Ratings based on 187 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from H

Great location and very comfortable.

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Staff was very professional and nice. We had a balcony which we really enjoyed. Couldn't ask for a better location. Room was very clean and breakfast was great. Great place to stay in Rome; we were made to feel very welcome.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Columbus Ohio

Relaxed old world charm next to Piazza Navonna

Posted Oct 9, 2014
We arrived and departed every day to a smiling multilingual staff eager to make every question and experience special. They have their own printed map to give you and mark sites and walks on; and always seek to ask what you are "looking for" to help shape your experience. Also the amenities, slippers at bed time, Bulgari soaps, etc. are first class and the roof top bar/restaurant is cozy-- looking over the ancient rooftops. Finally the art work is stunning. My favorite piec is the bronze of Picasso in the restaurant, by Frank Meisler.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Toronto

1 Night in Rome

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Could use a modern face lift. Decor dated. Price a bit higher than others in area.
Location: Vatican, St. Peter's Basilica, Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps, Many Restaurants, Pantheon, Colosseum.
Location of the hotel is perfect. Near many great restaurants and within walking distance of all the major site seeing spots - Basilica, Trevi Fountain, Colosseum, Spanish Steps. Most hotels are overpriced in Rome, so I guess this hotel is on par. For what we paid per night I was expecting a bit more. The hotel roof-top restaurant is a bit pricey. Would suggest going into one of the many nearby alleys for food & drink. Hotel starting to look dated, but sufficed as a place to stay for one night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Caring staff

Posted Sep 13, 2014
Pros: Location was ideal.
Location: It is central Roma. Walking distance to so many places. Lovely restaurants just outside the door of the hotel.
Staff booked Vatican tour for us. It was very informative. The staff at the hotel kept checking with us to make sure we were comfortable and enjoying our stay. Breakfast was delicious and included in our rate
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY, NY

Elegance and sophisication

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: Loved the proximity to everything. The hotel is located at Piazza Navona
Cons: Ownly drawback.........the exquisite bath room has a shower in the tub.......the floor of the tub is so slick that it is easy to fall and hurt yoursel
Location: Walk to everything.
Loved this hotel. It is in the very center of the sites in Rome. When we arrived with our friends(not staying at hotel) we were greeted with our beverage of choice along with hor dehouvres. Our friends were offered the same beverage at no charge. They make you feel very special here. We were upgraded to a 2 story room with balcony (5th fl) at no charge. It was beautiful. Full entry floor with sitting and eating area, lovely bath and walk out balcony overlooking the city. Upstairs was a full bedroom. Both stories had their own flat screen. AC worked wonders.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice clean cosy hotel in a fantastic location

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Overall I was very happy with our stay. Our room was great and the hotel staff were very helpful. Wouldn't say hotel was 5 star just because it lacked the facilities 5 star hotels usually have. But other than that a great hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Uk

Great location and staff, but small room

Posted Aug 10, 2014
The location was exactly what we wanted so we could see most of the sites on foot as well as soak up the atmosphere of the old city. The staff were excellent and the breakfast every morning was great. Our room was very small with very little room to unpack our clothes. Overall a great stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Trinidad

Charming hotel close to many main attractions

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Absolutely loved our 5 nights stay at this charming hotel. From the moment we arrived I was enchanted by the ambience of the lobby and the warmth of the hotel staff. We stayed on the first floor the room was quite cool and comfortable but there is not a lot of space to unpack. The location of this hotel is ideal it's just a stone throw away from piazza navona. Some mornings we would wake up to the sounds of violins playing in the alley outside our window. There are lots of choices for restaurants and cafés right across the street from the hotel. We frequented oesteria del anima for delicious caprese salad hot chocolate cake and many other Italian favorites that we enjoyed but I have to say one of my favorite meals was at the rooftop terrace at the hotel and the wonderful views as the sunset made it all the more worthwhile. Thank you to the staff of hotel Raphael for making our stay in Rome a very pleasant and memorable one
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from austin, texas

great location and comfortable hotel.

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Cons: restaurant recommendations seemed biased towards Clemente despite the very average food and service there.
Location: off piazza navonna.
great location w/in walking distance to most attractions.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Catharines, Ontario

Central to all attractions.

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: We walked to all attractions. The breakfast was superb!
Cons: Update fitness equipment. Put a tv in the fitness area.
Location: Walked to Vatican City in adout 15 minutes. Walked to the colosseum in about 25 minutes. We walked to all major attractions from the hotel.
The hotel was central to all major attractions. Everything was wonderful! Our only complaint would be that the tv didn't work properly during our 5 night stay. Not a big deal, as we were not there to watch tv. However, we just wanted a bit of news each day.