Ratings based on 172 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Catharines, Ontario

Central to all attractions.

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: We walked to all attractions. The breakfast was superb!
Cons: Update fitness equipment. Put a tv in the fitness area.
Location: Walked to Vatican City in adout 15 minutes. Walked to the colosseum in about 25 minutes. We walked to all major attractions from the hotel.
The hotel was central to all major attractions. Everything was wonderful! Our only complaint would be that the tv didn't work properly during our 5 night stay. Not a big deal, as we were not there to watch tv. However, we just wanted a bit of news each day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Great place to stay! Great location. Very friendly and willing to help with anything - restaurant recommendations, activities, etc. would stay here the whole time I was in Rome next time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by david from canada

Clean, quiet, excellent help from staff, central

Posted Jun 20, 2014
Would strongly recommend for a central hotel in Rome.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rickie and Sue from United Kingdom

Hotel ideally situated near to places of interest.

Posted Jun 7, 2014
Pros: The outside of the hotel is delightfully covered in greenery-looks appealing. The foyer is nicely furnished with some museum-like articles.
Cons: Provide non-vegetarian food in the restaurant.
Location: Hotel 200 meters from Pantheon. Many restaurants in two close by squares. Look at a map of Rome to see how central the hotel is to places of interest.
We were upgraded to a deluxe room with balcony. The room was unique but small. The bedroom was upstairs with TV, overlooking the lounge area, with a large double bed, but the bed was somewhat tight to the walls and a little difficult to get into elders. The lounge area downstairs also had a TV and was a little cramp, but the bathroom had reasonable space and was decked out nicely. The furniture in the lounge was of darkish wood but was a little dated; nonetheless, quite pleasant to look at. There was a desk with chair, a wardrobe, a single more comfortable chair and a mini bar in the lounge. All parts of the room were clean. There was a small balcony (literally enough space for two to sit with a drink) - quite cute really. The room was on the 5th. floor with rooftop views of the locality. On the roof (6th. floor) of the hotel was an open air restaurant which was delightful. Drinks and dinner available there (check prices though). Unfortunately the restaurant was solely vegetarian at this time of writing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ann and Mel from upstate New York, USA

Twenty five years later . . . .

Posted May 7, 2014
It was great to see how everything looked the same. perfect location, and an oasis in the midst of extreme busyness. Room was somewhat shabby, and poorly decorated, not important. Bed was fairly uncomfortable. An air of shabbiness to the whole place, but not in a bad way. It's location cannot be beat. Breakfast impeccably served. Everyone most helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Christine from uk

Nice hotel, great location

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Pros: Location. Helpful and pleasant staff. Breakfast.
Cons: Kettle in the room!
Location: Walking distance to all the main attractions and close to bus stop for less able travellers
Enjoyed our stay very much although we were disappointed there was no kettle in the room - we had assumed a 4 star hotel would have one! We had a basic room which was okay, comfy bed, very clean but no comfy chair, no bath just a shower, very little draw space and no pictures on the walls!! Wonderful breakfast though and the staff were great. I'd go back if i went to Rome again and maybe pay even more and book a different room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by julie from Rome

small hotel close to everything

Posted Mar 28, 2014
Pros: The staff, friendly and helpful, Central.
Location: Lots to do close by plenty of walking but easy to get a cab or bus pity it rained but the hotel did have brollies !!
A warm greeting and a drink with nibbles, a chance to sit down after our journey where we had some local insights on a map with our helpful receptionist we thought a very nice touch. The lobby a little lacking in fresh sparkle or wow factor and just a little tired in textiles carpets and paint. The room was clean, big bathroom a little noisy at times we were at the back of the hotel. The staff made up for it all especially the restaurant staff!! very expensive but super food we ate their the last night. The breakfasts were great, fresh and good choice, once again the staff were fabulous.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Helen and Ray from Ramsden Heath,Essex

Rome Central in Style

Posted Mar 25, 2014
Pros: Wonderful friendly staff. Marble bathrooms. Huge memory foam beds. Artwork in the lobby. Very clean. Location. Breakfast in with the price.
Cons: Tea making facilities in the room would top it off.
Location: Terrific location seconds from Piazza Navona with restaurants around it. We walked easily to the Colosseum, The Vatican, Spanish Steps. Pantheon 5 min
Were not the reviewing types but we thought our stay at the Raphael was so memorable we had to say how good we think it is.We were celebrating a significant birthday and glad we chose so well. There were so many little things about our stay that together they built into a feeling of real attention to detail. A boxed chocolate on the bed every day, slippers and the Bulgari bathroom products, replaced every day all added to the experience. The staff were attentive and friendly beginning with a welcome drink and a chat with a one of the staff before taken to our room. The room was city size with a king size bed and certainly helped support the price of the room, but with a large white marble shower room. Luckily on the second night the hot water stopped and we were immediately upgraded to an upstairs suite for the last night . The staff almost all spoke English and so forgiving of my rubbish Italian, and so lovely having the front doors opened by someone in a coachmans uniform. The restaurant we thought could be a little more intimate though we didnt eat there in the evening but were impressed with the breakfast of bacon eggs fruit pastry and much more. One thing missing was any view as the hotel is in a side street, ours was of a very old brick wall though, but go to the roof terrace and look out over Rome.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Isabelle from UK

Perfection

Posted Mar 22, 2014
Only 1 improvement I can think of - no air conditioning in a hot week because it wasn't turned on yet. Meant 2 bad nights sleep. Otherwise nothing could have been better - pure luxury!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Heather from Seattle, WA

Romantic Italy getaway!

Posted Mar 11, 2014
First visit to Italy. We arrived at Hotel Raphael after a train ride down from Venice. The staff was VERY welcoming. Very nice small property. We really loved the location, right near Piazza Navona and walkable to every major sightseeing attraction in Rome. The staff was great with recommendations for restaurants, helping reserve tickets to Vatican and directions. Also, really liked the breakfast included every morning. Grazie, Hotel Raphael, we had a great trip!