Ratings based on 60 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Excellent location

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Pros: Value for your money - the nightly charge is very reasonable, especially given the location.
Cons: The B&B rooms are very dated and need to be updated.
Location: Lots to do and close to transit options - bus, subway.
Located within a 5 minute walk to the Vatican and the Vatican museums. Lots of great restaurants and shopping near by. The breakfast has a lot of variety and views to the Vatican are spectacular.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel, excellent location

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: Customer Services.... they should be more friendly and accountable to tourists. They look sometimes aggressives and low commited with the customers.
Location: visit to San Angelo, San Peters, take a city tour bus, main restaurants...etc..
Nice Hotel, perfectly located close to Plaza San Pedro... Something was a bit wierd, because when we arrieved to Hotel's Lobby it would like as we had viewed at webpage, but sudendly, the bellboy guided us to "outside" of the hotel to other building and .... Maison Royale didnt exist.... But, we went to beside building and everything was perfectly good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Seb from Birmingham

Nice b&b close to Vatican

Posted Jun 26, 2014
We stayed here for 4 nights. The best thing was the breakfast at the 4* star hotel next door. You have amazing food with one of the best panoramic views of Rome. The staff there are really friendly. To clarify the b&b is located in a building next to the 4star hotel. The staff there take care of the place. You don't have wifi in you room. Only in the hotel reception and restaurant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Air conditioning
Location: All historic Rome sites are so close. Safe walking location.
We would stay here again. Air conditioning, needs work. Great breakfast with a great view!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 8, 2014
It was below average. Not worth the price. Horrible beds.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by foxy from Suffolk UK

Vatican View

Posted Mar 26, 2014
Pros: The view from the dining room and roof garden in the adjacent Hotel Atlanta Star of St. Peter's was spectacular , where we had breakfast .
Cons: Brighter lighting, as the room was rather dark and bathroom looked a bit tired and in need of decoration.
Location: Ideally located 10 minutes walk from the Vatican and Castel Saint Angelo and an easy bus ride from the main station in Rome (No. 40).
Having been given tickets to see the Italy v England rugby match for Christmas and not having been to Italy or Rome before, we had to take a chance and pick a hotel from reviews, location and cost off the internet. Boy did we strike lucky! Although La Maison Royale is actually an annex to the Atlanta Star hotel, you only slept in the room and all the other facilities of the hotel were available. The only drawback was that it is on a noisy road, but I guess most hotels in a city centre get traffic noise and it is pot luck as to whether you get a room overlooking the road or the back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by FB from Colchester, UK

Great view of the Vatican for breakfast!

Posted Feb 23, 2014
Pros: Good buffet breakfast.
Cons: Some of the facilities in the room were out of order.
Location: 5 minute walk from Vatican City. Nearest Metro stop also a 5 minute walk. Convenient to cross the river to all of the major sights.
Good location and comfortable room for a family of four. Nice traditional building next door to the main hotel. Hotel staff very friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Andreas

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by family guy from copenhagen

Good value and location"

Posted Feb 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Planned to stay here 4 nights, and ended up staying 6 and using it as a base for day trips. Convenient for a family of four, with two separate rooms and sliding doors that allow you to avoid disturbing each other. Not much space in room other than to sleep. The breakfast each morning was good and the view from the dining room was great.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 2, 2014
Pros: Great breakfast buffet with bacon, eggs, tea, coffee, fresh juice, and pastries with a wonderful view of St. Peter's!
Location: 5 min. walk from Vatican City and St. Peter's Sq. and easy access to bridges across the river for a 20-30 min walk to Central Rome Colosseum and Forum
When I arrived at the address listed for La Maison Royale I was a little confused since the name on the outside was Hotel Atlante. However, I called the number listed and was informed to check in at hotel Atlante. From there I was shown my room in a building 2 blocks down the street where the affiliate B&B La Maison Royale is located. The facilities here were adequate although a bit of a disappointment as I had been expecting a more traditional hotel atmosphere- no front desk or hotel staff present in these quarters just a series of rooms. I felt more comfortable when I began to see my neighboring guests in the B&B coming and going some people with families and small children. Also no internet in the room, internet was available at the main hotel in the Lobby. Also, I had booked a double bed which turned out to be two twin beds pushed together (seems to be pretty standard for many European hotels that offer double rooms) but they kept rolling apart which made it a bit difficult for two persons to comfortably sleep but we managed. The breakfast buffet however was served at the main hotel restaurant with an amazing view of St. Peter's Basilica which was very nice, lovely atmosphere. Overall, the staff were very helpful in answering any questions and calling taxis when needed. It was perfect price and accommodation for anyone just looking for a place to rest there head at night and start their day with a hearty breakfast before going out to explore Rome.