Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Maidstone

Ideal location

Posted Jun 1, 2009
Stayed at the hotel for Champions League final. Ideal location for bars, restaurants, metro, buses + trains. Basic accomodation but clean and value for money. Decent continental breakfast. Would book hotel again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rose

Even Disappointing Despite The Price!

Posted Mar 24, 2009 on Hotels.com
So upon searching for inexpensive hotels in Rome I of course did the hotels.com thing and others and tried to find as many reviews as possible for San Remo. What I found was basically what I was looking for...inexpensive hotel with solid location. Great, I thought. Just what we're looking for. Well, what the reviews didn't really mention was that the staff was extremely rude (I asked the over night hotel guy for some help with confiriming my flights and he just gave me a dirty look and ran all over the hotel looking at books or something leaving me there all the while wondering what the hell was going on, after which I asked him what was going on and he ignored me....to which I walked away!), the location was quite overrated (except for the coliseum which a 15 min walk wasn't too bad), and the security of it was a bit strange. They make you leave your keys at the front desk and then when you come back afterwards to ask for it back they don't ask for id or anything...not extremely re-assuring particularly after hearing all the Rome horror stories of theft and pick-pocketing. Oh also, the beds kind of stink. Our large bed was 2 mattresses pushed together! Quite uncomfortable after wandering around Rome lost all day! So anyway, yea, not that we'll be back anytime soon, but next time in Rome I'll def not be staying at Hotel San Remo. I'd rather pay a few extra bucks to be surrounded by people who at least fake to appreciate my business, as this place is probably one step up from a hostel. Breakfast was decent though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from St Paul, MN

Pleasant Stay

Posted Mar 24, 2009
I was a bit nervous booking this since there were no reviews on Expedia and average ratings on TripAdvisor. However, I was pleasantly surprised. The room was very clean and the staff (especially the cleaning staff) was nice and helpful. Our room had an LCD TV. The location is perfect - only a couple blocks from Termini station. There are some wear and tear showing in the bathroom, but nothing significant. The breakfast is so-so, but it's free and can be expected. For the price, location, and cleanliness, you can't go wrong. I recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

A bed for the night - reasonably priced

Posted Nov 7, 2008
2 blocks from the main railway station and metro - able to walk to most places from the hotel - even caught the tube to the vatican and strolled back! Hotel is clean - continental breakfast is provided - a good variety of items. Room was a tad on the small size but it was only used to look after bags, sleep and shower in!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Ithaca

Great room for the money

Posted Sep 11, 2008 on Hotels.com
Cheap for central location. Convenient.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from The Midlands

Ideally situated for most sites in the centre

Posted Sep 6, 2008
Hotel is perfect for all rome sites and very near to Rome termini train station.Rooms are basic but comfortable but my bathroom was a bit tatty and in need of a bit of tlc from a maintenance man , as i was only using this room as a base i chose to leave it at that and say no more.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 2, 2008 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Liverpool

Nice hotel in a central position near termini

Posted Aug 24, 2008 on Hotels.com
the hotel was in a good position near termini in a quiet street near republica. the hotel is clean and comfortable and good value for money. Breakfast was included in the price and was good. the air conditioning is not marvellous, and one of our party has a room in which it was not working. The reception staff were very helpful and moved them to another room. the Satellite TV has only got one english channel, CNN, which was a little disappointing, but overall the hotel was good value and I would stay again. .
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from swansea

excellent value good location great breakfast chioce would stay again

Posted Aug 18, 2008 on Hotels.com
only a block away from termini station where the airport transfers metro and trains to visit ostia beach the location is great i managed to see all of the sights in rome on foot the collusseum is only twenty mins away by foot then u are in the heart of rome the hotel was clean fantastic brekfast and the room was a nice size and comfortable highly reccomended
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London

More than satisfactory for our needs.

Posted Aug 16, 2008
Stayed for 3 nights at the San Remo. Providing my daughter and I with a satisfactory and convenient base from which to explore Rome. It is within a few minutes walk of the main Termini station for trains/metro/buses and also for shops and mid-range restaurants. Some of the rooms were being redecorated during our stay which didn't cause too much disturbance. Room was fairly large,very clean with a similar bathroom. Air conditioning in bedroom worked well. Breakfast substantial continental. I'd recommend this hotel as a good comfortable base to stay in if sightseeing's your aim. My only gripe was the tiny lift (max 3 people)and having to walk up 10 flights of stairs on a few occasions (especially in the Italian summer heat).