Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Charlotte NC, USA

B&B with limited facilities and sour staff

Posted Oct 16, 2014
Pros: - great location. 10 min walk from colosseum 15 min from Termini station, 5 minute from metro. Free wifi, clean room and bathroom, air conditioner
Cons: - more power outlets in each room. - more wifi routers/repeaters so there is a strong signal - mini refrigerator in each room - fan in bathroom
Location: everything within walking distance. 10 from Colosseum, 15 from Termini station, 5 from metro. museum, pantheon, trevi fountain, spanish steps
The good:- great location. 10 minute walk from the colosseum. 15 minute walk from Termini station, 5 minute walk from metro. Excellent local small restaurants within walking distance. - clean rooms and bathroom. - free wifi. - air conditioner in the room. The bad: - No mini refrigerator in the room even though ours had the perfect space for it. One common refrigerator in the "lobby". - no power outlets except for one in the corner. - the wifi signal was weak. In a 4 story brick building you need to have more than 1 router. - the bathroom did not have a fan, so sharing the bathroom was tricky. - the sole staff (I think she is the owner) never smiled. She was hardly in the "office" and the only way to communicate with her was by writing down your requests on a notepad at the front desk. This is a B&B, not a hotel. It is an old home converted to a B&B. That was not clear when I booked the place. If all you want to do is stay close to the heart of the old city, and have a clean room to sleep in, then this is perfect. If you want room service, a friendly attentive staff, amenities like power outlets, fan in bathroom, mini-refrigerator, strong wifi signal, etc. then this is not the place for you.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by sablo from London

Amazing location, good price

Posted Jul 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
The location is great as it's near to the tube, an interesting area and easy to walk to lots of the sights. The hotel is fine for the money, although it is more like a guest house. The owner wasn't there when we arrived (5pm, so not late) so we had to call and wait 20 minutes for them to let us in - she had tried to call through to us earlier in the day but if the reception isn't manned during the day I think getting in touch with guests to arrange arrival further in advance should be something they consider.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler from Ct

Horrible accomodations never again

Posted Jun 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
Nobody there we had figure out how to get into the hotel and went next door to find out they had our keys; way overpriced
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Joe

Great location at a great price

Posted Jul 18, 2012 on Hotels.com
Stayed here in June 2012 for 4 nights. It was close to Termini, we were able to walk with our luggage no problem. We arrived early in the morning, and they let us check in early. We stayed in room #1, and it was plenty spacious (not sure if all rooms are this big). It had everything we wanted: A/C, private bathroom, and free wifi. We loved the location, it was super close the the Coloseum, but the neighborhood isn't super touristy. Lots of great restaurants nearby.
3 out of 5
by Dean from Germany

Monti House

Posted May 15, 2012
Pros: location is within walking distance to many sites
Cons: small and not very clean
Location: great
Room was so small, hotel not easy to find, cab driver dropped us off wrong end of st and we had to drag suit cases 15 mins down cobby stone and stairs. Door to hotel is not easy to find. Breakfast is drink and danish. Metro is just around the corner 5 min and the hotel will give you a map for free. This is not the same place as the house of Monti which the rooms are much nicer
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Seemakel from Manchester, United Kingdom

Perfect location

Posted Apr 11, 2011
The hotel is very well located for easy access to central and historic Rome. It is a very short walk to the Colosseum, Piazza Venezia, Pietro in Vincoli, San Clemente and many other attractions. In a few minutes you are at Cavour metro station, one stop away from Termini from where you can reach all of Rome by metro or bus. The area of Monti is a very attractive region of old Rome with many excellent cafes and restaurants frequented mainly by locals. At night we felt safe walking about the narrow streets. The rooms at the Monti are very small and would be a problem for people who are large in terms of height and girth. We are rather svelte and so were able to cope very well, especially since we had the mini suite on the top floor. It was mini, but the terrace gave us room to manoeuvre and was a pleasant place to take breakfast which was simple but adequate. Given the ideal location and the fact that we were only there for 4 nights Monti House was very suitable for our needs. People have complained about the lack of a lift and the narrow, steep stairs. Being fairly fit we did not find that a problem. We managed to cope with the *very* steep and narrow stairs that lead to the suite. We found the staff very welcoming and helpful. On our last day, when we were planning to leave our luggage at Termini so that we could finish off with some more exploring, the lady on the desk asked us if we wanted to leave our luggage at the hotel until we had to get the train.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montgomery, AL

Pay attention to reviews, people!

Posted Mar 3, 2010
I read the reviews and thought I could make this place work because I was getting the junior suite! Well, the staff that was there when we arrived spoke some English, but later that day (of course, when we NEEDED the assistance of the staff), the person there did not speak ONE word of English! With our situation, this was very inconvenient. The room was horribly located (though the hotel seemed fairly well located), truly small, the towels were glorified dish towel, and there were no such things as washcloths! The breakfast was served in the room, but not really good. This was our first stop on our two weeks in Italy. Thankfully, it was the only accommodation that was sub par. In a city of probably 1000 hotels, one could surely do better!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Monti House - Rome

Posted Dec 16, 2009
A pleasant, small hotel, conveniently located to mass transportation, and clean. Courteous Management. The continental breakfast was uninspired and the coffee served cold. Be prepared for steep, narrow stairways and smallish rooms, which is rather normal for this type of establishment in Rome.