Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Manchester

A retro escape from the hustle and bustle

Posted Apr 10, 2007
This hotel may be old fashioned but we loved our week holiday here. The bed was huge and comfy, the sheets were crisp and the room and bathroom were spotlessly clean. True, the decor is odd, but we thought it was quirky, I've never had padded walls before and the blackout blinds ensured the best night sleep we've had in ages. The only downsides is that the carpet was old and grubby, but slippers were provided by the hotel, and to find such a large room, and a balcony at the price is very good in a city like Rome. The hotel is on the far side of the Borghese park, and we enjoyed our morning stroll into the main parts of Rome each day, and it was nice at night to escape the noise and the traffic. We would get a taxi back after eating out and it worked out well for us. The breakfasts are tasty and plentiful, we particularly appreciated the eggs and bacon as a pleasant change from cold meats and pastries. Other reviews have said that staff weren't friendly, but my luggage was lost by the airline for 5 days and they phoned up and enquired for me repeatedly, they might not be super smiley but they were always courteous and helpful. In all we enjoyed this hotel, its location and its quirky decor. We adored Rome and can't wait to return and we would be happy to stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Fife, Scotland

Hotel Polo, Rome

Posted Apr 4, 2007
Extremely pleasant small hotel in a quiet area of Rome adjacent to the Villa Borghese gardens, a short taxi ride from the main attractions of the city,(or if you're feeling fit you can walk down through the park). We had only one reservation... the shower and toilet compartment in our room was a bit too small to accommodate a full-size toilet, bidet sink and shower, (but we got used to it). All rooms may not be the same. The sheets were changed every day, the staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast was very pleasant, (particularly the coffee). We would be happy to stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Good value, poor location

Posted Mar 25, 2007
We stayed in this hotel because we needed to be in this area of town for business, and got a very good deal on it from Expedia. However, this is not where you would want to be for a leisure visit to Rome, unless you planned to spend your whole time at the Villa Borghese. The neighborhood is upscale and there is a train station a short walk away that links up (one stop) to the metro system (separate lines and systems), but it took about 30 to 45 minutes to walk to Piazza del Popolo. The room was small but clean, modern and comfortable, with no real frills (fully stocked refrigerator but no safe). The TV did not work at all, although we never complained about it. The bathroom was larger than many, with a stall shower but no tub, while the breakfast buffet was the best we have had during our 6 weeks (so far) in Italy: hot scrambled eggs and bacon, and a large selection of other items. We could not get the internet connection in the room to work, so they let us use the ancient and slow terminal in the lobby for free. Staff were reasonably helpful and friendly. We would recommend this hotel only if you do not mind being a bit removed from the major tourist attractions.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Jesse from NYC

Too far

Posted Dec 29, 2006
Hotel staff was ok...not overly pleasant (one man in particular. It was far from the main attractions, but the train station was up the block, once you get the hang of it (took us quite a while on day one, no one wanted to help us) but once you do, it is a piece of cake, get the week pass or the full day pass, well worth it! I agree with what everyone else says...but, probably would stay somehwere different if I went back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Bergen, NJ

nice place to stay

Posted Dec 6, 2006
overall it is worth 3-start prices it is charging. You will not find here luxorious accomodations, pool or a full-size bath. However, why would you: it is *** hotel. Friendly people, all speak english, clean room, clean bathroom, wireless internet included. I found it very easy to get to. 5-min walk from Euclid train station. e7 to get to Termini on taxi.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Ridgefield Park, NJ

Nice Surprise!

Posted Nov 25, 2006
Hotel was in a nice, quiet, residential section of Rome, away from the crowds. Easy access to local trains and Metro. Staff pleasant and helpful--room clean and bright. Full breakfast, a great way to start the day. Variety of restaurants in close proximity to hotel. Would definitely recommend this establishment.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from new york city

Not central but quiet and classy

Posted Nov 18, 2006
while slightly out of the way this elegant and discreetly run hotel is in a quiet and relaxed residential area which is one stop from the Flammia (Plazza Popolo) metro station. The hotel has small rooms which are fully furnished and a breakfats which will set you up nicely for several hours of sightseeing. It is a 15 to 20 minute walk from the Borgehese Museum and the zoo. And is run with superior distinction by a multi-lingual staff. You knw you are the right place when most of your fellow breakfast diners are Italian.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Lexington NC

Excellent area

Posted Sep 20, 2006
Not really 4 star but very nice .. quiet area The hotel is situated in a very nice residential neighborhood. In the same block is a great restaurant Angelica, a couple of small groceries. The Hertz rental is about 1 block.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Lodz, Poland

Remarkable deal

Posted Aug 22, 2006
First class hotel all the way. Only problem was late check-in time - 4 pm.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 21, 2006