Ratings based on 57 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel central to everything

Posted Sep 16, 2014
this hotel was a good choice . breakfast was nice location very central to get around to major sites only negative was the television only one news channel and that was hard to get
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Quebec, Canada

We love Roma

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Pros: The Continental Breakfast was unbelievable (recipes for some of the dishes would have been lovely)! The staff was friendly, courteous and most helpful
Location: Close to train/bus/metro (Termini). Walking through the streets of Rome is the way to appreciate its character but it is nice to have other options!
It was a lovely place to settle into after a very long flight. Our stay was only for a couple of days but being the start of our vacation it was a great spot to begin our second adventure in Italia.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from British Columbia

A taste of Rome

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: The room was bright and modern. The elevator was quaint. Staff member Joy was the best; he was friendly, attentive and very helpful.
Location: All major attractions are within walking distance or you can take all public transportation, which is within two to three blocks away.
The room was spotless and the staff very attentive. We easily walked to all the major sights except the Vatican where we hopped a bus about two blocks from the hotel. However, we could have walked to the Vatican had we chosen to do so.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Nice hotel centrally positioned for tourists

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Hotel staff couldn't do enough for you. Breakfast was good. Rome itself I found dirty and everyone was on the make. Glad I have been but wouldn't go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Milwaukee, WI

comfortable hotel near Rome Termini Station

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: fresh cotton sheets, breakfast buffet
Cons: larger shower should be on the next renovation list
Location: 5-6 blocks from Termini Station which services airport buses and shuttles as well as trains and metro. starting point for several hop-on-hop-off tour
nice, clean room with private bath overlooking the Via del Viminale 6 blocks from Termini Station. friendly, knowledgeable front desk staff. friendly, attentive breakfast staff. impressive breakfast buffet includes fresh fruit, breakfast pies, cappuccino. does include 4-5steps from street to front desk. only shortcoming is that the shower is incredibly small.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Great hotel and excellent staff.

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Location: We walked to the Colosseum, the Forum, Trevi Fountain, the Pantheon, and even Vatican City.
This place is close to everything and the breakfast is the best we had on our entire trip. The staff is very professional and helpful for advice and directions. We were backpacking and this hotel is only a five minute walk from the main termini.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Charles from Maui

Hotel is OK

Posted May 27, 2014
Pros: Hotel is close to Termini rail station and Metro stations. The free breakfast and wifi were a plus.
Location: The hotel is close to public transportation, which made it easy to get around town. Tons of restaurants are nearby.
I have mixed feelings about the Hotel Sonya. My wife and I spent three nights at the hotel. Our room was a bit on the small side, but it was OK because we didn't spend much time in the room. Breakfast and wifi were included in the price, so that was a bonus. The hotel staff was attentive. The hotel had an elevator, which is not always the case with older European hotels. On the downside, the dark wall coloring and furnishings made our room feel depressing. Also, there was an overpowering odor of bleach when we first checked into the room. Our room had a window, but you couldn't leave it open because cigarette smoke from smokers walking beneath the window would enter the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by aarlene from freeman

Posted May 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very helpful staff but hotel is more like a 2* European, not a 3*, lacking most of the amenities associated with a higher star rating. Our immaculately clean room was a bit shabby and poor lighting made it depressing. Bathroom ceiling paint was peeling above the dropped-ceiling screen and strange noises emanated from the plumbing. The convenience to the Station Termini is the reason for staying here because the hotel is a long walk or bus ride to most of the main Rome attractions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Close to Termini

Posted May 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel is in a safe neighborhood convenient to the Termini and Republica stations. The buffet breakfast included cooked eggs, pastry, fresh fruit and delicious cappachino! The staff worked hard to make our stay enjoyable and comfortable. Check out is at 11 a.m. but they allowed us to stay in our room until our taxi for the airport arrived at noon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel was in a great location

Posted Apr 25, 2014
Pros: Location and charm
Cons: The bed was very uncomfortable!
Hotel is difficult to find by car. We ended up parking in a lot and asking directions to the hotel. The daughter speaks English. Other staff do not! She instructed us how to drive up a side alley to the hotel The actual hotel was charming. And in the center of town Staff were not very friendly,but were very quick to assist Room very clean, but bed was extremely firm