Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from USA - Poulsbo, Wa

Excellent location, but very hard to find.

Posted Jun 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
Quaint, clean, quiet and great location! That said, it is extremely hard to find. No signs, just a number by a wooden door on the street. Once inside, a Fourier, a single elevator for two, and still no signs. We luckily took a taxi who dropped us at the door and assured us that this was the address. Inside as we faced the elevator, unsure of where to go, a maintenance man happened by and we said, "where's the hotel?" He said, "b&b? Name?" I said, "Rudy" to which he responded, "5". We took the elevator to the 5th floor, and there was a simple brass plate and a floor mat that were labeled " B&B Rudy". We rang the door and A very Italian accented, but English speaking woman answered ad said, "welcome! Nancy?" We'd made it! Lovely room, clean, comfortable, and basic. Perfect and beautiful! An Italian experience, we loved it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Fantastic value for money

Posted May 18, 2013
Pros: Location and price
Cons: No complaints
Location: Near to the main termini station
Fantastic price and location.. Can have nothing but praise for this fine establishment.
1 out of 5
by George

Extremely poor service

Posted May 4, 2013
Pros: Cleanliness, location and comfort of the room.
Cons: The customer service is appalling.
Location: It is a short from the train station, opera, busses and many nice restaurants.
There was no one available when we arrived. On day two the key broke in the door to our room. There was no emergency contast method. We found out by bothering a permanent tenant at 11 pm that the caretaker lived on the 5th floor. We leaned on her doorbell until she finally answered. We then had the misfortune of meeting RUDY. He accused us of breaking the key by turning it too hard. He tried to intimidate by standing inches away from me. He said that we would have to pay for the repairs and he pointed to scratches by the lock and said we had tried ti jimmy the door.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Bri. T from Seattle, WA

Service Fees & Cold Showers

Posted Apr 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
When I arrived at the hotel I rang up to the B&B so that someone could let me in (it's an actual apartment building that is locked and has other tenants that live there full-time) and no one answered. I called the number listed below the buzzer and had to wait 15-20 minutes before a man and his daughter came to let me in. They gave me a key so I could come and go as I pleased which was great. I had to pay an 8 euro service charge plus another 8 euro for wifi access which was irritating because I read that it was included in the room fee. I told him about this and even showed him where I saw that but he still wouldn't give the pass code until I paid. When I returned back after touring Rome both nights, I tried taking a shower but the water was freezing. I have been the only person staying in the B&B so I know other people didn't use it up. There is a cleaning lady that I'm assuming lives in the B&B that screams at someone on her phone all day and night so I had to put music on to drown her out. Overall it was very clean and spacious but the man running the B&B was never at the desk when I had a question or needed something. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone coming to Rome, and would suggest getting a place that isn't in "China Town." The initial low cost was what drew me in but I'm not happy that I had to pay 16 euros more for things I probably wouldn't have had to pay for elsewhere!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by anonymous from United States

Almost perfect, but no hot water

Posted Mar 11, 2013
Pros: Clean, good location
Cons: No hot water
Location: 15 min walk to Imperial Forum, close to Metro line going to Vatican, Spanish Steps
Everything was great - clean, nice room, great value. Rudy (or at least I assume it was Rudy) stayed there late to check us in when we arrived after midnight. We did not ask about breakfast or wifi so I cannot attest to that, he didn't volunteer any info about either. Only major drawback was the lack of hot water in the shower!
2 out of 5
by colin from cambridge, new zealand

Not Recommended

Posted May 27, 2012
Room was clean but furnishings were very dated, we required extra pillows for the bed but none were available. Breakfast was a complete rip off, you are charged around 10euros pp for the breakfast option which turns out to be a voucher for a grotty cafe down the road. The breakfast options are a brioche and coffee or nothing at all. If you walked into the cafe and bought this it would cost you 3euro. there aren't even places to sit in to cafe, you have to stand. would not recommend this hotel at all, there are plenty of others in the area to choose from
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A Clean bed, but these people are cheapskates!

Posted Jul 24, 2011 on Hotels.com
Rudy is a good name for this place if you spell it "Rude-y". There is no external way to know where the place is besides a piece of paper taped next to the bell. The woman who runs this place speaks no English to you (but appears to understand some), was very rude and acts as if you are inconveniencing her by staying here. They are so cheap that the lights on a push button timer kept turning off while we were trying to check in! The rooms were clean but according to the woman air conditioning is NOT included in the price, which contradicts what they say on their Hotels.com description. The "breakfast" is an absolute joke, one small pastry and a coffee served at a snack bar down the street at a place big enough to seat 4 people. The location is pretty good; close to the train station and a Metro stop a block away. The neighborhood is run down but not really dangerous. If you can find anything else do so. I would avoid giving these people your business.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from dallas, tx

ok but not best

Posted Apr 5, 2011
Rudy seems like a very good guy & his staff are the same. However, Rudy if he overbooks, will try to get you to stay at another location he has that does not seem to be as convenient. Other than that it was a comfortable room with free wifi in the room (that did work all the time). The bathroom was very small so people over 250 lbs beware.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Ohio

The Rudy Bed and Breakfast

Posted Apr 1, 2011 on Hotels.com
Very clean & close to 2 subway stations and the tram. All was good except no service was available, for example, no front desk, no one at the locked door to let us in exhaused & hauling all our luggage we had to go find someone kind enough to call the hotel numberous times before there was an answer and then wait for them to come find us and escort us to the room where there was an ardious check in process, then we never saw the woman again. We had to leave a note that the hot water was off and other minor details that we wished to convey. They clean the room but do not leave new towels and there is one large and one small towel for your entire stay. There are 3 locked doors to manage and a very small elevator to negotiate before you can get into your room. I would not stay there again, but it is safe, cheap and it is clean and convenient so it's great if that's what you're looking for.