Ratings based on 54 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Derby UK

Average hotel

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Pros: Helpfull staff
Cons: The room could gain a lot with a little refurb
Location: Location was good. Loads of bars and restaurants at your door and also plenty to see as you would expect in Rome.
The hotel was just ok. Everything was average. Could have been much better with greater attention to detail. Little issues we had were: upon arrival we have been transferred to another hotel for one night due to booking system error, the water was pooling in shower cubicle, the outer shutters have been falling apart an door to the mini balcony was hard do close. The breakfast choice was average as well. Some staff were quite helpfull,especially one of the check-in clerks who gave us a map and explained all the nearby bus rotes etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from South Wales UK

Friendly hotel

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: Friendly, helpful staff. The walk up to the entrance. Clean room serviced every day to a high standard.
Cons: Would like to be able to preorder a breakfast bag for collection before 7am. Tea/coffee making facilities in the room (a British thing).
Location: Could easily walk to most sights within 20/30 minutes which gave you the atmosphere of Rome. Get a daily/3 day bus ticket if you don't like walking.
Friendly staff who gave useful information about local transport etc. Recommended a very good restaurant for evening meals -brilliant! Breakfast - good choice, but no breakfast bag available for those checking out earlier than 7am :( Overall a lovely stay at Hotel Rome Garden & would definitely stay again. Could walk to most places, if you're a walker (we are) but buses very easy too.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Low price but too far from Tourist attractions

Posted Jul 29, 2014
The hotel was clean, but NOT comfortable. The pictures show a beautiful outdoor area to sit but unfortunately it is full of mosquitoes and bugs, so do not imagine yourself relaxing out there with a cup of coffee! We were eaten alive! Additionally the breakfast is horrible. Old meat and bread and the smell of eggs is very unappealing. The breakfast room is small and very hot, no air circulation. We tried to eat the fist day as it is included in the room price but all other days ate at a cafe down the road.The walk or cab to town was possible, but we could not slip back to the room during the day, we would have full day excursions out then cab back to the hotel for about 20 Euro each way. The hotel staff spoke very little English, and was rude much of the time. They have an archaic key system, only one key per room so if you have older children coordination is ridiculous. I would recommend staying closer into Rome and paying a bit more.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from New Delhi, India

a beautiful cozy place to stay with family.

Posted Jul 25, 2014
Pros: homely and friendly atmosphere. Close to all important places including Main Railway station Termini.
Location: Location is very good. can roam about all important places.
excellent. friendly staff, specially the Somalian front office Manager. ???? forgot his name. Mr. SAS or SAL
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Globe84Trekker from NY, NY

Excellent Staff, Clean rooms, Good breakfast,

Posted Jun 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Day 12 in Italy of the 4 other hotels we stayed this was the best! Beat out hotels that said they were 4 stars, fair price, good location easy to get around buses and rail 5 min walk, free on sight parking, beautiful outside garden,breakfast was a meal not finger food, reception, house keeping and kitchen staff were excellent, accommodated our luggage and vehicle on check out day, rooms were small but well organized and comfortable, highly recommend looking forward to staying here again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by B from UK

Good Hotel

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: Clean and Pleasant atmosphere
Cons: Breakfast, more options required.
Location: Location is safe area and not noisy. Easy access to public transport. Quite alot local eating araes.
The Hotel was clean and well managed. Breakfast was adequate although they could improve on the selection available. We had a double room which was kept clean and was pleasant to stay in. The only downside is that they should keep a mirror in the room. The location of the hotel is slightly out of the city centre however this is big plus as it is a quiet area. Public transport is great you can access the bus 60 or 62 to get into town. However we purchased a 3 day pass which you can use on buses and metro underground tubes. Its not that expensive and using the underground metro is the most convenient way to travel. About 10 min walk to the nearest metro which are clearly marked M in red. You will find this service runs very well and allows you acces to all parts of teh main attractions. Wear good walking shoes or trainers you will be doing alot of walking to see the city, the hotel is near a supermarket and we purchased bottled water and other snacks and drinks. In the city you will find alot of these items expensive so taking your own is ideal. Eating out is very easy Rome has many many eating places, however, word of advise look around and check the prices before you decide to sit to eat. Especially near main attractions prices are hiked up. You will find many side streets which are reasonably priced. The hotel will provide you with a good map and will tell you where you can get the buses and metros from.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by big B from Calgary

Nice Hotel

Posted Apr 2, 2014
Pros: Character of room
Good size rooms We were traveling with a family of 4 and room was of adequate size to accommodate Parents and 2 teenage boys. Good location within walking distance of all sights and public transportation... Staff all pleasant and helpful with requests Can't really ask for more!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Kirsten from Montenegro

Away from the madness, but accessable

Posted Jan 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
We got off to a bit of a bad start at Rome Garden, when we arrived at 4pm and our room still wasn't ready. But things went uphill after that. It was nice to be away from the madness of Rome and yet still be able to reach tourist destinations. If you're used to walking, it's not a problem to walk to the centro storico or the Trevi Fountain. Both the Blue and the Red metros are about 15 minute walks. The desk staff are courteous and will help you get dinner reservations, airport shuttles, or taxis, and will give you directions to where you'd like to get (beware the busses, though, they're not always regular and you really have no way of knowing when the one you're waiting for might appear). Breakfast was plentiful and starts early enough to make a day of it in Rome, and the hotel serves great coffee -- be sure to note you can order it from a server rather than get it out of the self-serve machine! The room was a bit warm but other than that, no complaints.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 7, 2014
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 22, 2013 on Hotels.com