Ratings based on 697 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Staff excellent and super location to see all the sights of Rome.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Richmond, VA

October 2014 Three Night Stay

Posted Oct 23, 2014
We chose this hotel based on online reviews. Our room was ready upon a mid-morning arrival, which was great. Upon check-in, after being presented with the standard room we reserved & the next level of room, we elected to upgrade for a reasonable fee. My husband and I (40s) & our impending cruise luggage would not have fit in the standard room. I have traveled a lot through Europe, but this upgraded room was still very small - worse, it was just poorly laid out & dark. I did not expect the two-elevator situation which is described by others to be an issue, but it was. It was just a royal pain to come and go. The shower was definitely a disaster - we had water literally shooting across the bathroom more than once. There is a small plexi wall, but it is not wide enough to really do much. We tried to attend the much lauded Happy Hour, but could not get waited on and the food was pillaged by other travelers. We did place an order once, but after 30 minutes had not received our drinks and elected to leave. The bartender said "oh, sorry, bye". The location of the hotel is good. The breakfast and breakfast room staff are very, very good. The front desk staff smiled, but were not super helpful, including sending us on a bus that had been rerouted for at least a month. Albert, the porter, was very friendly and efficient. All in all, nothing horrible (other than the shower), but nothing to garner its rating, price, or accolades, and we will choose another hotel next time.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Possibly the smallest rooms in Rome.

Posted Oct 22, 2014
Well located, well presented, friendly staff but tiny rooms. It appears to be a scam as well, as even before giving us the room, the staff were adamant that we should try and upgrade. This was not thecheapest hotel either, so left a bad taste in an otherwise fantastic holiday.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Connecticut, U.S.A

Beautiful hotel close to everything

Posted Oct 21, 2014
I stayed at River Palace with my sister for a few days. From opening a bottle of wine in our room to calling a taxi whenever, all the staff is very nice and helpful. It's a 2 minute walk from Piazza del Popolo, 15 from Spanish steps, Trevi Fountain (which was completely blocked off because of work being done to it), and 10-15 minute taxi drive anywhere else (watch out for those rip off divers trying to make you think you miscounted money). Our room was beautiful and we enjoyed the delicious gummies left on our bed every day as well as the comfy slippers provided after a long day of walking. I highly recommend their delicious breakfast buffet (be sure not to miss out). If you're planning on spending a few days in Rome, River palace is definitely a must!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Hotel is in walking distance to many sites, shopping and restaurants. Good breakfast buffet and happy hour
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West London

Excellent location

Posted Oct 11, 2014
The River Palace is in an excellent location, perfect for taking advantage of walking to all the major sites in this fabulous city. Great hotel, very friendly & helpful staff, lovely buffet breakfast. Rooms on the small side but you can upgrade to a larger room if you're bothered!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Very nice hotel...

Posted Oct 10, 2014
Nice hotel , friendly and very helpful staff, we had a very pleasant stay at river palace , everything was a walking distant , metro right at the corner 2 mins walk , only one thing I don't like about is their shower , very small, room also is quite small . Good breakfast buffet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

4 days in Rome

Posted Oct 3, 2014
Pros: Ideally placed to walk to attractions. Helpful staff, very clean
Location: Within 3 minute walk you are in the beautiful Plazza del Popolo. The Vatican is about 30 min walk and the Coloseum is about 30 min away.
Hotel is well situated for all the main sites worth visiting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Excellent honey moon stay close to everything!

Posted Sep 22, 2014
My fiancé and I stayed at the River Palace for 6 nights. It was a great location in the city. In front of the metro, next to good gelato and pizzeria spots. It's not dead center in the city which is a good thing but it's right outside of it. The staff is incredibly nice, always at your service, very friendly. The last day we were there our driver did not pick us up to go back to the US but the hotel called us a cab. We were given a bottle of wine in our hotel. Every day a nice lady will bring you a card with the next days temperature information and chocolate. They REALLY clean every day for room service. Even the tub. Breakfast is fantastic! Every day from 6-10pm the bar offers drinks half off and try provide free snacks (sandwiches, chips, nuts, rice, pasta, bread with tomato). All good food. We wanted to go to Pompei during our stay and the hotel was able to set us up on a English speaking tour to Naples and Pompei with lunch included. We got picked up at the hotel and dropped off back at the hotel after the trip. The company was Green Light Tours. We really enjoyed it. Great hotel in all!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from dallas

Great hotel close to attractions

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Excellent time. Quiet hotel close to everything. Good free breakfasts and great happy hours.