Ratings based on 212 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Rockland County

Good Location

Posted Nov 21, 2014
Pros: Friendly, helpful staff
Cons: As indicated above. No toilet paper holder. bathroom was small. Shower stall was small.
Location: Within a short walk to sights and very closed to train station (Termini)
Nice. small. good location. Breakfast was minimum but good. Room was adequate. Shower head needs to be fixed. Mattress was not supportive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Good hotel - everything you need and great staff

Posted Nov 9, 2014
Pros: Staff were friendly and very helpful. I would definitely recommend and would use again myself
Cons: Shower in one room was a bit difficult to set at right temperature - just a minor problem and didn't seem worth mentioning to staff
Location: About 10 mins walk from Termini station and very near Santa Maria Maggiore. Short walk 5-10 mins to Colosseum and Forum and Piazza Venezia.
Much preferred this to the rather impersonal 3 star hotel I used a few years ago on a previous visit to Rome. Rooms are basic but clean and well equipped with mini fridge, safe TV and hairdryer in bathroom. You can hear the traffic noise - although this didn't bother me as am used to it at home! There is a small dining area so you have breakfast there in the morning. We were able to leave our bags at reception on the last day as we weren't leaving until evening
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Decent budget accommodation

Posted Oct 31, 2014
Hotel Saturnia is in a central location, ideal for the Colosseum and a short walk from the Trevi Fountain and metro ride to the Vatican. Room was small but to be honest we spent so little time there it didn't matter. Everything was fairly standard; it was clean and had everything needed for a short stay. Staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, to the point of ringing our transfer minibus to the airport to make sure we were sorted. As said before, it's quite central so you can hear a fair bit of noise from the street, but it's not overly concerning. I'd stop again as a budget place to rest your head between visiting everything Rome has to offer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Good location, helpful staff and clean

Posted Oct 24, 2014
Hotel was clean and staff were very helpful. Our room was quite small and the beds were a bit hard but since we had a limited budget we chose it for good location and previous reviews about it being clean and the staff being helpful. Overall we were very happy with this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location

Posted Oct 3, 2014
Location was great for sights. Palatine hill and colleseum just 10min walk and close to termini station. Metro also very close. We had superior room so own bathroom etc... Looked as though the normal rooms had to share bathrooms. Hotel staff were very friendly and had good english. Shame Rome is covered in graffiti. Never seen anything so bad in all my life. Every street we walked down over 4 days. Rome is great for sights like trevi fountain etc...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Melbourne

Decent

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Nice staff, good location. A little squashy but worth it for the price.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago, IL

Cramped and charmless rooms

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: Good location.
Cons: Rooms could be bigger and less depressing.
Location: Good local restaurants, bars and cafes. Colosseum and Roman forum are a short walk away. The metro is about a 5-10 minute walk.
In a European capital city like Rome, I would expect the hotel rooms to be overpriced and small, but this was really excessive. The charmless room was barely large enough to fit the "double bed" (actually, two single beds pushed together). The wi-fi only worked about half the time, and since the TV only had one english channel (understandable, in Italy), this made staying in the room quite depressing. The bathroom was so small that it was only possible to sit on the toilet by putting your feet in the shower! I'm not joking! I did notice that some of the other rooms in the hotel were slightly larger, so it's possible that we got unlucky. On the upside, the location of the hotel is good. Walking distance from many of Rome's major attractions such as the Colosseum and there are many nice local (not too touristy) restaurants, bars and cafes nearby. The staff seemed friendly, and the lobby and breakfast area are nice enough (although the breakfast was mediocre at best).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly staff, great value for money

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Great location, very close to the colloseum. Fresh pastries and coffee for breakfast. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Room always cleaned and well maintained. Quiet small but better than expected for the price in the location
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Excellent staff. Nice hotel in a nice location. Good value.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Northampton

Excellent location

Posted Sep 12, 2014
The staff were very friendly and helpful, they all spoke English which was very welcome and gave useful advice on local attractions. The hotel is in an excellent location to walk to a lot of the famous sights, the room was quite spacious and clean and the air conditioning was very welcome on such a warm time of the year