Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charming room

Posted Oct 17, 2014
Great experience. Very friendly staff. We had a problem in our room but they didnt hesitate to upgrade us.. I recomand this hotel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Joe from Nottingham, England

Superb location; a few 100m from the Spanish Steps

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Pros: Location, friendly staff, cleanliness
Cons: Breakfast, though brought to us in our room was poor and didn't show anything Italian. Some other satellite tv channels would have been welcome
Location: The location sells it and is within walking distance of lots of sights and has two underground stations just outside which take to straight into Rome
Very friendly and helpful staff in this fairly basic hotel. Just a clean room and bathroom; no communal areas, bar etc but the surrounding area has restaurants and bars in abundance. The location sells it and is within walking distance of lots of sights and has two underground stations just outside which take to straight into Rome itself. Very simple connection to Fumicini airport which makes the whole visit seamless. The room and bathroom were quite basic; for instance, the shower had to be held over your head when in use but clean and had what we needed. There was a tv all in Italian and the hotel staff allowed us use of a fridge to keep refreshing, cool drinks in. Just around the corner from The Spanish Steps and lots of other great sights. It is located on Barberini Piazza which is a very pleasant square with a big fountain in the middle which is ideal for dipping one's feet in at the end of a long day's sight-seeing. We were also given a front door key so we could just come and go as we pleased.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by HB from USA

Location can't be beat; room spare, but clean

Posted May 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
We booked this hotel last minute, having read all the previous reviews that warned/complained about the five-storey walk-up and "Italian" breakfast. You'll get no complaints from us--the location on the Piazza Barbarini is perfect for walking to the biggest sites in Rome, and the room was impeccably clean, if slightly spare. The staff was very helpful, and the breakfast is in bed and light but filling. HOWEVER, you should note that after you are buzzed in on the ground floor, there is a lightswitch on the right hand wall. The light is on a timer, and if you arrive in the afternoon, it won't be automatically switched on, rendering the stairway quite dark (it is on automatically at night). The lightswitch is marked, but we missed it the first time, making for a seemingly perilous journey upstairs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The perfect hideaway

Posted May 16, 2014
Perfect location, great service. Would recommend to all
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 10, 2013
There were 102 stairs to climb it was not three floors it was six! They did not give us our room as promised for two days then share one with my sister for third night only. We shared one room with top floor being second bedroom another flight of stairs no restroom on bottom floor me and my sister had to climb stairs walk through other bedroom my other sister and husband were sharing. We finally used trash can at night as my sister is sixty five and all those stairs were to much for her. At the end of the stay they tried to charge us for a suite instead of are two rooms for two nights and one room with cots third night. We refused to pay extra large amount when nothing we were promised happened. Insisted on speaking to a manager and told him of situation which he already new about since we complained from moment we got there and told him no extra money for a suite we were told was only room available to us we did not get two rooms then third for one night with cots but we're told we asked for suite that was big fat lie!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by patrycia from london

fab location !!!! very nice and helpful staff !!!!

Posted Nov 18, 2013
2 out of 5
by Marina from Miami Florida USA

Its not what you see on the pictures

Posted Oct 11, 2013
Pros: location
Cons: everything
I love Rome and for me it's really not about hotel but city. Its 4-5 rooms hotel total located on 4th floor with NO elevator. Staff was OK but no body was speaking english and it was hard to communicate and explain what you want. Room was so small that I didn't even have enough space to place my personal staff anywhere.Walls was dirty it's definitely can use big time maintenance. They charged me not a small amount and its not worth of the money at all. Save your self time and money and go somewhere else. The only thing was great it's a location.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Crappy Hotel

Posted Sep 12, 2013
Cons: everything
Location: good location
My room was located on the 5th floor and building had no elevators. Had to walk up 5 flights of stairs. Once I got to see the room, it was dark and smelled. Cancelled my room immediately. I would recommend this location be removed from site.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Erin from new york, NY

great location, good service, not the best room

Posted Apr 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
This is in the heart of piazza barberini, very close to the metro & convenient busses and there's nice cafes across the street that are open late for one last cocktail, café and a pastry. Beware, this is on the 4th or 5th floor (can't remember) of a building & there is no elevator. The front desk is in the stairwell, but the rooms are right there so whenever we needed help with the TV, someone was right outside to fix it for us. The room was pretty basic but a great view from the big windows onto the piazza. Bathroom wasn't great, toilet ran, small box shower & a very weak hairdryer. Staff was very nice, not great with English but they try. Breakfast is delivered to your room on a tray at whatever time you want till 9:30am, which is nice. They ask you what type of coffee you want the night before, comes with orange juice, toast, jelly, croissant & plain yogurt.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Residence AT from Rome

Posted Mar 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
modest, clean, inexpensive, good location, lots of street noise, small, nice shower but very small, located on 4th floor, hall lights not automatic (switches on each floor), includes continental breakfast, excellent for people on a budget.