Ratings based on 45 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Devon

Nice hotel, good value for money

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Pros: Transport links good to Rome Termini via bus and metro
Cons: The rooms are small but adaquate
Location: Not a lot in the area, garage, florist and resturant attached to hotel is good value for money.
Excellent breakfast, huge choice and delicious pastries. Bedrooms quite compact but clean and serviced daily. Bus stop for Nu 776 outside hotel which connects to metro at San Paulo Basicilica into rome termini, etc. resturant next door, reasonable price and speak English!! Took about 35-45 minutes to get into Colossiem, etc. Would recommend buying a Roma transport pass if stay here so can hop on and off buses, metro, tram as often as you like. Saves a lot of hassle buying tickets and also money if trying to see as much of Rome as possible in a limited time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Romsey

Hotel

Posted Oct 4, 2014
Pros: Staff very helpful. The adjacent restaurant very good for seafood
Location: Transport into the centre of Rome is easy however one has to recognise that it will take up to an hour on buses or metro.
A good base if you are happy to have be in a quieter area and dont want to sample the nightlife. Staff very friendly & helpful. The adjacent restaurant very good for seafood and all the usual Italian dishes of pasta & pizza and seemed to serve the local area and very busy on some nights with birthday parties for locals.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Prepare to travel

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: Rustic charm
Cons: Regular and advertised shuttle.
Location: Out of the way, limited options for eating and drinking.
We arrived past 2300 and reception was staffed. We were welcomed and checked in then shown to our room. We were able to buy some cans of beer which was welcomed after our journey. We chose the train to Ostience and metro to Basilica di s Paolo. The plan was bus to hotel. We ended up taking a taxi, who tried to take us on a round trip to up the meter. We protested and he agreed €20. The next day we skipped breakfast for a lie in. You need to buy tickets in advance for transport. €6 gets you daily travel throughout Rome. 766 bus to Basilica then metro to anywhere you choose. Hotel room was cramped, limited channels on sky box and no mini bar. Restuarant was ok, steak not cooked to request. Overall, pleasant, rustic hotel if you are good with navigating your way around a new city.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tonya from United States, South Carolina

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Close to Roma city center. Quint. Clean rooms. Authentic breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by chris from worcestershire uk

Good base...

Posted Jun 4, 2014
Pros: Very clean and the staff were very helpful.
Cons: Size of the beds, but saying that any bigger and it wouldn't of fitted in.
Location: A bit far out and you need a bus and metro to get to the sights. Nothing of note nearby. Adjoining restaurant was ok, nothing special.
The hotel served its purpose as a good base in which to see the sights of Rome. You have to rely on public transport which is a bus and metro into the center, unless you have your own transport. The room was small and no frills but again served its purpose. The breakfast was good and plenty of options but only continental. Coffee served was great. The staff at the hotel were very helpful and advised us how to best get around. All in all we had a good stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jon from USA

Out of the way, but loved it here

Posted Jun 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
If you have a car, this place is a great place to stay!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not so close to the city

Posted Apr 19, 2014
I got used to getting to the main city later on, but it would be definitely more comfortable to pay more and get a hotel closer to the city. Also, I really couldn't stay that weird smell of the room. Staffs were nice and welcoming but not all of them spoke english so well.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2014 by Cristina Giudice, Hotel Management
Dear Sir or Madame, first of all we would like to thank you for your review. It is very important for us to know the opinion of our guest to understand our faults, correct them and improve the quality of our services. As you can read on our website we, always, say that we are far from the centre of Rome 8 km but we are close to the underground and we have a bus stop at the exit of our hotel. We are sorry that you felt a strong smell in the room and I regret that it has not reported to the reception, we did everything to check it out and find a solution to his problem. Customer care is our mission, as you yourself noted by the compliments to the staff Best regards
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This hotel is only good for 1/2 nights at a push

Posted Oct 17, 2013
People are nice and there is a bus to the city but the hotel is old and needs doing up you can find better for ur money so look !
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 6, 2014 by Cristina Giudice, Hotel Management
Dear customer, first of all we would like to thank you for having reviewed our hotel. We are glad that you have enjoyed our staff and their friendliness. We are all projected to customer satisfaction and make your stay enjoyable. We are undertakind a redesign of our rooms and we hope that,during your next stay in Rome, we can show you the result of our work. Kindest regards M. Cristina Giudice
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 4, 2014
Dear customer, first of all we would like to thank you for having reviewed our hotel. We are glad that you have enjoyed our staff and their friendliness. We are all projected to customer satisfaction and make your stay enjoyable. We are undertakind a redesign of our rooms and we hope that,during your next stay in Rome, we can show you the result of our work. Kindest regards M. Cristina Giudice
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Italo/australian from Australia

Expensive for what you get

Posted Oct 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
Scrub the mould in the bath room and for gods sake give the rooms a paint job.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2014 by Cristina Giudice, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, First of all we would like to thank you for your review. We are very sorry that our hotel did not live up to his expectations. The corporate mission of Hotel Orto di Roma, despite its simplicity, is to offer hospitality made of human kindness. For this reason, we hope that the warmth and professionalism of our staff has left the memory of a pleasant experience despite the simplicity of the structure Kindest regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kim from calgary, canada

Leisure stay

Posted Sep 4, 2013
Pros: Staff are friendly. Room are small but clean (as standard in Europe) Bathroom has been re-modelled.
Location: nothing close by, except the decent restaurant where it share the main path to the hotel.
It is a bit far away from the tourist area. From Airport, take the coach bus (5 Euro) to Termini (30 minutes). Then take the metro B (1.5 Euro) to Basilica S Paulo (10 minutes). Transfer to Bus 766 to Via Di Grotta Perfetta / Calderon (20 minutes). Walk 200 meters and you are there. Bus 766 runs every 20 minutes. If you are going on the Cruise ship at Civitavecchia, take the 766 bus all the way to Staz, Trastevere. Buy the train ticket for around 9 Euro each. Overall, you save on the hotel fare but you need extra time to get to tourist attractions.