Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from canada

Bare bones in great location

Posted Oct 8, 2014
The hotel is in néed of upgrading but room was clean and adequate. We had very loud construction wake us in the morning with workmen literally just outside our window building a metal scaffold and drilling into the cement of the wall. The staff were very friendly and helpful.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from usa

biggest dump in rome

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
Location: Spanish steps
should be a 1 star hotel. place was dirty, air condition did not work. location is great if you don't mind living in a slum lord facility.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from haruna

Excellent location.

Posted Aug 31, 2014
The staff were welcoming. The breakfast could be better. Hot water goes off in the night and some mornings too.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Dark and disappointing

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: It was well situated near the Spanish steps, safe and clean.
Cons: The toilet in our room eventually flushed, sometimes after five, sometimes 7, sometimes 11 tries.
Location: It was near the Spanish steps and within walking distance of the Pantheon and Trevi fountain...
When we arrived (a family of 3), we were told that our room (booked and paid for as a quad) was not available, but they would give us a double and a single room "at no cost" for 1 night, then provide a triple room for the next 2 nights. We asked several times ("At no cost?" "Free?") and were assured, yes, no cost. Though none of us were excited about sleeping in separate rooms, what could we do? We checked out the first, single room, on a different floor than the double , and it was a small, dark closet with a view of a brick wall. Again, what could we do? I considered sleeping with my wife and son on the floor of their room for one night. After all, it WAS free, right? "Yes, free. No charge," we were assured. Well, thankfully, the air conditioning in that room never did turn on, so I was moved to another room (ironically, bigger than my wife and son's double room) on their floor, and though the shower was a dribble, at least the a/c worked and we were all on the same floor. Then the next day, we asked about our new room and were told we weren't in a new room, actually, but they were squeezing a third bed into the double room. Remember, we HAD reserved a quad in the 1st place. On this second day, with the manager, we confirmed that last night was, indeed, free. "Yes, the second room was free." Apparently, the staff of this hotel thinks that separating a family and not charging them EXTRA is doing them a favor. We tried to explain that it wasn't, but to no avail.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nj

Posted Aug 11, 2014
When we first arrived to the hotel we were given a room that had a moldy bathtub, wallpaper hanging off the walls, non working air conditioner and a broken refrigerator. Told front desk we wanted another room. The next morning they have us another room which was better but the hotel is quite old and in poor condition. One positive thing was the staff. Wonderful, delightful people.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chester, UK

Everything one needs for a short stay in Rome

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: The staff offered a friendly welcome, instantly equipping me with maps, phone numbers and good eating recommendations. Its location can't be faulted.
Cons: There was a loose bit of flooring in my room, though it didn't pose any large problems. The hot/cold water in the shower was a bit unpredictable.
Location: The hotel is in between the Barberini and Piazza de Spagna metro stations, as good a location as could be wished for at the price.
My trip was a 3 night affair aiming to see as much of Rome as I could - the Trinita dei Monti was an excellent base for this. Very easily found from either the Spagna or Barberini metro stations, it offered a great starting location from which to see the sites, for which a metro journey is often needed. The hotel is a stone's throw from the Piazza de Spagna and the Spanish Steps: this means one is never short of options for eating out. Reception recommended the Via della Corda for eating which proved invaluable advice: lots of options at surprisingly affordable prices; one would struggle to find restaurants near Trafalgar Square offering food of the same quality at even double the price. Furthermore, the area is densely populated with other tourists. While this can pose its own problems, the atmosphere is at once friendly and secure, with everyone enjoying themselves and the unique atmosphere of Rome at night. The hotel offered great value for what was a very reasonable rate: location, staff, basics were excellent. That is all that a traveller in Rome needs in order to have a wonderful time. My only tip would be to request a room on the other side of the Via Sistina if possible, as being on that side of the hotel I had no problems with external noise in what is a busy area.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chichester

Great location but the hotel is really run down

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: hotel is v run down
Location: near spanish steps and easy to get everywhere
awful breakfast in the hotel - but nice cafe downstairs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from quitman

Near Spanish steps

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Very helpful front desk with directions. Nice breakfast and wifi.
2 out of 5
by Chris from vancouver

Great location, shoddy hotel

Posted Jun 13, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: see above
Location: see above
the location is great.......just down the street from the Spanish Steps and close to scads of other sites BUT despite the charming Antonio at the front desk the hotel is rundown and shabby. No or little AC which is a must in the Roman heat (we had to sleep with the windows wide open on a very busy street; not conducive to shut eye). Mould in the bathroom and generally a feeling of the place being beyond it best before date. The breakfast was good though not great in variety. The staff were willing but not able so to speak. With a refurbishment this place could become a gem as I'm sure it was in years past.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Thomas from Copiague, NY

Do not stay here!

Posted May 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
We booked this hotel trying to stay closer to the center of Rome but when we got there we were disappointed. The room smelled. There was mildew on the walls. The furnisher in the room was old. A horrible experience! We stayed there 15 minutes and walked out to a hotel around the corner which was not only cheaper but in much better condition. Obviously losing the money for this booking.