Ratings based on 347 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Nice Hotel with relaxing pool area.

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Pros: It's a relaxing type of hotel with excellent pool and sun lounger area with a pool bar which supplied basic but good food and drink.
Cons: Not much really our only complaint on arriving was that they had put us in a smoking area but they quickly moved us. Free Wifi would have been nice.
Location: Poor location if you are looking for something to do nothing near by it's really the hotel or nothing.
Really nice hotel in a quiet area about 20 minute drive from Vatican City. The hotel is situated in a quiet area with virtually nothing near by which was a bit disappointing as you couldn't go for a walk to anywhere so you really are dependent on the hotel facilities. The hotel coach was excellent and very reliable and run constantly during the day and was only €3 for a round trip with the last bus home being 22.15 which was ideal for a night out in Rome.
3 out of 5
by helen from Truro,Cornwall

Too far from the centre of Rome

Posted Jun 1, 2014
Pros: Room,staff
Cons: Free wifi Somewhere nice to sit in grounds Better food in restaurant
Location: Nothing to do nearby.No restaurants or cafés.Poor pavements to walk on.Not close to transportation
Staff were pleasant although there weren't enough on the reception and often had to wait to be seen. The room was spacious and clean but electrics were dodgy....fused the lights every time we boiled the kettle. Wifi was slow and wasn't free Breakfast was ok Pool was closed. Nothing around hotel and 30 mins drive to centre of Rome Good shuttle to and from town and we were given free tickets for this.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by suzanne from Hoboken,NJ

Good if travelling with car.Bus provided.

Posted Apr 24, 2014
Pros: Quite good location although with traffic could take a good 45 mins into main bus terminal(walking distance to Vatican City) Very clean and "new".
Location: Nothing close to hotel but lots to do in Rome of course!
We were travelling with a car so wanted a hotel outside the center of Rome where we could leave our car and use public transport.The hotel provided a bus(not free) into the center.Nice modern hotel but not close to anything in the area-no shops or restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 27, 2013
3 out of 5
by Me from Houston, TX

mediocre hotel far from center of city

Posted Oct 22, 2013
Cons: At least increase the frequency of the shuttle service to the city center.
Location: The hotel is in a residential area and there is nothing near by or in walking distance.
The wall paper was pealing from the walls. The first night all the lights went off in the room. Had to call twice to get someone to come up and reset them. The next night the TV malfunctioned. Once again had to call twice to get someone to fix it. Internet access is 3 Euro (about 4 U.S. dollars) for half and hour or 12 Euro for 24. Removed "Do Not Disturb" sign from the door and left the room. 10 hours later, on return, the room had not been cleaned. The Hotel was far from the center of the city. In order to get to city center the hotel offered a shuttle bus for 3 euro round trip or you could take two buses and a train if you choose to use public transportation.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice but too far away

Posted Oct 22, 2013
Pros: The rooms were ample and the breakfast excellent
Cons: The bathrooms have to consider that senior citizens cannot raise their legs to such a height. There were no safety bars in the wall to help you get .
Unbelievably the height of the tub was almost 23 inches which made it almost impossible to use the shower since I am a senior citizen
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2014 by Francesco Marzola, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for your review. We are very happy to read that you appreciated the size of the rooms and the excellence of our buffet breakfast. Unfortunately, it seems that the bathrooms features didn't math your expectations, and we're sorry for that.We just want to make clear that the bath tube is treated with anti slip procedures in order to make the use safe and comfortable. We hope to see you again in Rome. Best Regards Francesco Marzola Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from usa

Good hotel but not conveniently located

Posted Oct 17, 2013
Melia is a great hotel. Staff was great. There is a guy that is always offering to carry your stuff. He has a great attitude and every time we would go by he would greed us and say he was happy to see us. Wish I'd remember his name. The room was good except for room door that would always give a problem to close but it didn't bother us much so we didn't complain. Food is good at restaurant for dinner and breakfast but I would definitely encourage anyone to have meals towards center city. Way more delicious and cheaper. The down side of hotel-- We are from the US and definitely had to adjust to their culture of time. The hotel shuttle would never leave on time as the driver waits to see if more people will join. While there the 9:15 bus was also cancelled once due to traffic. So the bus is not reliable if u hv specific time to be somewhere. Another down side of hotel is that is far from major sights so we had to rely on taxi rides which to me are not cheap and lot of taxi driver are malicious when it comes to price so do not ride one if meter is not on. We asked a taxi driver to take us back to the hotel n he said it would cost about 45. I told him that we never paid more then 25 so he seemed to be angry n waived us out of his way. In general, I was disappointed w my experience w Italian waiters. They knew we were Americans n expected big tips. One guy at a restaurant on campo de fiori even came back to us and gave us a hard time for not tipping more.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not Recommended

Posted Oct 7, 2013
Chargeable Internet! Come on, it's a very bad way to squeeze more money from visitors!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by VG from London

Good service :)

Posted Sep 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
Good stay for 2 nights. It was our wedding anniversary and I requested the staff for special gift for hubby and they arranged it well. Food at the hotel restaurant was just ok....they could do better. Breakfast is good. What was disappointing was that the swimming pool was closed during our stay- I had booked this hotel mainly for their pool facility :(
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Alan from New Jersey

Think twice before staying here

Posted Sep 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
First of all, unless you are caucasian, DO NOT plan on staying at this hotel. My brother and I had separate bookings through hotels.com, and when we get there, they managed to put me and my brother in one room and our wives in another room. All the names were misspelled on the folio. All the information is passed on to them from hotels.com. The safe was locked when I checked and wasn't fixed for the first 2 of my 4 day stay and had to lug around all of my stuff around Rome. After 5-6 requests, and a screaming session in the lobby on the 3rd day it was finally addressed. Now on to the plumbing, it didn’t work for the first two days and they kept telling me that a technician will be coming to look at it. On the third day, one of staff finally came and showed me how to take cover off the flushing mechanism, and push the levers to activate the flush. When I told him to leave the cover off since it wouldn’t work any other way, his response was, “We don’t want our customers to use the toilet this way.” Really. How else am I supposed to use it? It was finally fixed on the last night. There were numerous instances where we were completely ignored while waiting in line at the concierge and they would consistently address people behind us. I picked Melia because I have stayed at their other properties and have always had an excellent time, but this experience has seriously tainted any future business with Melia. There are a lot of other places where I can spend my hard earned money.