Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Grace from Philippines

Nice hotel in Rome

Posted May 29, 2014
Pros: It is comfortable and located in a safe location, close to restaurants and the Metro Station. It is reasonable clean and the bed and bath ar quite OK.
Cons: The lighting ( I don't like dim lights), or perhaps because the other light near our bed didn't work but we forgot to tell the staff
Location: It is quite just several steps to the Metro train station. I was quite happy with that as we used the metro train a lot.
We arrived late as our flight arrived at night, around 7:30 pm, so we arrived at the hotel close to 10 pm. As the hotel was advised of our late arrival, we were gladly received. Pensione Paradise is located in a condo type building. It owns several units in the building which was converted into "hotel" units. It was good enough for us, budget travellers. The elevator was fascinating. But it fits only 3 people. As there were 5 of us, my daughter and I decided to tackle the stairs and let my husband, who had sore feet, and my sons, with our baggage to go into the elevator. The number was confusing but we found it quickly. The hotel was close to some eating places and we liked that because we didn't want to do any more walking. I was happy that the Metro train station was really close by, as we were nearing the last leg of our journey and we've been spending our vacation roaming the streets of the great cities of Europe. In other words, we're tired walking. So it was great that this hotel is close by the train station. The hotel staff were good, nice and friendly. When one is new to a place, it is like home when one finds staff that are friendly and helpful. The rooms were reasonable clean and comfortable. We were able to sleep soundly and peacefully. I did not hear any complaints from anyone in my family.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kit L from California

Great location!

Posted May 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
It's a building with many different businesses in it, 1 of which was a hotel service. The elevator was supper small, allowing for room for 2 passengers and light luggage only. The front desk girl was quick to point out that online listing services made mistakes in describing the occupancy as dual occupants, when in fact it's 1 bed, "European size" which is slightly smaller than a US full size, but bigger than a twin. The room itself was tiny. And fitted sheets would have been nice, being that flat sheets untuck, exposing the mattress. There was mildew in the showers, the bathroom smelled worse after their "cleaning" than before on account that they might just wipe things down with a wet dirty rag and mop with no cleaning solutions. And the toilet never worked properly; probably ancient piping. But there are definitely positive things to say about this hotel, especially for the price! LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION. If you are seeing Rome on a budget, we found this to be a great play to set up camp. We were 1 block away from the metro, which takes your EVERYWHERE in Rome. Also, there were unlimited eateries within walking distance of this hotel, which were priced quite reasonably, compared to the more touristy places. This hotel is also just walking distance to the Vatican, and many other major Roman attractions. In summary, if you just need a bed, a shower, and a place to put your clothes, give this hotel consideration!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Emi from Ireland

Close to Vatican City

Posted May 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel staff is very friendly n helpful. The room is clean and comfortable. Maybe our room is far from the reception, so the Internet connection failed. Overall the price is reasonable and we are satisfied with our stay here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ken & Sally from Vancouver, Canada

Reasonable Price for Rome

Posted Apr 19, 2014
Pros: Reasonable, clean, convenient location.
Cons: Access.
Location: See above.
Room was small but clean. Bed was firm but was comfortable. Access a bit confusing as it is in a multi-purpose building. Front door is locked and requires ringing appropriate bell for access. There are a few steps to the elevator. Building actually has a small courtyard and need to find the right elevator for access. Rooms are on the 3rd floor. Elevators are small - could probably accomodate 4 persons. Staff were friendly and helpful and spoke English. Bus and subway services located at front door. We chose to walk 20-25 minutes to the Vatican where we caught the hop-on hop-off bus services. We found good food and other services in the area. Double-pane windows did a good job of keeping noise from the street out.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Debbie from Isle of wight

Double booked

Posted Mar 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
When we arrived at the hotel we were double booked despite having booked in November. The receptionist was very helpful and did what he could to place us in a room however we had a lot of waiting around and missed dinner with friends that we haven't seen in many years. We were told we would have a discount for the confusion but when it came to paying the bill the receptionist on duty argued this and told us their would be no discount. That chap was very rude and told us that the first receptionist had no right to offer the discount. Not a nice way to end the trip.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel is nearby Vatican faraway everything else

Posted Dec 13, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by David

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
My two kids and I were in the hotel around midnight and out the next morning by 8am. The location was conveniently in the area of the Vatican which is where our tour group was meeting. The hotel was perfect for our needs -- a bed and a hot shower. We were able to shut the windows and shutters to cut the street noise and light. I would recommend this hotel if you are more interested in seeing Rome than hanging out in your hotel room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Cheap, close, clean

Posted Aug 26, 2013
Cons: Only because I feel I have to say something Id say it would the air conditioning. But a fan was provided without charge.
Great place to stay. 2 minutes from the metro then a 5 minute journey to the centre. 10 minute walk to the vatican. Staff were helpful and pleasant. Room was just a basic bed and bathroom but was exactly how it was described and all that was needed. Room was cleaned everyday. Couldn't rate it higher and unless you feel like going 5 star then this is the place to stay! 5/5
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nikerbopper from London

Not bad and great price.

Posted Aug 3, 2013
Pros: Close to Vatican. Extremely reasonable especially in high season.
Cons: Noisy street.
Location: Close to Vatican and a some Shopping
Pros: 1. Friendly and helpful staff. 2.Close to Vatican. 3. Very reasonable for anything in Rome in High Season, which makes this better than a hostel as you get private rooms. 4. Near some Shopping Streets. Cons: 1.Not in centre of Rome and restricted to the 23:30 Metro and the 00:00 Bus curfew. If you miss these, then you Must walk 'home' or take a taxi. 2. Stayed for 3 days. On day one and three, we were given toiletries and towels, but not on the second day though.