Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tytillo from Texas

Enchanting Villa and medieval retreat!

Posted Dec 25, 2013
Pros: The food was delicious. The gardens are lovely. The staff are patient and friendly. The room was cozy and lovely.
Cons: not sure
Location: You have to take a shuttle or cab into town, but there is a pizzeria and disco just down the road. There also seem to be other recreational activities
The fashionable thing to do is stay in the city of Rome, but if you want a little quiet and a true culinary treat, then I might recommend trying something outside the main. Especially if you've hit the big sites of Rome before, staying at the RC puts you in commuting distance if you want to visit during the day, but gives you the peace, quiet, and serenity of a country side inn. There is a shuttle into town for 10 Euro round trip/person. Or a cab ride will cost you about 30 Euro one way if you want to go for dinner. There is a little pizzeria and bar down the road from RC, but I would recommend giving the on location bar and restaurant a go first. The food is absolutely lovely and the staff friendly and accommodating. There are a variety of rooms. Some have thicker walls than others. However, they are quite comfortable and cozy with just a touch of whimsy to add the romantic element you're looking for.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Tuscany in Roma; best of both worlds.

Posted Oct 6, 2013
Pros: View, facilities
Cons: Changing the drop off time into the city to be earlier in the morning, around 8:00am
Location: Pizzeria up the road, Country store with butcher, wine and necessities about 1/2 mile up the road.
Living in a major city we were hoping to stay outside of Rome's city limits to experience Italy on a more intimate level, rather than the hustle and bustle of city life we are used to. Staying at Relais Castrum Boccea was exactly what we were looking for and were so pleased with our stay. It is the best of both the country side and being able to reach Rome in a short time. To start, he view is absolutely breathtaking. Set atop a hill in what feels the country side (30 minutes outside of Rome), we got the serenity we were looking for. We were able to watch both the sunrise and sunset on the beautiful hotel grounds. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Very delicious pizzeria up the road, less than a mile. Cute little shop to get meats, cheese and wine from a country store. Staying here gave us a more Italian experience than tourist museums and ancient ruins. My only advice would be if you are thinking of staying here, stay at least 3-4 nights. I suggest this because if you use the van to hitch a ride into the city, you only get ~7hours to explore the city. .By the time you arrive, ~1030 (due to traffic), it does not give you must time to leisurely walk around the city.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful, out-of-the-way, but good location

Posted Jul 13, 2013
The venue is beautiful. Our only major complaint was they had air conditioning problems.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Neil from Norwich, Norfolk, UK

Great location, brilliant accommodation

Posted Jul 12, 2013
Pros: Peaceful location
Beautiful location and top quality accommodation in a unique setting. The mini bus service into central Rome was reasonable and dropped us off right outside the Vatican City.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Pandora from Uk

Relaxing Relais

Posted Jun 2, 2013
Pros: Staff and appearance of the hotel
Cons: None
Location: Some distance from Rome but with the shuttle service no problem.
If you want to have a peaceful time away from a busy day in Rome, this is the perfect place to relax in peace. The staff are very friendly and really aim to make your stay comfortable. The daily shuttle, has friendly drivers, especially Luca, who navigate the treacherous streets of Roman traffic with skill, Italan style- an adventure all in itself. The food in the restaurant is really excellent and reasonably priced. They also offer an airport shuttle for a lot less than a taxi and at 10 euro a day, return trip, the daily shuttle to Rome is also reasonable. The grounds are all laid out like a castle and there are pretty fountains and some stunning views from the area used for weddings, which is accessible for anyone. The room was clean, spaceous and fully equipped, including satelite tv, decorated in a stylish and rustique Italian decor. All around, this was a good choice of hotel, especially travelling with children. We had a great time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Michele from Mission Viejo,CA

great for exploration out side Rome

Posted Apr 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
Loved the beautiful countryside, but it is difficult to find especially at night. The rooms were small but nicely decorated. Breakfast was above average and I would definitely stay there again to avoid the Rome congestion and traffic.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by PJ from Fremont, CA, USA

Wonderful experience

Posted Apr 7, 2013
Pros: Outdoor view at dawn. And that bottle of aged Brunello di Montalcino at the hotel ristorante in the evening served by 2 wonderful waitstaff.
Cons: The wall insulation is not good enough. You can constantly hear the conversation in the next room.
Location: Only 20 minutes drive to the heart of Rome and it is all scenic.
It was one of my best lodging experience. The hotel is situated on a hilltop overlooking a valley dotted with farmhouses here and there. Early in the morning, the valley was covered with thick fog and later when the fog was gone, the view was just picturesque. The staff are friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastico

Posted Apr 4, 2013
Pros: Peace and quiet and very friendly and accommodating staff.
Cons: None
Location: Set in rural countryside with beautiful vistas
Fantastic location with beautiful scenery. Staff attentive and friendly. Food good, restaurant staff very helpful. Can understand why this is an idyllic place for a wedding. A great oasis of calm only 30-40 minutes away from the City centre by the hotel shuttle.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Israel

A (too well?) hidden gem

Posted Apr 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
Location is about 35-55 minutes from the Center of Rome (depending on traffic and number of wrong turns you make. A GPS is highly recommended!). About 35-40 minutes to Fiumicino international airport. The address may not appear on your map or GPS. The hotel itself is built in a farm/old-castle style: A few separate buildings with plenty of corridors and stairways. No elevators, so if you carry bulky luggage you'll need to schlep it up and down yourself or ask for assistance. Minibar and hair-drier available in rooms. No ironing board. Free passwords for Wifi available at front desk and accessible in guest rooms. Cellular coverage is poor. Rooms: We were first given a large room with no windows! The following day they have moved us to a smaller room with a better view. Rooms are nicely decorated in "medieval" style. Food: Continental breakfast and fresh cappuccino are served. The local restaurant offers dinner at relatively high prices. Selection is fine but quality varies. If you do not want to wander the narrow country roads at night, this is a fine place to dine, but Rome has a lot more to offer to the connoisseur. Staff: Speaks English and helpful. At EUR 60/night this is a nice find. The drive to/from the center of Rome may be hectic at times (beware of Roman drivers!) so I would not recommend this hotel for a business traveler, but for a relaxed family vacation - it is a great quiet spot after a long day in the queues to the tourist attractions of the city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful relaxing hotel

Posted Mar 20, 2013
Beautiful, full of charm, clean and comfortable. Staff very welcoming and helpful. Nothing too much trouble.