Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Scottish Borders

Very pleasant surprise

Posted Sep 11, 2014
We were very happy about booking this hotel and felt very confident, until we were pulling our suitcases up the small hill to be confronted with a dull, brown and unloved building in front of us. Once we were inside, however, our worries started vanishing; the staff were so friendly and the interior has been really thought about (as there is a subtle retro theme). We were shown to our room which was perfect for us, if on the small side. Everything very clean and bright, felt very safe, and staff were always willing to help. They even had a small communal area with a mini fridge and some kitchen utensils which we thought was considerate. The area the hotel is in has everything you'll need, a pharmacy, a small supermarket and lots of restaurants. Overall would definitely recommend.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Only good aspect is the location.

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Hotel staff were rude and felt you were putting them out by asking questions. Bathroom door wouldn't lock and toilet seat was broken. The TV had no signal for channels however it did have a DVD player with a small collection of DVDs to choose from . AC was available. Very close to the colosseum and other landmarks.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jacob from Chicago

Don't judge a book by its cover!

Posted Jun 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
When my boyfriend and I walked up to the outside door, we were a little scared. However, as soon as we went in we were greeted by Angela, who sat us down and gave us information about the hotel and surrounding areas. I had accidentally booked a 5 night stay through hotels.com, and she was more than happy to refund the last night since we were only staying for 4 nights. The rooms are very modern and cute, and you have your own thermostat, which is nice because it gets HOT in Rome! The location is great - only about a 10 minute walk to the Colosseum metro stop. Give this place a try if you're heading to Rome!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Chris from Melbourne, Victoria

Retrome respite

Posted May 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
We recently stayed in the Retrome apartment on the ground floor. The apartment was spacious and airy, although a little subterranean for my liking, not having any windows to speak of. The staff were excellent, greeting us on arrival with maps, information about the area and coffee. The rooms though, could do with an upgrade on the maintenance - the DVD did'nt work, the chairs and the bedhead fitting needed attention, and the shelves in the kitchen were about to collapse. The manner of the staff, the space in the apartment and the location made up for the shortfalls. We loved the area; everything was nearby, the local traders were friendly and helpful and I would recommend a stay at Retrome to others.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jean Carlos Herrera from Dominican Republic

Excellent Location!

Posted May 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very good experience. Small hotel with great service; very helpful staff. The location is superb and the hotel perfectly suits the purpose for the sightseeing tourist. Would definitely come back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great simple hotel close to the colosseum

Posted Mar 2, 2014
Great room, really clean, great price and really close to the colosseum. Friendly helpful staff that gave us a little map with recommended places to eat and other useful things. The recommended places were great, tasty local and a great prices!! Highly recommend!!
3 out of 5
by Xtine from Sydney, Australia

You get what you pay for.

Posted Nov 7, 2013
Cons: Broken A/C was a pain
Location: Close to the main train station and several take-away shops
This hotel was ok for the one night we stayed. As in the title, you get what you pay for. It was a cheap rate for a ok night. The A/C was broken and they had no other rooms to move us to so that was frustrating. Also the walls were quite thin so you could hear other guests in the hallways, but for an older building this should be expected. The room itself was a decent size and the bed was comfortable enough. If I was in Rome for one night and/or on a tight budget, I would probably stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Silverlouis from London

Posted Sep 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
The apartment / hotel was in a perfect location, a short walk to Colosseum and eventually walking to centre of town. I was met by Angela who was a delight and very welcoming. I loved the fact that it is a room in an apartment so there was a separate communal kitchen where I could store large bottles of water and Italian wine... The room was spacious, very clean and the bed was big and very comfortable, I had the room with the orange shower room. This was my first time in Rome and I could not have picked the perfect location. I liked the fact that I had my own keys for front door, I felt like I was living in Rome. I can't recommend it enough because of location. My only criticism is the inclusive breakfast which you need to get from a restaurant round the corner and I did not thing that was brilliant. I had option one which is a sweet croissant, and then cheese and meat in a very white sandwich plus one coffee and some strange looking juice. Retrome, perhaps you need to rethink where we should have breakfast but overall I had a wonderful experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel Close to all Attractions

Posted Aug 28, 2013
Location: Location is very close to Colosseo and other tourist attractions can be reached by walking.
It was a perfect family holiday. The accommodation was super!!! The staff (Angela and Sandra) were extremely helpful. The hotel was conveniently located near restaurants, grocery stores, train station and tourist attractions.