Ratings based on 712 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cheshire UK

Perfect Hotel

Posted Nov 25, 2014
I can't rate this hotel highly enough! This was our second visit and everything was wonderful. After our first stay we had found the standard room was a bit small so we upgraded to the Villa Bourgese Suite for our return trip. The suite is beautiful and has a lovely, huge terrace balcony with stunning views across the city. The bathroom has a big Jacuzzi bath and there was plenty of space in the room. The staff here are so friendly and helpful, always say hello as you pass by and made us feel very welcome. Breakfast is fab, good variety of hot and cold food (scrambled eggs, bacon, mushrooms, toast, pastries, cereals and cakes). You can help yourself to normal coffee or order your preferred drink if you like espresso or cappuccino etc. There is even prosecco if you want a special fizzy breakfast! The bar is great and we took advantage of the happy hour prices each night, when everything is half price. During happy hour they also put out sandwiches, pasta and bar snacks for you to help yourself to. There was so much there that we didn't really need to eat out in the evening! The hotel is well placed for all the main sights, right next to Piazza del Popolo, the Colosseum is about 30 to 40 minutes walk, the Trevi fountain about 15 minutes walk so you do need your comfy shoes. There is a metro station two minutes away, but we didn't use it so can't comment. Can't wait to come back to Rome and when we do, we'll definitely be staying at the River Palace again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Birmingham

Very pleasant quaint hotel

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Pros: All of it, quaint, different, cosy, inviting, lovely staff
Cons: More pillows in room
Location: Near the square, shops, restaurants, the other side to Vatican city but we did lots of walking and enjoyed sight seeing on the way
Had a fantastic time staying at this hotel in rome. We could not fault it, room was lovely, reception staff lovely, breakfast lovely, bar staff, and to top it all there was happy hour from 6 till 10pm every night in bar which was very welcoming. Would definitely stay there again if I was to ever return to this beautiful city again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London, UK

Good location

Posted Nov 22, 2014
Pros: It's good location
Cons: The lifts could be updated perhaps made bigger to take more people. Rooms decor updated.
Location: Good location for walking distance Vatican 20 minute walk, colosseum 30 minute walk.
Friendly staff, hotel nice but dated,hotel in a good location within 35 minutes walking distance of main attractions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Lancashire, England

Good hotel - central to most attractions

Posted Nov 22, 2014
Super hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. Standard rooms small with bathrooms which might prove a challenge for some, but we managed. Other than that everything else was excellent i.e.facilities, breakfast, bar, service, and all staff. Would definitely return for another stay here .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Vermont

Nice location; easy walk to everything.

Posted Nov 12, 2014
Pros: Location. Easy walk to all big attractions. Happy hour half price drinks with loads of food that was delicious.
Cons: Bathrooms are small but clean.
Location: Walking distance to all major attractions, beautiful park close by to relax and take in local culture and fun.
Greeted warmly and explained where we could visit. The room was comfortable, clean and everyone was helpful and very pleasant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom sussex

Fantastic hotel

Posted Nov 10, 2014
This hotel is in a great location. But what makes it so great is how helpful and accommodating the staff were. Our stay in Rome was so much enjoyable because of their help and service. Breakfast was great and they helped organise anything we required. Highly recommended!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NJ, USA

Professionally Run Comfortable Hotel in Rome

Posted Nov 5, 2014
Pros: Professional service, staff, fine breakfast, comfortable room.
Cons: Make the room bigger??? Impossible.
Location: Location was central and no more than a 25-minute walk to all of ancient Rome and the great piazzas. You can always take a cab if you get tired.
The River Palace Hotel, close to all the major attractions of antiquity in Rome, is comfortable, clean, and has an excellent staff willing to help you maximize your time in Rome. The breakfast which comes with your room rate is absolutely fine and has a wide array of items. They will also custom brew double espressos for you. They let us check out a little later without a fee and helped arrange an excellent ride to the airport. The bathroom was well equipped. Both the room and the bathroom were a little on the small side, but this is Rome and the service was exemplary. Definitely would stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom East Sussex

Holiday to Rome

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Pros: Locality to the city centre
Location: Most of the well known tourist sites are within easy walking distance as are all the main shops and restaurants
We stayed at the hotel whilst spending a week in Rome the hotel and hotel staff we very helpful and friendly. The hotel is located in a very good position within the city centre to enable access by foot to most of the more popular tourist sites. We would recommend the hotel but would point out that they do not offer an evening restaurant service however there are vast selection of descent restaurants very local to the hotel. Rooms are quiet small but well presented
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom englanf

Great hotel with staff that go out of their way!

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Pros: Everything!
I never normally review anything but I felt I had to write something about my stay at this fabulous hotel. I am the fussiest person, I check everything on trip advisor and even one bad review can put me off and so the fact I even chose this hotel says a lot. It is clean, tidy and presented well, really close to Piazza del Popolo and the main sites including the beautiful Villa Borghese. However the staff make this hotel what it is. The front desk staff went out of their way a few times to help us, when my boyfriend needed his shirts ironed at very short notice they were more then obliging, the concierge was quick and polite, often giving us the lift instead of taking it himself and the bar and breakfast staff were excellent, never did we have to wait at the bar for drinks they were brought over ever time. The breakfast is amazing, huge selection and always plentiful, however the real steal of this hotel is the 6-10pm happy hour where all drinks are 50% off and there is nibbles and snacks on the bar on a buffet style all included. We loved the bar area it was relaxed and easy going with great cocktails and service. If you are looking for a good value hotel in a great location where you will have a 5 star experience I would thoroughly recommend a stay at River Palace.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom North Carolina

Great location and terrific staff

Posted Nov 3, 2014
The hotel itself is in a great location and very near many of the top attractions. The staff was extremely helpful and gave very helpful advice on tour services and food recommendations.