Ratings based on 112 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Quebec

Great hotel but not staff!

Posted Jul 28, 2014
The hotel is nice but not so close as they claim to Vatican or metro . But the restaurant staff never served me while I waited at table at the bar even if I have them a sign they said one moment please and never served me after 35-45 minutes and this was not only once but twice... I left before I was served . Also I paid 75 Euros for late checkout for my fiancé while I was leaving earlier but she was forced to leave at noon despite telling them we had late check out to 3 different employees she finally received someone from management that asked her to check out at noon while her flight was at 10PM ... But I paid 75 Euros extras... Impossible to join them and no reply from them from my complaint .... So not a very good experience ...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Cons: Food service in the bar area was slow.
Nice hotel, friendly and helpful employees. Room was clean. The only complaint is that we checked in late afternoon and hadn't had lunch, the restaurant was closed and the food service in the bar area was very slow.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Austin, Texas

Not tourist friendly

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Pros: That it had a pool!
Cons: The False advertising.
Location: Vatican City was about a 2 mile walk which was okay. Things to do nearby was basically restaurants.
The carpet in the room was stained just about everywhere you looked. The front desk were not tourist friendly they came with an attitude. They had no tour information available no smiles. The only thing that came with the 4 star hotel advertisement was the $$$ other then that i rated the hotel as a 2 star hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Germany

Nice Hotel but far from all of the attractions

Posted Jul 2, 2014
The Hotel was very elegant and the staff was nice. However, the room was small for a four-star European Hotel. The fitness facility had no free weights, one working treadmill, and no sanitary wipes to clean up equipment. One of the concierges was not aware of the fitness facility times and informed us with 0900 opening time, when it was really open at 0700. In addition, the breakfast was delicious and overall a good experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

NH Villa Carpegna

Posted Jun 26, 2014
I was expecting a lot less. But the minute we came around the corner and saw the hotel, we were pleasantly surprised. It was on an oasis in urban Rome. The guy at the counter was happily explaining hiw to get around Rome to a new guest. We got to the room and the sheets were clean like they were pressed. Impressive that the room fit a king and a twin size bed with room to spare! The place is a 15 minute walk from the Vatican but the bus stop is a 5 minute walk away. Enjoy the scenery; be a local and blend in. Get a 4-day or weekly metro pass. If you can manage it, get a car. We brought our 10-year old and we never got a complaint about the walk. We would stay here again!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kim from Melbourne, Australia

Clean, close to Vatican City but not shopping area

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: Breakfast good selection. Room clean and quiet with operable soundproof windows.
Cons: Dinner in the premises turned out to be not as good as our expectations set by breakfast - mediocre - pasta too soft, over salted and hamburger burnt!
Location: The Vatican City was a doable 15 minutes walk.
Our preference however tended toward shopping (the Spanish Steps), visiting the other historical attractions (Colosseum) and eventually getting back to Roma Termini, which made the hotel too far out for our needs. I can however see why it is a convenient place for non-DIY tour groups.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Marshalls from Surrey, England

Good hotel offering the basics plus swimming pool

Posted Jun 13, 2014
Location: Close to the Vatican but still a taxi ride as entrance to the Vatican (other side of the wall) is on the opposite side.
Positives: - Good choice at breakfast - Friendly and helpful staff - Good bar food (Chicken Salad) - Good shower pressure and temperature - Comfortable beds - Free wifi, good speed - Order taxi's with an integrated system telling you exactly when they'll arrive (norm. 5 mins) - Lovely swimming pool with good life guard, towels and shaded loungers. Highlight of hotel as travelling with child. Negatives: - Bus is possible from the bottom of the hill in to town. Will need to buy a bus ticket from a shop first each day. Waiting in the heat wasn't fun, so we ended up spending a lot of money on taxi's. - It is possible to walk to Rome central but half the walk is dull and on busy roads until you cross the Tiber. - A shoe went missing from our room... probably taken with the towels but was never recovered. - Garbage area at the bottom of the entrance to the hotel was a bit smelly - Views from rooms are limited due to the location
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jen from Houston, TX

Nice and not that far

Posted May 21, 2014
Pros: Nice room, clean, pleasant staff. Proximity to transportation. Very good breakfast.
Cons: The pool was closed. It doesnt open until June, my husband and child were very dissapointed.
Location: Good location, several places to eat nearby, not much shopping only furniture stores in the area.
Stayed in Rome for 4 days. The hotel was a good base for visiting the city. I had read several reviews about the hotel being far from everything, but I was pleasantly surprised. Yes it is far but there is a bust stop 2 blocks down that goes everywhere and buses run regularly. So it was perfect.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Rob from Quebec

Good Value, but needs update

Posted May 4, 2014
Pros: Breakfast, common areas
Cons: Room needs updating
Location: Far from main attractions (30 minute walk to st peters), however the walk is not that bad and a lot of places to buy coffee or food on the way back.
Even though the hotel was far from the main attractions, we walked almost everyday to the center of town and back without much problem. It was a great value since it had a nice breakfast and reliable internet connection, however, the room could have been cleaner and in better condition. The common facilities were much nicer and enjoyable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Christine & Dav from Montreal, Quebec

Good location to get around Rome by bus & metro

Posted Apr 20, 2014
Pros: clean large bedrooms and modern bathrooms
Cons: shuttle service to airport
Location: supermarket and many restaurants close by
Modern hotel with large bathrooms. Very clean and friendly staff.