Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Grayson from Walsall, West Mids, UK

Excellent staff

Posted Mar 18, 2014
Pros: Pretty much everything
Cons: Not a lot.
Location: Quite a distance from the City Centre [which isn't a bad thing] We had taxis to ferry us around which was fine.
Very enjoyable 3 night stay. Staff were very friendly and helpful
3 out of 5
by Sam from UK

Nice hotel, but inconvenient location

Posted Feb 2, 2014
Pros: Well-maintained, reasonably large rooms, friendly staff
Cons: More frequent and free transport between the hotel and Rome would offset the inconvenient location
Location: As in the summary, the location is the biggest negative of this hotel
Whilst the hotel is a good one, the location is something that a visitor needs to factor in: without a car and dependent on other transport, we found it difficult to commute to and from the hotel. The La Rustica UIR station is around a 10 minute walk away with reasonably frequent trains to Rome, the station and the unpaved road from the hotel seemed to be a tad isolated. We didn't want to risk this walk late in the evening and had to fall back to the one shuttle (priced at EUR 3 per head) that would leave Rome at 8:30 PM.
Comment from
Jan 26, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and for all the information how to reach the hotel. Our shuttle bus is very convenient and is available from April to October. We hope to see again in the future and best regards. Ettore Cavallino General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Javier from Germany

Posted Jan 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Comment from
Jan 26, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review, we hope to see you again in the future. Best regards Ettore Cavallino General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by MOM from California

Out in the Weeds

Posted Nov 26, 2013
Pros: The staff, cleanliness, and the price.
Cons: Transportation into Rome, via a free hotel van, which ran on the half hour or hour would be nice.
Location: There is nothing to do near by. You must have your own transportation, private driver, or taxi.
I would recommend the hotel only if you are not planning to try to see Rome. The hotel is clean, modern, very nice staff and ok for the price. Breakfast was just so, so. Generally, offered cereal, yogurt, coffee machine, bread, pastries and a small variety of sliced meats and cheese. The rooms are modest, no frills, but still comfortable and fine if you are traveling for business. However, the hotel is way out of town, surrounded by weeds. It is not at all convenient if you are wanting to tour Rome. The traffic in and around Rome makes the task of getting into Rome for sightseeing very difficult. Generally allow yourself about a 30min to 1 hour drive, depending on traffic, to get into Rome. Next time, for convince sake, I will spend a little more money and book a hotel in Rome. Because in the end you will either pay the extra money for taxi's or spend a little more money on a hotel conveniently located in Rome.
Comment from
Jan 26, 2014
Deart Guest, Thank you for your comments, we would like to inform you that from april to october we have a convenient shuttle service from the hotel to the city center. Best regards Ettore Cavallino General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 31, 2013 on Hotels.com
We arrived very frazzled from a long flight and problems with a rental car. We arrived at the hotel at 1am and the night receptionist couldn't have been nicer!he was very helpful and the hotel is lovely-v clean,quiet and good value!
Comment from
Jan 10, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your review, my team and I are really grateful for your kind words of appreciation, which encourage us to keep up our efforts, ensuring the service we provide always meets your expectations. We hope to see you again in the future, best regards Ettore Cavallino GEneral Manager
3 out of 5
by Peter from Singapore

LACK OF AMENITIES IN ROOM

Posted Oct 11, 2013
Pros: Nothing worth mentioning
Cons: Guest amenities in the rooms must be drastically improved for the comfort of the guests.
Location: N.A.
There is a complete lack of proper amenities provided in the room. Cups provided are either thin fragile plastics or paper. No tea spoons are provided for convenience of guests. The hotel is sold under a 4-star status but in reality, the amenities are that of a 2 star hotel. This review applies to all European Novotel hotels that I stayed in Italy and France because the concept or mode of operandi is duplicated across the board.
Comment from
Jan 12, 2014
Dear Peter, thanks for your review. As you sure know Novotel has a commitment to a programm for the protection of the environment and tha's why we are using paper cups. I'm sure you care about it. Hope to meet you once again in Novotel Roma La Rustica
2 out of 5
by sue from UK

in the middle of nowhere!!!

Posted Oct 8, 2013
Pros: X-box downstairs for children to play for free free parking outside hotel staff were friendly rooms were clean
Cons: have tickets for train at all times!! bus shuttle should leave Rome later, eg 23:30
Location: hotel is located in an industrial estate with nothing to do nearby.
We arrived by car, which was lucky because when we wanted to get the train, we couldn't acquire train tickets as the hotel had run out(on a Friday) and the train station (La Rustica) does not sell them. The hotel has a shuttle bus that leaves at 18:30 and will pick you up again at 21:30 (3 hours to walk round Rome??? not going to happen) The bus driver spoke no English so he couldn't even tell us where he had dropped us off. The last train from Timini Station, central Rome to get back to the hotel leaves about 21:00 so that wasn't any use to us either. We ended up getting a cab which doubles their price after 23:00 so it cost us 60euros to get back to the hotel as well as the Hotels shuttle bus charge for each person one way. The hotel couldn't change up any money for us, as they had no Euros there...we thought a 4star hotel would offer this service?? Only one of us could get wi-fi as each person should get a different username and password, we found this out the following night.
Comment from
Jan 12, 2014
Dear Sue, thanks for the time spent in writing your review. The hotel buys train tickest to help guests but you can buy them directly on the train as La Rustica UIR train station does not sell them. I'm sorry but we are not allowed by the Italian laws to do any currency exchange operation. I hope you had a nice stay and I hope you will choose once more Novotel Roma La Rustica
3 out of 5
by Adriana from Australia

Hotel nice Good facilities.

Posted Sep 24, 2013
Pros: hotel facilities
Cons: Customer service, . More signs and lights to hotel. And shuttle bus should be no charge.
Location: Sadly nothing nothing nearby not even a coffee shop.
Lucky we had family who came to collect us otherwise it would have been an expensive 6 day stay in Rome. Hotel is in the middle of nowhere. Taxi cost a fortune to get back to the hotel. The hotel shuttle bus should be free due to the distance. 3 Euro city tax pp is also way too expensive.
Comment from
Jan 29, 2014
Dear Adriana, thanks for your time spent in writing your review. I'm sorry to read only about our position . I understood you found our hotel and I'm happy for that. Any way I hope you will reconsider to come back to Novotel Roma La Rustica
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

only stay if you´ve got a car,very bad comunicated

Posted Sep 12, 2013
Pros: games, pool
Cons: free transport to rome, more cleanness
Location: as I said before, very bad location
We had to rent a car because we read that it was very bad comunicated and so it did. The bus services should be free (for a family of four people is too much to spend 24 euros a day to go to Rome) and should have another timetables . The cleanness was very poor. We found behind the bed rubbish from another people. They only made the beds...no more . The sheets were torn and the smell not very well. If you have got children, there are games for them...but most of the times didn´t worked...and the pool was ok, but water was very cool. We didn´t have breakfast included and they charge us 200 euros in our credit card for this (as we didnt take breakfast because it was very expensive they gave our money back when we leave).
Comment from
Jan 22, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience We regret that the standards of service fell short of your expectations and we ask you to accept our most sincere apologies. We would like to reassure you we have already put in place the necessary measures to guarantee that the standard meets your expectations. We have notified you on your arrival that we would do a pre-authorization on your credit card covering eventually extras. We are ready to welcoming you again upon your next stay, trying then to regain your confidence.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by worlnav

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 10, 2013 on Hotels.com