Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Aberdeen

Loud, Rude & Not at all understanding.

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: Nothing. Terrible experience.
Cons: Needs new management. Extremely rude and unhelpful. Went from speaking near fluent english to faking he didn't understand us when we had a complaint
Location: Nothing to do. Middle of no where.
Upon arriving we were only shown ONE restaurant to have dinner, we later discovered the beautiful one from the website 'in a natural cave' was actually closed (without any discount to our stay or notice beforehand that certain facilities were out of use). However, this was not a major problem as we intended to eat in Rome most days anyway. It was however when we returned from Rome on Saturday night to a wedding party swamping the entire garden area of the hotel that the problems began. This party went on until after 2am in the morning with blasting music that you could hear as loud inside our room as outside at the party, as there was no sound proofing and we were located across from the gardens. For this the hotel offered us a meal (not at their nice expensive restaurant however, but at the cheap pizzeria next door). The best bit was, they only payed for the 6 euro pizzas and 2 euro bread, and left us to pay the 4 euro service charge and drinks/dessert. If that wasn't bad enough, the exact same thing happened again on the Sunday night to which we got no compensation. Their was also a dog from the property next door that came onto the grounds every morning at 5am and barked for 2 hours straight, to which the manager told us 'it is not my dog, so it is not my problem' in an extremely rude tone. Overall the manager was appalling in his behaviour and extremely sexist. The only success we had in discussions was when i (the male) spoke to him. DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel with rural surroundings

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: Location, staff
Cons: Room facilities and general hygiene. Availability of tea and coffee making facilities within the rooms. Other general activities for families
Location: This is one of the drawbacks as there are no activities taking place at the hotel or near by.
The overall hotel was very nice and surrounded with lovely country feeling. Staff were very helpful and friendly. The rooms' condition was good but facilities could be improved. The location is nice and away from the city, however car rental would be recommended.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

beautiful hotel and grounds

Posted May 25, 2014
Was a great place to stay out of the city, the hotel and manicured gardens were amazing. There were 2 weddings hosted there while we stayed (5nights). Fireworks at midnight woke me not my husband. great pizza place down the road. Bus trip in was an hour+ Or you could ride their "complimentary" shuttle in as well. There was a cost for that and the driver wasn't always punctual. It was a challenge charging the phone and computer since your room key was also the key to power the room. Things couldn't charge while away. Room was spacious, could have used a small bistro table. Loved listening to the birds sing.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

THE WORST EXPERIENCE AN AMERICAN CAN HAVE OVERSEAS

Posted May 23, 2014
Pros: NOTHING
Cons: EVERYTHING
Location: NOTHING
NO AIR CONDITION, NO WIFI IN THE ROOM, NO PAVED ROAD, BED AND PILLOWS HARD AS A ROCK, RESTAURANT SO EXPENSIVE BECAUSE THE DON'T HAVE ANYTHING CLOSE BY. NO A SINGLE MOVIE CHANNEL ON THE TV FOR THE AMERICAN CUSTOMER. IN OTHER WORDS WE HAVE BEEN IGNORE IN THAT PLACE. AND BEFORE I FORGET THEY CELEBRATE EVENTS SO CLOSEBY, THAT NOBODY CAN EVEN SLEEP. OVERALL THIS PLECE IS TERRIBLE AND THE ONLY THING THEY SAID ABOUT IT WHEN YOU COMPLAINT IS " I'M SO SORRY". WELL LET ME TELL YOU " THAT DOESN'T HELP AT ALL.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Almost perfect - but not quite

Posted May 23, 2014
Pros: The staff were very friendly and helpful. The building and d├ęcor were lovely. A lovely place to hold a wedding or function.
Cons: Noise in rooms and more light. Better food in the restaurant.
Location: For a quiet hotel away from all - this is perfect. But it takes an hour and 2 buses to the City so not ideal for sightseeing unless you have a car.
This is a beautiful hotel and the staff are excellent. The food in the restaurant is ok but could be better but service is good and they aim to please. The room was nice and clean but a bit dark and the one I was in was in a seperate block and I was kept awake by the neighbours, not that they were particularly noisy but there was just no sound proofing.
3 out of 5
by laura from England

Nice room outside of Rome

Posted May 11, 2014
The reception staff and room was lovely. Grounds were also stunning. Real let down in the restaurant. Poor service, over priced, bad breakfast. Staff were more focused on weddings than other guests. Shuttle to Rome was brilliant, as was shuttle to air port. Main issue was the poor restaurant staff, very slow service and was ignored a lot.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Caroline Hare from Leicester

Fantastic location

Posted May 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Quiet, beautiful gardens, easy shuttle bus service, helpful staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Erle from Sudbury, ON, Canada

Second visit

Posted Apr 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is the second time I stayed at the Relais Castrum Boccea and if I return to Rome I will stay there a 3rd time. I had already given a review last time I was stayed here so I will keep this one short. Very quiet location, awesome staff and I enjoyed the food and the wine. If you are flying in I would suggest contacting the hotel for a pick up, there is a charge however it is a lot cheaper than a taxi.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Erle Thomson from Canada

A great place to relax at the end of a long day!

Posted Mar 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
The Relais Castrum Boccea is an excellent hotel with friendly staff and even though it is located outside the city it does offer a shuttle service and is about a 30 minute drive depending on traffic. It is a great way to see and experience the quiet country side after a long day in the city, I stayed at the hotel during the tourist off-season so the staff offered to set up the shuttle service at my own time as it is normally set for a specific pick-up and drop-off schedule. My room was comfortable although the walls are a bit thin as you can hear the neighbours. I chose this hotel for the fact that it was outside of the city and because of the great reviews it received from others. If you are looking for the night life you can still choose this hotel but it will cost you on taxi fare as there is nothing near by. This hotel is meant for you to have a relaxing and quiet evening! I do plan on returning to the hotel in April 2014.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Rome Jan 13

Posted Jan 15, 2014 on Hotels.com