Ratings based on 85 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom seatttle

horrible, we did not stay.

Posted Mar 16, 2015
terrible, it is like an abandoned place. It was in the news that there was a family dispute.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Farmington Hills, MI

Not worth the cost, does not qualify for 4 star

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Pros: Location.
Cons: Everything related to amenities.
Location: Most tourist attractions are 10-15 min walk.
This by far has been the worst experience. From the time we checked in, we were told that free wi-fi does not work or works very little anywhere but in the lobby. That was not indicated in the hotel info and it was important to me as I had to work while in Italy. Even with wi-fi in the lobby my phone/laptop were constantly dropping connection and most of the time could not even connect to network - poor signal. This hotel looked more like an apartment complex that was converted into hotel. Entry to hotel lobby and breakfast area was in the different building so we had to leave the building we had our room in and walk through the street to get to breakfast. This is nowhere mentioned in the hotel description either. When we got to the room, telephone was barely working. We tried calling downstairs/front desk and call out and many times we had to wiggle cords before getting a decent dial tone, otherwise phone was dead. We had burned out lights in the bathroom, which we reported right away after the checking in and it was never fixed/addressed. We tried to plug in a stand up lamp to get more light into the room as it was dark and dungeon like and after it would not work, we walked to front desk yet again and asked them to fix it. The fix was - we were told not to turn it on/not to plug it in or other things in the room (lights, A/C, and etc.) would not work. That the last straw. Lastly, shower was so small we could barely fit into it and TV had only 10 non English channels.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Hamburg

Schönes Hotel in traumhafter Lage!

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Pros: Die Lage sowie das Frühstück
Cons: Den Internetempfang - wir waren im Richmond, solten aber das "deRome" Wlan nutzen, was teilweise sehr schwierig war.
Location: Direkt am Collosseum und auch alles andere ist super fußläufig zu erreichen!
Ein super Aufenthalt im Richmond Hotel - 3 Tage in traumhafter Lage!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location!

Posted Jan 3, 2015
While our hotel room was small, the bed was comfortable & room kept clean. The decor was nicely thought out too! Unfortunately the walls had evidence of mould & water damage which may be a sign of the age of the building. It did make the to seem damp which was a shame! The staff were all very very helpful, friendly and made us feel at home. The location was key! This hotel was right next to The Forums & around the corner from the Colleseum... We were here over New Year's Eve and in the heart of a party (fireworks/concert/dancing). Absolutely brilliant!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Frankfrom Virginia, USA

Great Location...Friendly staff...........

Posted Nov 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
The Richmond is a really cozy hotel in an excellent location. It is right across the street from the Roman Forum and right around the corner from the Colosseum. Nice large window that overlooks the old city area. The staff was friendly and very helpful. Room #205, was only about 9 x 11 - There are four restaurants right outside that have decent reasonably priced food. They have Wifi which can be accessed in the lobby but only now and then in the rooms. They do not offer use of a computer in the lobby which, after I sat on my laptop, made it difficult to stay in touch. Desk clerks were unaware of any nearby computer stations, but found one only a block away on my last night there. Great staff and decent eggs / meat rolls type breakfast. In my opinion, the great staff and really great location more than balances the above negatives. I was a single traveller, stayed there six nights and would definitely stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Patriciafrom Poughkeepsie, NY

Classical ancient Rome at your doorstep

Posted Oct 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
The personnel (Favio, Anna Marie, etc.) were wonderful. The front desk was actually at the hotel next door during my stay. My single room was really tiny, though it contained a full size and comfortable bed. The "closet" was located so high up that I couldn't reach the hangers. There was no phone and no chair or luggage rack (or space for either). And the elevator was a wobbly thing. But it was clean and everyone was friendly and helpful. Plus the location was excellent and the view from my window superb.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Martin

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Michelefrom USA

Not a four star

Posted Aug 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
The mattresses are not comfortable at all - way to firm. The security gate leading into the hotel was broken. Great location and restaurant right across was awesome - best pizza in town! Front Desk was helpful and Roof top restaurant was not bad. Elevator is old and shuts immediately when floor button selected. WIFI was horrible - had to go to other hotel's lobby to use it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Connecticut, USA

An ok hotel in an incredible location!

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: The staff is very friendly and very helpful. The location is excellent.
Cons: The bathrooms still need some improvements.
Location: The location is excellent. There is a lot of history within a 5 minute walk, Coliseum, Forum, Vitctor Emmanuel II, Trajan's Column, Campidogilo.
The hotel accommodations were good, not great. The room was clean and had been remodeled last year. The bathroom was clean but still needs some updating because the shower was about 2 feet x 2 feet square and very small to shower in. BUT, the location of the hotel made up for any inconvenient in the room. The view from our room was the FORUM across the street! The roof top, where breakfast was served every day, has a view of the Coliseum! Everyday when we left the hotel we saw the Coliseum and the Forum. And when we went out to tour the city, we didn't have to go very far. The subway is close and busses are everywhere. The hotel staff was excellent. They offered a lot of help, basically functioned as a travel agent. They made phone calls for us, provided information about Rome and about tours, and searched the internet for information for us. The free internet worked well everyday, you just have to get a code from the front desk that works for 5 days. The bed was comfortable for my wife and I. We also had our 20 year old daughter with us. She had just finished a month of Study Abroad in Rome. Getting a room for 3 in Europe can be difficult, but we ended up with a room for us with another room with a couch / pullout bed and a half bath. So my daughter had her own room! This was much better than I expected. There was plenty of room to walk around the beds and places to store the suitcases. I would stay there again because it was clean and the location is incredible!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Kathyfrom Malibu

Perfect Location

Posted Aug 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
We absolutely loved this hotel. We had a view of the ruins and could walk over the the colleseum easily. Great restaurants everywhere. And a large enough space for our whole family. Loved it!!!