Ratings based on 179 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice clean cosy hotel in a fantastic location

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Overall I was very happy with our stay. Our room was great and the hotel staff were very helpful. Wouldn't say hotel was 5 star just because it lacked the facilities 5 star hotels usually have. But other than that a great hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Uk

Great location and staff, but small room

Posted Aug 10, 2014
The location was exactly what we wanted so we could see most of the sites on foot as well as soak up the atmosphere of the old city. The staff were excellent and the breakfast every morning was great. Our room was very small with very little room to unpack our clothes. Overall a great stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Trinidad

Charming hotel close to many main attractions

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Absolutely loved our 5 nights stay at this charming hotel. From the moment we arrived I was enchanted by the ambience of the lobby and the warmth of the hotel staff. We stayed on the first floor the room was quite cool and comfortable but there is not a lot of space to unpack. The location of this hotel is ideal it's just a stone throw away from piazza navona. Some mornings we would wake up to the sounds of violins playing in the alley outside our window. There are lots of choices for restaurants and cafés right across the street from the hotel. We frequented oesteria del anima for delicious caprese salad hot chocolate cake and many other Italian favorites that we enjoyed but I have to say one of my favorite meals was at the rooftop terrace at the hotel and the wonderful views as the sunset made it all the more worthwhile. Thank you to the staff of hotel Raphael for making our stay in Rome a very pleasant and memorable one
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from austin, texas

great location and comfortable hotel.

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Cons: restaurant recommendations seemed biased towards Clemente despite the very average food and service there.
Location: off piazza navonna.
great location w/in walking distance to most attractions.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Catharines, Ontario

Central to all attractions.

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: We walked to all attractions. The breakfast was superb!
Cons: Update fitness equipment. Put a tv in the fitness area.
Location: Walked to Vatican City in adout 15 minutes. Walked to the colosseum in about 25 minutes. We walked to all major attractions from the hotel.
The hotel was central to all major attractions. Everything was wonderful! Our only complaint would be that the tv didn't work properly during our 5 night stay. Not a big deal, as we were not there to watch tv. However, we just wanted a bit of news each day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Great place to stay! Great location. Very friendly and willing to help with anything - restaurant recommendations, activities, etc. would stay here the whole time I was in Rome next time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by david from canada

Clean, quiet, excellent help from staff, central

Posted Jun 20, 2014
Would strongly recommend for a central hotel in Rome.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rickie and Sue from United Kingdom

Hotel ideally situated near to places of interest.

Posted Jun 7, 2014
Pros: The outside of the hotel is delightfully covered in greenery-looks appealing. The foyer is nicely furnished with some museum-like articles.
Cons: Provide non-vegetarian food in the restaurant.
Location: Hotel 200 meters from Pantheon. Many restaurants in two close by squares. Look at a map of Rome to see how central the hotel is to places of interest.
We were upgraded to a deluxe room with balcony. The room was unique but small. The bedroom was upstairs with TV, overlooking the lounge area, with a large double bed, but the bed was somewhat tight to the walls and a little difficult to get into elders. The lounge area downstairs also had a TV and was a little cramp, but the bathroom had reasonable space and was decked out nicely. The furniture in the lounge was of darkish wood but was a little dated; nonetheless, quite pleasant to look at. There was a desk with chair, a wardrobe, a single more comfortable chair and a mini bar in the lounge. All parts of the room were clean. There was a small balcony (literally enough space for two to sit with a drink) - quite cute really. The room was on the 5th. floor with rooftop views of the locality. On the roof (6th. floor) of the hotel was an open air restaurant which was delightful. Drinks and dinner available there (check prices though). Unfortunately the restaurant was solely vegetarian at this time of writing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by David P. Stone from New York City

Posted May 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
My room, although it cost almost $600 per day, was tiny. It was well laid out and took advantage of all available space, but it was claustrophobic and the large window looked out onto a wall, which did not help; nor did the fact that there was no real lobby into which to escape. Otherwise the hotel was first rate and, if there are substantially larger rooms at a reasonable price, it is a winner.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Middle-aged couple from Sydney, Australia

Very central location for tourists

Posted May 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel is virtually at the centre of the main Rome attractions. My wife & I walked to all attractions. The area surrounding the hotel is very safe, has a great buzz / feel to it and has a large number of restaurants, cafes and shops to choose from. The rooftop bar and restaurant was excellent.