Ratings based on 538 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Holidayfun from East Sussex

Convenient Rafaello

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Pros: Position. Quiet rooms.
Cons: Not within the current space they have.
Location: Perfect for station, colisseum, and central Rome. Walked to all the main attractions but we are fit. There is a metro station about 300 yards away.
Wanted a hotel near the colliseum as running the Rome Marathon. Only about 10 minutes walk and also the same from the Main Station where we arrived from the airport. Hotel small but ideal for what we needed. Rooms well presented bathrooms modern. Breakfast buffet good. No bar which would have been nice after an evening out. The only criticism was that the rooms were very hot. Not able to adjust the air conditioing.Just about tolerable in March but in summer it would be pretty uncomfortable. Plenty of decent restaurants in the vicinity. Overall a very nice stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet location in centre of Rome

Posted Apr 4, 2014
Pros: Quiet location but very central. Feeling of safety and rooms very clean. Friendly staff. Great breakfast
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Ancient city within walking distance. So everything within 20 minute walk. Train station just 5 minutes away for travelling further afield.
Just returned from a wonderful 3 days in Rome. After some research we decided upon the Hotel Raffaello. We were not disappointed. It was better than we expected. A very reasonable priced hotel that provides all the comfort of a 5 star hotel. Rome is known as the noisiest city in Europe and we can understand that! However, this hotel is located centrally very near yo Termini station for train, metro and buses. Yet we had wonderfully quiet nights. The room was comfortable, very clean and modern bathroom. Bed was excellent and we felt very safe and secure. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was great, with hot and cold food. Hot eggs, scrambled and boiled and with a mass of breads and cakes, cheeses, fruit and more. there is constant coffee in an area of reception for whenever you want some. On our last day we could store our cases for no extra charge. There is a free safe in the room and for those who like TV the number of channels is endless. As it is central there are many restaurants and bars around and of course limitless magnificent churches. You can walk easily through he ancient city from this hotel and we managed to make it to the Vatican and back too by foot. A great short break helped by a great hotel.a
3 out of 5
by NICKY from UK

NOT HELPFUL STAFF COST ME 50 EUROS

Posted Mar 18, 2014
Pros: NOT A LOT
Cons: DECOR , STAFF, BREAKFAST
Location: LOCATION ON DARK BACK STREET, A GOOD WALK FOR EVERYTHING AND NO WHERE TO EAT AROUND YOU VERY RUN DOWN
THIS IS THE FIRST TIME IVE EVER FELT I SHOULD WRITE A REVIEW VERY DISAPPOINTED. FIRST ROOM DARK SMALL WINDOW , NO LIGHT COMPLAINED GIVEN BETTER ROOM , THE SHOWER YOU CANNOT TURN ROUND IN TOO SMALL, ON CHECKOUT AT 5AM I COMPLETELY FORGOT TO GIVE SAFE KEY IN I HAD REMOVED ALL MY ITEMS , THE RECEPTION DID NOT REMIND ME THEN WHEN IN TAXI HE CALLED DRIVER AND DEMANDED I WENT BACK TO HOTEL TO HAND KEY IN I ASSURED HIM I WOULD POST IT ONCE I RETURNED TO ENGLAND BUT HE WOULD EXCEPT THIS SO I HAD TO PAY DRIVER 50 EUROS FOR THE TAXI TO DRIVE KEY BACK IT WAS A HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE I HAD MY YOUNG SON WITH ME AND OUR FLIGHT WAS 90 TILL TAKE OFF. HOTEL LOCATED ON DARK STREET QUITE SCARY OF A NIGHT . NOT ENOUGH SEATS FOR BREAKFAST AND ONCE EGGS HAVE GONE THERE NOT REPLACED .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Couple from Stansted

Good Location

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: The location and price
Hotel in very good locaton, ten minute walk from colosseum and easy walk to other historic sites. Also near to good local restaurants where the food was good and at a reasonable price. The room and bathroom were very clean and roomy. Breakfast buffet very sufficient and staff very pleasent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Couple from Stansted

Good Location

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: The location and price
Hotel in very good locaton, ten minute walk from colosseum and easy walk to other historic sites. Also near to good local restaurants where the food was good and at a reasonable price. The room and bathroom were very clean and roomy. Breakfast buffet very sufficient and staff very pleasent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Michelle from CWMBRAN

Little Italian Gem

Posted Mar 16, 2014
Small hotel but with immaculate clean rooms and public areas. Staff get friendly and accommodating. Breakfast varied choice and plentiful served by very pleasant staff. Free Wi-Fi great bonus especially as saves on internet charges when abroad. The only complaint which is minor considering the overall quality of the hotel, was the hard mattress but that's a personal choice. Would highly recommend staying here and only 10 minute walk to Colosseum.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jackie from Ontario, Canada

Nice small hotel in the centre of Rome.

Posted Mar 14, 2014
Pros: Nice staff, very clean, good pillows, free expresso coffee 24/7
Cons: Shower pressure needs improvement.
Location: Walk to coliseum, roman forum, close to Roma Termini, lots of small restaurants and shops.
Very nice little hotel, centrically located, walk to attractions in Rome. A taxi from here to the Vatican is 10 euros, to the airport 40 euros. Very very clean, attention to detail, very nice breakfast included, free expresso coffee at all times. Nice and helpful staff. We would come back here for sure. It would be perfect if the shower had more pressure. TV has lots of channels including CNN in English. Thanks for a lovely stay at the Raffaelo Hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mark from Bucks, UK

Excellent hotel, 10 min walk to Termini station.

Posted Mar 7, 2014
Pros: Large comfortable room and great location to walk to the sights and restuarants.
Location: All the sights are walking distance though some further away. We walked back from Vatican which took about 45 minutes, which was our longest walk.
Hotel staff excellent, facilities great, room very comfortable and felt higher class than the number of stars.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Feb 26, 2014
Pros: Location and staff
Cons: Not much
Location: Very central for city centre and ease of access to transport facilities
Great staff, good location, would return with ease - great value for money
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Outstanding local hotel

Posted Feb 16, 2014
Pros: All in all a lovely rememberable holiday in Roma, mainly due to Hotel Raffaello - so, grazie to all the staff!
Cons: Not a thing!
Considering we arrived in the evening, Via Urbana was easy to find and quickly spotted the hotel as pictured prettily. Check-in was quick, informative and friendly. My partner being Italian spoke the lingo. However, when the receptionist detected I was English he continued conversations in English so I was fully included. This was also true of all the other staff at Hotel Raffaello and generally in Rome. Our room (104) was warm, clean and spacious. Plenty of storage. The bed was comfortable and hosted perfect nights sleep. Big, bright and clean bathroom. Considering the breakfast was included in the extraordinary low price, we were not anticipating much. How wrong were we! The sight of fresh rosso orange juice won me over straight away. Plus cappucino, salami, ham, cheese, scrambled eggs, breads, pasteries and much much more. The waitresses were friendly and accommodating. Elena was lovely, She recommended two restaurants for our evenings and reserved the tables for us. Both restaurants were fantastic (see separate restaurant reviews). Given we were here on valentines day, the hotel helped my fiancee by ordering red roses bouquet and had them delivered to me - beautiful! In terms of the location, perfect! Just a few minutes walk from the colosseum which then leads on to all the other major attractions. We took the metro to the Vatican as would have been a lengthy walk.