Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Middlesbrough

Villa Maria Hotel Review

Posted Aug 10, 2007
This hotel its great for relaxing after spending the whole day in the buzz of the city.However it is doesn't have many facilities close by would need to rent a car in odd hours of the evening if you needed minor stuff.But if you really want to get away from everything this is your hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Little Rock, AR

Ups and Downs

Posted Sep 20, 2006
The staff seemed to be in no hurry to help us when we arrived (a "30 minutes" became almost 2 hours), and when we had telephone problems. I don't think there were plans to fix the room phone, until we asked a manager where we could get help as we had a family member in the hospital. The phone was promptly fixed. The breakfast was good, our room was spacious, especially the bath, and the atmosphere was restful. We didn't find out until the last day that we could get ice from the lobby bar, although other days the desk staff was willing to unlock the case and sell us water. The downside was getting places. We didn't mind public transport, but even speaking a little Italian, it was difficult to get around on our own. We were lost often, and so were out for 14 hours at a stretch. I would possibly get a hotel closer to the tourist area next time. However, the gardens and view were so beautiful and restful. Another up-side is that the hotel sells one-time bus passes, the cheap one-time ones, although one day they were out and we had to walk to the news stand. So buy several at once! Those ancient pavers are hard on your feet, even with good walking shoes. The hotel can call taxis from just down the hill, and rides were reasonable the 2 times we used it. It was well worth it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Leeds,UK

Not a bad hotel

Posted May 16, 2006
This hotel is a about 3 miles north of Rome so is a little way from the main sights.However,it is very quiet and a peaceful haven from all the hustle and bustle of the centre.It is very easy to get to the centre,bus then tram.The rooms were very clean and the staff helpful.They were very informative and produced a map and helpful guide to the transport system.The downside was that the restaurant was not open at night so we had the choice of staying out all day or trecking back and forth.All in all though,a good choice of hotel for peace and quiet.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis, IN

budget minded ONLY

Posted Mar 25, 2006
As you may have read in other reviews, this hotel is not nearly as close to the main attractions as it claims. Just to get to Trevi Fountain you would have to take two buses and a tram. Trying to get to this hotel from the airport would be quite difficult. We hired a car and were very thankful because we met a couple there who spent 3 hours getting to the hotel. They were renovating while we were there and it could be a nice hotel but it really is dorm style. If your thinking this is a hotel with perks - you're mistaken. If you're thirsty plan on drinking tap water or bringing something with you when you turn in for the night. The staff was o.k. but not the most helpful I've experienced. Also, don't expect much at breakfast - we were looking forward to enjoying a nice breakfast but when we got down there (with 1-1/2hrs left to go before breakfast was over)you had your choice of croissant or croissant. There wasn't any milk left, hardly any juice, no meats and no cheese. Of course, you can ask the staff to get stuff for you but they will not voluntarily bring it out even if they see you. The couple we met had the staff bring out some meat and cheese and make a latte. This hotel wouldn't be bad if you are very very concerned about budget. I wish I would've spent more and stayed in a nicer hotel that is much closer to the city center. Again, it is not the easiest transportation system to work and it would be ideal to be much closer to the attractions
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Okay for a student or single person

Posted Mar 17, 2006
The hotel is too far north of all the main attractions in Rome and cabs will cost you no less than 15 euro each way which gets pricey. The staff is pretty nice and the rooms are clean. However, the beds were two twins which could not be moved together and the shower in the room was designed for a small child, I think! Honestly, my husband and I are not large, but the shower is too small for an average 150 lb adult to use. The breakfast area is cute, but the breakfast was not good and not very well maintained, they ran out if you got there after 8:30 AM. If you are single and don't mind dorm style rooming, it's okay. The lifts are small, but there are two, however, the lifts were a bit scary. I would not stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Rodolfo from Baldwin, New York

Restful & professional

Posted Mar 1, 2006
Villa Maria Regina is a lovely, quiet locale surrounded by pines and greenery. Its professional, multi-lingual staff is always attentive to your every request and go the extra "mile" when asked. Although situated a few miles from St. Peter's, it is very easy to navigate from the Hotel to the heart of Rome given the efficient public transportation of the Eternal city and the convenience of a bus stop(Line 911) directly across from the Hotel. Nearby attractions include an outdoor market place at Ponte Flavio(Line 911 will take you there), a connecting point to many other Bus lines, several fine restaurants, trattorias, caf├ęs, shops and bakeries.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Granbury, TX

Peaceful Hotel in a Wild City!

Posted Dec 14, 2005
The hotel was very nice and since we did not speak English, all the staff were very accomodating. Our room was spacious and the bed was very comfortable. Plenty of hot water in the bathroom. A continental breakfast was served every morning in the dining room. Once we walked through the villa gates, all the outside noise and craziness would disappear to the peacefullnes of the surroundings.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Gray,Tn

Convenient hotel for getting around Rome.

Posted Oct 22, 2005
This hotel is on the bus line, and very easy to get around to the attractions of Rome. The on-line ad stated-- Bathrobes, hairdryers in each room. Our room had neither. The staff was friendly and helpful. If we are ever in Rome again, we would probably stay there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Leon from near San Francisco, CA

economical, comfortable and away from it all

Posted Aug 17, 2005
It takes at least one bus transfer to get to this hotel, but the transfer point at the Milvio Bridge is a wonderful place to visit in itself. Rome is a busy place--one of the busiest places in the world--in many wonderful ways. It is great to have a hotel available that is distant from the hustle and bustle of this magnificent city, and a hotel that is inexpensive to boot. Many people will not like having a hotel so far away from the center of the city, but those who wish to save a penny, and those who wish to get a flavor of life in Rome aboard the local busses, which is so much a part of the city ambience, will find this hotel a pleasant place and a restful serene experience. Take a taxi from the airport to the hotel and back, if you have a lot of luggage. Most of the major sights in Rome are accesbile from the Metro subway--Ottaviano station-- which is easy to get to from the hotel via the bus. The hotel is no frills, about the same as staying in a college residence, and clean. It has an expensive restaurant (actually, average price in a city that is very expensive to begin with) and the breakfasts are convenient and satisfying.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Beautiful grounds, but very thin walls.

Posted Apr 21, 2005
The doors to the hotel are very loud and the walls are very thin- when they bang late at night because someone is coming up or going down the stairs, it woke me up more than once. However the hotel staff began pegging the doors on my 3rd night stay, which helped prevent the banging.