Ratings based on 43 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by Michael from Wollongong, Australia

Think carefully

Posted Jul 15, 2013
Pros: Leaving it
Cons: Fraudulent claims about comfort and convenience
Location: Good location
We booked this hotel based on the internet description. However, our disappointment began when we got out of the taxi. There was nothing obvious to suggest we were at the front door of a hotel. We eventually spied a tiny notice, used the intercom to be told to take the elevator to the 4th floor. From there we had to negotiate down a flight of steps to reception - all a bit odd really. We were then shown to our room. Well the disappointment really set in. The room contained a bed with little room either side (I estimate about 40 cm.) and not much more. There might have been a small writing desk but I don't recall anywhere to put luggage, or to hang clothes. There was a window with shutters closed. Upon opening them we realised why they were closed - the view was into a dingey lightwell with rubbish on the roof below; not an attractive sight. Our whole feeling was one of utter disappointment and dismay. This was not what we thought we'd get based on the Expedia website. And we couldn't see ourselves staying here for 2 days. We were offered an alternative room in another property well outside the old city. We declined. As well, we tried to connect to wifi. When we informed that we couldn't connect we were simply advised by a "techo" to "try again later". We left our bags and went walking to find another hotel in the vicinity. We found one that offered a small apartment just off Campo dei Fiori for some 30 euros less per night than the Governo Vecchio. So, punters beware!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2014 by Anna Maria, Hotel Management
Dear Mr Michael, Thank you for your comment. Governo Vecchio is not an Hotel but a b&b, we have different properties: -Navona Governo Vecchio- via del governo vecchio 118 -Antica Dimora De Michaelis - via de coronari 14 -Antica Dimora Dell'Orso - vicolo dell'orso 55 -Residenza Horti Lucullliani - via del corso 36 -Antica Dimora Contessa Arrivabene - viale tito livio 28 -Residenza Torre Paolina - via paolina 1 And a new Hotel opened few months ago Hotel "Antica Dimora Delle Cinque Lune" in via zanardelli 23 , just 1 block to piazza navona. The price particularly in high season could be higher due to a lot of requests. The room that you reserve was a standard double room with a view on the courtyard. We always said to our clients lo leave a comment if they would some particular request (e.g. view street), to satisfy them when it's possible. I suppose you catch a last minute offer from the other apartment. Hoping to welcome you again maybe with a special offer for you in our hotel "Antica Dimora Delle Cinque Lune" we wish you. Best Regards Il Burcardo Staff
2 out of 5
by Gerardo from Montevideo

THIS IS NOT A HOTEL !!!

Posted Jul 11, 2013
Pros: Nothing
Location: The neighborhood is very touristic.
It´s a family apartment with 3 or 4 rooms. When you check in, they give you the street door and room door key. After 9 pm there´s only you in the building (they´ll provide an emergency phone number). If you weight more than 200 pounds you CAN´ T HAVE A SHOWER. ( 1.5´ x 1.5´ ). The bed is incredibly noisy !!! This is my first painfull frustration in Expedia
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2014 by Anna Maria, Hotel Management
Dear Mr Gerardo, In fact, we are not an Hotel but a property of 6 B&B located in Rome city center and they are -"Navona Governo Vecchio" in via del governo vecchio 118 -"Antica Dimora De Michaelis" in via de coronari 14 -"Antica Dimora dell'Orso" in vicolo dell'orso 55 -"Residenza Horti Luculliani" in via del corso 36 -"Residenza Torre Paolina" in via paolina 1 -"Antica Dimora Contessa Arrivabene" in viale tito livio 28 and last but not least a new opend three star Hotel "Antica Dimora Delle Cinque lune" in via zanardelli 23 jus one block to piazza navona. In most cases the smallest bathroom was choosen by our designer to leave more spaces in the rooms. Simple imagine that most our rooms are 30-40 meters large. Hoping to welcome your again maybe in our Hotel, we wish you Best Regards Il Burcardo Staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Unique Experience in a Great Location

