
Cons: None
Location: 5 min Walking distance to Train station. 15 min walking to Spanish steps and 20 min walking to Colosseum.
Great breakfast area, comfortable room and bathroom, walking distance to anywhere. One front desk gentleman speaks English,French and Chinese, amazing!