Ratings based on 40 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Peter Pinto from Florida, USA

Posted Oct 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
hotel degenerated since it changed ownership. will go to another hotel next time
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UNITED ARAB EMIRATES

HOTEL IDEA/CASCINE PALACE

Posted Apr 7, 2011 on Hotels.com
IT IS QUITE CONFUSING THE HOTEL NAME, ONLINE IS IDEA BUT IN FACT HIS NAME IS STILL CASCINE PALACE, TAXI GET DISORIENTED. QUITE FAR FROM SHOPPING AREA, BUT NICE GREEN AROUND
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Australia

Very modern, clean and neat.

Posted Jan 18, 2011
What an amaziing and affordable hotel! We really loved it there. The only downside is that its considered to be outside Rome Central, so getting transport to and from the hotel is a bit of a mission. Also, its great if you just want a bed for the night, but not great as a holiday location as there is nothing to do around the area (it's like a business district). Hotel was afforable and full buffet breakfast was included which made it worth while. Definitely recommended!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york, usa

never stay there. filthy hotel in remote area.

Posted Apr 15, 2010
hotel is located almost 30 minutes walk from rabibia train station. i called couple of times customer service to ask for bus service from train station, but they did not give me any answer. customer service people were rude and unprofessional. our room fridge was not working, bathroom drain was clogged, i called customer service couple of times but they never fixed problem. i advise never stay in this hotel. there is no eating place around there. surroundings look dangerous. hotel was not clean at all. but i loved ladies who work in kitchen. they were really nice and charming.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 14, 2009 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dubai, UAE

Dissappointed

Posted Aug 26, 2009
We were extremely dissappointed with this Hotel especially the person at the Reception. We were a group of 8 Adults and 4 Kids and reached a bit late in the evening (almost around 1:00 in the morning) after a long drive from Venice. On reaching, the person at the Reception insisted us to show all our passports before he could allocate any room. Since our passports were secured in our bag, we requested him to allocate our rooms so that we could settle down and then within 30 min we can show him all the passports. This person showed no flexibilty despite the fact that we were completely exhausted including our kids. He was very impolite and rude in his talking. We finally ended opening up our bags on the road to give him all the passports. On further discussion he even threatened us of calling the Police and he actually did, when we also insisted on the same. The Police however did not turn up. The person even had no courtesy to tell us about the lifts available from Basement using which we could get our luggage into the Hotel. Our rooms were small with bare minimum furniture of poor quality. In the morning when we came down for Breakfast, we were told that the Omlette was finished for the day - though the Breakfast time was still on and people were still coming in for Breakfast. Only after insisting, again, the staff topped up the Breakfast items. Overall - not a good experience and thus would not personally recommend this hotel to anyone.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Meh

Posted Aug 20, 2009
I wouldn't recommend this hotel at at all. Although the breakfast selection was great and the staff was relatively courteous and helpful there were a lot of negatives. I didn't mind having to commute into the city center by bus and subway however I had a problem with several other aspects of my stay there. The area where the hotel is was somewhat seedy, the air conditioning didn't really work (or work properly anyway) despite the fact that it was 35C most of the days I was there and there was no iron in the rooms. Also, the bathtub consists of just one hose, with no shower curtains. The walls were extremely dirty/stained as well. The breakfast was good but as stated, you're on your own for lunch and supper and the "convenient restaurants" in the area aren't plentiful. There was only two within reasonable walking distance which were essentially mom and pop style places. All in all, my stay was pretty inexpensive so I guess you get what you pay for.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Not a great location, but nice staff and breakfast

Posted Jul 10, 2009 on Hotels.com
Had some fears about this hotel after reading some of the reviews, but I had already booked it and took a chance. The neighborhood it's in is a bit shady but the hotel is nice and seemed pretty secure. Bed and bathroom were clean and big enough. Armoire door was broken and taped together, and the wall in front of the bed was banged up from luggage. Hotel staff was very friendly. Not sure about the review mentioning rude staff, but this was not the case during our visit. The lady in charge of breakfast even sang italian as she hurried around helping everyone. Breakfast was good, particularly since it was included in the rate. The main issue with this hotel is location. We wrote specific instructions to share in this review and hopefully it will help others out. You basically take the subway to the end of the line then have to catch a bus for another 10 minutes. It takes 30-60 minutes to get to the city center from the hotel with walking, waiting, and transferring between the bus and subway. Here are the instructions (don't get scared with the length, we tried to be really detailed): From Rome's main train station (Roma Termini), follow the signs to the Metro. Take metro line B towards Rebbibia. Stay on the train until Rebbibia (which is the last stop). Exit Rebbibia station and go outside. There is a stairwell on your left about 10 feet after you walk outside. Go up the stairwell and then turn left. You'll be looking at a small street/plaza area. Walk to the small brick wall (about waist high) and follow it for a few yards. Walk down the narrow staircase and look straight ahead. You'll see an area where buses line up but that isn't your bus! Walk straight until you see the yellow bus sign for #311. Bus 311 will stop at the sign and may or may not keep driving immediately. Sometimes the bus driver goes on break for 10-15 minutes before coninuing the route. Tell the bus driver that you want to go to Casina Palace because you can't see it from the road and you need to get out before then. The stop is called Galbani but I think there is more than one 'Galbani', so make sure to tell the driver Casina Palace. When you get out of the bus, walk down the street on your right (where the bus turns after it lets you off) until the first stoplight, cross the street, and continue straight for less than a block and you'll see the hotel on your left. There is a really good restaurant called Pizza and Beer at the corner with the stoplight. The food quality is way better than the name and the english translations on the menu are hilarious. Very good service and reasonable prices. Note that dinner service doesn't start until 7:30 PM.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Parking

Posted Jun 22, 2009 on Hotels.com
You have to pay for parking inside the hotel, although there is an open parking lot in front of the building.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Horrible!!!

Posted May 30, 2009 on Hotels.com
Seriously, you'd be better off in a hostel :-\ This place is far away from everything, the bus station is NOT near, and the neighborhood is disgusting. The AC in our room wasn't working and we've asked 2 times at the front desk for it to be fixed... it never got fixed. The room looked dirty - stains on the walls and floors. The breakfast was bad also. Overall - you'd be better of in a hostel! Seriously.