Ratings based on 426 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from redondo beach

Very nice hotel next to the Roman Forum.

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Pros: The cleanliness, comfort, charm, and location.
Location: Mouth of Truth, Roman Forum, Colosseum, Tiber River and the shops and restaurants along the river, Jewish Ghetto
The hotel is located very close to the Roman Forum, Colosseum and a few steps from the Mouth of Truth. We enjoyed and appreciated the inclusive breakfast. The servers were extremely friendly and help make fresh late and cappucinos for us, upon request. Our room looked out to the ruins so that was a nice treat. We are a family of 4 and were quite comfortable here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Birkan from London

Nice hotel close colosseum

Posted Jun 24, 2014
It is very well located, close to colosseum and old city. also very clean and staff was very helpful.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cool and crisp

Posted Jun 18, 2014
Pros: high standards
Cons: a bit more personal touch. When I asked for a recommendation for dinner was sent to an obvious tourist spot.. disappointed, a bit offended
Location: center of a historic position of the city close to Traverstare
Clean, well positioned hotel, lovely large room.. staff professional and cooperative. Breakfast good and plentiful...ambiance a bit cold
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by john riley from bristol

Nice central position

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Great friendly staff and nice but quite expensive restaurant. About 10 mins walk to the collapse I and the forum.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by LawyerTraveller from Nova Scotia, Canada

Last minute night in Rome

Posted Jun 11, 2014
Pros: Location, atmosphere, bar, breakfast buffet, clean, efficient.
Cons: Everything was fine for our single night stay.
Location: Near the Roman ruins but also close to the Tiber so you can easily walk to Trastevere, Campo Fiore, etc, really anywhere you would want to see.
Due to cancelled flights and re-routing our original plan to get to Florence had to change so we used Expedia to find a room for a single night upon our arrival in Rome from Canada. We booked the Kolbe based on Expedia reviewers and it was wonderful. It benefits from a quiet location, gracious staff and comfortable modern decor. There is an exceptional breakfast buffet with virtually anything you might want in the morning (even for North Americans!). The location was good, we walked at night to Trastavere for dinner, and back. We had a lovely room, which had no outside windows but was perched up in the middle of the building, on its own, with a small balcony, and easy access to the lobby, breakfast area and bar. There is a beautiful outside terrace for having a drink, or breakfast, and we took advantage of the gracious offer of a welcome glass of prosecco in the bar. It made us wish we had more than one night, and when we returned to Rome at the end of our trip we thought about changing our booking but had already invested in another location that could not be cancelled. The hotel rate was also a good value, particularly for a last minute booking. We would definitely return to the Kolbe on our next trip to Rome.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

central hotel

Posted Jun 8, 2014
Pros: The ambience...in an old convent THE STAFF!
Location: Right in between the Forum, the Palatine and the Circus Maximus, but so quiet and secluded
Lovely hotel, clean comfortable, excellent location. Good breakfast, really nice staff. When we totally overslept and missed breakfast, they got us some. When we drank all their hot chocolate [Romans don't drink hot chocolate in the summer], they went out at night and got us some more! How can you beat that??!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Leticia. from Curitiba, Brazil

Amazing Stay.

Posted Jun 3, 2014
Pros: The Giardino and its location.
Cons: The electric system fails a lot and they might put some sunny beds on the grass. The airconditioning needs to improve also, we could not adjust it.
Location: There is an amazing "pasticceria" SANTEO on the corner towards Circo Massimo, and also a nice Restaurant called Alvaro Damico.
Very well located - close to circo massimo and behind the forum - but far from metro and bus station. If you are found of walking, the hotel is perfect. our roo was the last one facing an amazing "Giardino". The breakfast was ok, room cleaness good. Confortable, nice envirolment. The busboy called Giovanni was always reday to help.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jane from g

Fantastic short break

Posted Jun 1, 2014
Hotel was unbelievable breakfast great evening meal great
2 out of 5
by Petescorpio from Bedfordshire

Does not deliver 4 stars

Posted May 28, 2014
Pros: Nice garden area
Cons: See comments under experience
Location: Location is OK, 15 mins walk to Coloseum and 45 mins to Vatican. Not much in way of restaurants close by and road is cobbled so not good for some.
Stayed for 4 nights May 2014. Air con operated by reception, Spa bath not working correctly, no tea replacements after 1st day, no toiletry replacements after 1st day, no biscuit/chocolate replacements after 1st day. No instructions for any electrical equipment in room. TV only had about 6 very poor italian channels and BBC world plus CNN. No entertainment, film or sport channels in english or any other language nor even subtitles. Breakfast had continental and cooked but cooked was generally warm to cold. Only crumbly white bread and no other choice, fruit juice watered down or poor quality, fruit salad looked old and unappetising. Over priced for the service and facilities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very close to all the main attractions

Posted May 2, 2014
Highly recommend this hotel. Good sized rooms and good facility's