Posted Jul 1, 2013
Pros: proximity to food and main attractions, responsive staff, unique
Cons: fix the shower drain - it was too slow to empty
Location: Piazza Navona, the Vatican, shopping, gelato (Gelateria del Teatro was great)
You should know that this hotel is one of 5 B&Bs. We stayed in the Antica Dimora De Michaelis and loved it. You feel like you're staying in a old apartment building that happens to feel like a museum inside but somehow it's still quite cozy. The location is perfect and the street is quaint. We are no strangers to activity but we walked to Piazza Navona, Pantheon, the Trevi fountain, the Vatican and from the Spanish Steps. We visited all of the main attractions and only took a cab to the Colosseum. Breakfast was included and delivered promptly at the time requested: rolls, jam & butter, yogurt, coffee/tea & OJ. Unless you are very familiar with Rome streets, spring for the cab to get to the hotel from Termini. It's not easy to find for first time visitors. There is no reception area so you have to buzz the attendant on location and someone will come and let you in.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Tessa

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Deborah from Boston

First time in Rome

Posted Jun 18, 2013
Pros: We loved the location.
Cons: There's a club across the street that gets very loud late at night. The sleep sofa was very uncomfortable.
Location: Piazza Navona is a short walk away. The Pantheon is just a little further. Also, lots of restaurants nearby.
This hotel is perfectly situated for sightseeing in Rome! We were able to walk easily to many of the major sites. There are many excellent restaurants close by. The neighborhood feels very safe. The hotel serves breakfast in your room. Our room had one very small table which was impossible for the four of us to eat at (I was with my husband and our kids (19 and 22). The club across the street gets very loud late at night. The pull out sleep sofa is very uncomfortable..
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Good location and yummy breakfast

Posted Jun 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
Similarly to the prior review, we showed up at the main hotel location and was told our suite/booking was for another location located a 10 minute walk away. While we were waiting for someone to take us to that next location, the hostess/receptionist gave us water and gave us a map and chatted about questions we had. Unfortunately, the next location didn't have an elevator, so we lugged everything up 1 flight of stairs. A good surprise was that we were given an upgrade. Breakfast was filling and very good but the order was wrong and it was delivered 30 minutes late. Luckily, we didn't have an appointment at the Vatican or Borghese Museum that day. Because of that, we woke up early the following days and requested breakfast before we really wanted it. The room was cleaned every day, towels changed after 2 days and one day, the towels were even folded into swans. The location was great - close to a lot of great restaurants, transportation, and Piazza Navona and the Pantheon. Wifi code needed to be obtained each day. The only thing that would make this better was a better rate, since this was one of the more pricey hotels on our trip. However, we both enjoyed our stay and thought it was a great experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jody T

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Shelby from California

GREAT LOCATION!

Posted Jun 11, 2013
Pros: Location, Breakfast & Staff!
Cons: If they provided adaptors. I had email before arriving & was told they had them at the hotel but after we arrived, we were informed that they did not
Location: Steps from the Piazza Navona & the BEST Resturant (Cantina & Cucina)!
The staff was extremely helpful in helping us communicate with Alitalia Airline when they lost our luggage for 6 days! The room was small but VERY clean. Breakfast was delivered in our room each morning. It was filling & on time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jean from Texas

Very impressive service.

Posted May 28, 2013
Pros: Location is great. We walked everywhere.
Cons: Funky odor in room
Location: Very central to all touristy places
The staff of the hotel was wonderful. My niece who joined us separately, left her mobile phone in the cab that brought her to the B & B and the staff went out of their way to contact the cab company and get the phone back to her. We honestly never thought we would see the phone again, but sure enough we did! They also made sure to have a cab waiting for us at 4:30 am to take us back to the airport to return home. Very impressive. Our only complaint would be the funky smell in the room. Could never find the source and never get rid of the odor.
3 out of 5
by Fayemous

Nice location, not too comfortable

Posted May 17, 2013
Pros: The location
Cons: New bed
Location: Great location, in the middle of the Vatican and the Colosseum and restaurants nearby.
Great location and very friendly staff, but the bed was hard and the shower was tiny.