Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth, WA

Great location, nice rooms

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: The location was great and the room was made up when I returned each day with new towels and bed sheets
Cons: Maintenance could be carried out on a more regular basis, especially shower head replacement. The breakfast options could have accustomed more guests
Location: Very near to the 'Wedding Cake' and only short walks to the Colosseum/Roman Forum, Spanish Steps and many Piazza's, restaurants and gelateria's
I stayed in Pace Helvezia (pronouce like Apache Helicopter, without the 'A') for 4 nights recently and have no major complaints worth getting annoyed about. I was using it as a place to sleep and shower predominantly. The shower head was dirty and sprayed in random directions, the rest of the bathroom facilities were great. The TV was a very old 38cm CRT and the aerial had been repaired previously (probably by other guests) and by myself (which made it better) but still fuzzy, no biggie though, I used it once to watch Italian Simpsons (Millhouse's voice was hilarious). The bed was a little harder than I like, but I still slept. Extra pillows in the cupboard. The buffet breakfast was a little under par with no bread for toast except the little pocket loaf kind I guess, only orange juice, the croissants were the sweet kind (I don't understand that as a breakfast food). They asked and brought you a coffee though, rather than having a machine, which was good. I rate this hotel for it's location, 25 minute walk West from Roma Termini or 1 euro 50 cents for a 2hr bus ticket which stops around the corner on
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Hard bed with paper thin pillows. Shower had no pressure as the temperature was either booking hot or freezing cold no inbetween. The toilet main flush didn't work only the half flush and the toilet seat was chipped. The air conditioner originally didn't work either after calling reception only he air conditioner was fixed we were told to use the half flush button it was fine. The hotel itself was in a good location however the facilities were a let down
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth, Australia

Location, location, location

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: Central location
Cons: This must be the only hotel in the world without an iron/board - we were told it was a 'fire hazard'. Must be the Italian sense of humour!
Location: Centrally located - within 10 minutes walk of Termini, Trevi Fountain and Colosseum/Forum
For us this hotel was all about its central location - within easy walk of all the key sites, and transport hubs. For the location, and quoted price, we were not expecting a five star experience and, as a result, were not disappointed. The hotel itself generally feels like it could do with a renovation - everything works and is in its place, it just looks dated. We had 2 triple rooms - one on the 1st floor, the other on the 5th. The 5th floor was significantly better (for the same price) - it had a balcony, there was less street noise, and it had more natural daylight - would strongly recommend requesting a room on the upper floors. Breakfast is buffet style on the ground floor (not the roof top terrace as advertised) but perfectly adequate.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alice from Australia

Nice central location

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: Its centall position.
Cons: There was no sdjustment of the shower head
Location: Close ro nice little restaurants and ancient monuments
We stayed two nights with an interval of one day in between. The first night's sccommodation was excellent. However, the second time when we checked in the accommodation we were offered was a stuffy room with no windows in the attic of the sixth floor. Upn our complaint though we were offered a normal room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kevin from Sonora, California

A good hotel in an excellent location.

Posted Jun 17, 2014
The location is excellent and the roof top garden/patio has amazing views! The hotel staff at the desk were very helpful. The plumbing in the bathroom could use maintenance but was adequate. The air conditioner cooled the room very well but we had to put a waste basket under it to collect the dripping water. We were lucky to not face the front street which was loud. We would definitely stay here again.
3 out of 5
by Dmitry from London

Reasonable hotel in the very centre

Posted Jun 2, 2014
The location is great, the breakfast is fulfilling and tasty. Wi-fi is available for free, Hotel has seen better times. It is clean but needs renovation, and is more like good 3 stars than 4. Air conditioning works well and you better not open the window as the street is extremely noisy and busy, even late in the evening. On the bright site - everything is nearby. Forum and Vittorium are 5 min away, Colosseum - 15 min, St Peter - 30-35 min walk. Hotel has a roof terrace with beautiful view, so you may want to grab a bottle of wine and watch sunset.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Frances from Sydney

Lovely hotel between Trevi Fountain and the Forum

Posted Oct 13, 2013
Pros: The friendly staff, the comfortable room, the spacious lobby, the breakfast and the location!
Cons: I would prefer a bit more space in the shower and probably a fixed shower head but it wasn't really an issue.
Location: Easy walking distance to the Trevi Fountain, Roman Forum, Colosseum, many restaurants, shops, gelato bars and a hop-on, hop-off bus across the road
Booked this hotel as the last 2 nights of a 5 week holiday. My husband, son and I were pretty tired but this hotel sparked us up as soon as we saw it. The staff were very friendly and helpful and offered us information without waiting to be asked. The hotel itself was very nicely appointed and our room was very spacious with a good sized bathroom. We also had a cute little balcony which let in lots of air and light. The location was very good. Around 200m in one direction to the Trevi Fountain and also about 200m in the other direction to the Roman Forum. Also a pick up point directly across the road for a 'hop-on, hop-off bus'. Loads of restaurants and shops nearby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jan from Mill Creek, WA, USA

Best location!

Posted Dec 4, 2012
Pros: Location, view from the rooftop garden
Location: Perfect location! Exactly what I wanted.
What luck finding this hotel in the heart of historic Rome! The Coliseum a 10 minute walk in one direction, the Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain a 10 minute walk in the other direction. Very close to the public bus service with a 20 minute ride to The Vatican. The staff was very helpful and helped to secure transportation to Rome's main airport. We were lucky enough to find the rooftop patio with magnificent views in all directions and enjoyed sitting there as the afternoon sun went down and the lights of the city came on. What a wonderful experience!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Robin from Ohio, USA

Awesome Hotel

Posted Jun 24, 2012
Pros: The staff went above and beyond. They were very helpful and friendly.
Cons: Air conditioning was weak
Location: Great location, was in walking distance to most everything,
Our experience was wonderful! The staff was the best of the 4 hotels we stayed at in Europe this trip. The rooms are small but it feels like you are living like a local. The location is very good and the view from the roof top is breathtaking. The only draw back was the air conditioner was weak. Once we were on for the night to sleep we were fine. I HIGHLY recommend this hotel. The even upgraded our room the last 2 night st no charge. Ther dinner recommendations were fabulous. We ate at one of the best trattoria ever and we ate at a lot of them. Again great hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Pace Helvezia - A good hotel

Posted Jan 23, 2011
First when you travel to Europe you must understand that hotels in cities like Rome have no big rooms. So ensure to keep your expectations about the hotel reasonable - you are in this ancient city to visit ancient cultural sites, not lying around in the hotel pool. So first about the location: it is fantastic and I can not see any other hotel in a better location. It is like a hub to just about every major attractions in Rome. It is in walking distance to Colosseo, Forum, Trevi Fountain, Pantheon, Piazza Venezia, Trajan's Market, Piazza Quirinale and quite a few other ancient sites. It is also in equal distances to St. Peter's Basilica and many, many other attractions by short bus ride. The lift is tiny, but is enough for one man and two large suitcases; The room is reasonable with all the necessary amendities. TV? Why do you want to watch TV when visiting Rome? It is big enough for the weather channel. Laundry? Bring a few more spare clothes with you, otherwise you will pay a high price for laundry; Services: it is okay. Remember, this is Italy and do not expect people will rush to help you when they see you. In fact they will find you a porter if you ask. Otherwise help yourself. Breakfast: quite okay and it is included in the room price; Noise: yes, it is quite noisy, but again this is Rome. What do you expect? The room is quite enough after 11pm or 12 at mid-night; So overall rating: excellent.