Ratings based on 411 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by J from New York

Amazing city and amazing hotel

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Pros: Breakfast (of course!), Anastasia at the concierge desk, the door men were great too. Very comfortable room. Very luxurious for Europe. Super quiet!
Cons: Its Europe, so if you're from America realize that things work a little differently. That said, the staff at Splendide make it as easy as possible
Location: Its Rome- enough said.
Room was incredibly quiet and comfortable. The hotel manager is runs a "tight ship" and obviously places high standards on this hotel and it shows- quite nicely too. Everyone was exceptionally friendly. Room was spotless and smelled great. Beds were very comfortable. Surrounding area and the hotel itself was very quiet and peaceful. Buffet breakfast was amazing. Staff at breakfast and Anastasia from concierge desk were the best. Situated in North Rome by the Borghese gardens, this hotel was very convenient for us visiting as tourists.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Caroline from Essex, UK

Great hotel

Posted Apr 11, 2014
Pros: Quiet room, pleasant staff, amazing terrace.
Location: Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain.
Lovely comfortable and large room overlooking Borghese Gardens. So quiet. Amazing breakfast overlooking Rome. Unforgettable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cedric from London

Beautiful hotel 5 minutes walk from Spanish steps

Posted Apr 5, 2014
The Royal Splendid Hotel was perfect for our short city break. Not more than 30 minutes brisk walk from all major attractions. This includes the Colleseum, Vatican and Central railway station. The views from the the restaurant are breathtaking and made each morning during breakfast an amazing start to the day. All the staff where very helpfull and courteous. The only reason this hotel did not get a full sweep of 5 stars was that I felt the restaurant for evening dinner was very expensive. It may be worth it if you have enough money to spend on your holiday, but at €130 per head for the set meal, is out of my range. So my wife and I used local restaurants that are numerous and reasonably priced.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by K from London

Wonderful terrace

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: Drinks on the terrace watching the sun go down - expensive but very beautiful.
We had an excellent long weekend in Rome at the Hotel Splendide Royal. The location is good, very close to the Borghese Park and within a short walk of the Spanish Steps. Our room was comfortable, although the air-conditioning was a little temperamental. The staff were friendly and helpful. As the breakfast room was being renovated, breakfast is currently being served in the 7th floor restaurant which has fantastic views across the city. There was no noise from the renovation works.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chris from England

Long Weekend Trip

Posted Mar 26, 2014
Pros: The breakfast was wonderful; it was self-service and had a wide selection of cooked options, cereals, yoghurt, cheeses, bread, jams, marmalade, etc.
Cons: Tea making facilities would have been nice.
Location: Quiet location, within 5 minute walk of the Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain.
As a really special treat for my 25 year old daughter we booked a long weekend trip to Rome to visit the wonderful sights. The Hotel was happy to provide two single beds and upgraded us to a room with a separate lounge complete with another large flatscreen tv and fridge. We had booked a room without a view (courtyard) as we were out most of the time, but the room itself was very comfortable and had almost everything we needed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great small hotel with helpful staff

Posted Mar 19, 2014
Pros: Rooms,location and staff
Cons: When other restaurants open then will have a choice of food in hotel but plenty of cafes etc near by
Location: Opposite Villa Borghese park and within walking distance of Spanish Steps,shops,bars and restaurants Bus stops outside but need to walk to metro
Lovely room and hotel. Great location for sites and transportation. We were able to walk to all of the city sights. The only problem was 2 of the 3 restaurant were under repair but meant we had breakfast each day on the roof terrace-spectacular views of the city. The views match those from the Hotel Eden. Recommend
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Guy from San Antonio, Texas, USA

Wonderful dining, restful sleep.

Posted Mar 15, 2014
Pros: Staff and location
Location: Spanish Steps are near, Borghese Gardens are near. Nearby transportation. Great shopping at bottom of Spanish steps.
An elegant hotel located near the gardens and Spanish Steps. Close to public transportation and in a safe location if you enjoy strolling the streets. The staff was especially helpful, the reception staff helped with tourist info, the doorman always greeted us warmly and Stefan handled our luggage with care. Old world charm for sure. Would not miss the view from the rooftop or 7th floor dining. Breakfast buffet was an incredible way to start the day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ed from UK

Lovely Rome Hotel

Posted Mar 6, 2014
Pros: Breakfast, Clean Room, Good Location
Location: Very near to the Spanish steps, walking distance to Trevi Fountain and Pantheon. Near two underground stations to get train to Colisseum and Vatican.
Had a lovely long weekend in Rome with my girlfriend. Stayed for two nights. Had absolutely no problems other than getting slightly lost on the way to the hotel. Hotel was great, large, clean room with a nice bathroom. Bathroom was also large and clean. And breakfast was incredible. Also great location near the Spanish steps and close to two underground stations to give access to the Colisseum and Vatican.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sheila from London, UK

Beautiful boutique hotel close to Spanish Steps

Posted Mar 5, 2014
Pros: Its style, its proximity to most of the sites, the friendliness of the staff.
Cons: Free Wi-Fi in the rooms would be nice!
Location: Spanish Steps and Via dei Condotti with its designer shops and nearby restaurants only minutes away.
We stayed 3 nights here in late February. Hotel is in a great location, is beautifully decorated in ornate Baroque style - no minimalism here! - with very comfortable well-appointed rooms. Ours was on the third floor with a lovely view over the Borghese Gardens. At the time of our visit the hotel's own restaurant was being refurbished so we had our breakfast in the Mirabelle Restaurant on the 7th floor of the hotel which has a lovely terrace - perfect to sit out on warm summer days - and amazing views of St. Peter's and the Rome skyline. Buffet breakfast was superb. All the staff were very friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Feb 27, 2014
Pros: Location, beauty of the hotel, the staff
Cons: nothing
Location: near the last stop on the red line of the Metro. Around the corner from the Hard Rock Cafe
The hotel was elegant very clean and the staff was exceptionally nice. The location was great because it was very near the Spanish Steps but was on a quiet street. Also very near the Via Venito. The breakfast was exceptional. I would definitely stay here again.