Ratings based on 247 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Wales

Nice hotel pleasant staff very nice all round

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: Lovely deco nice food pleasant staff good position
Cons: Mirror in bedroom
Location: All within a short walk
Had a wonderful 5 days in Rome but disappointed Trevi Fountain having work done so could not get close water drained scaffolding up on building could not see the beauty of it or throw coins in the fountain
3 out of 5
by Patty from Colorado

Staff need some work!

Posted Jun 3, 2014
Pros: Rooms were comfortable with modern bathroom
Cons: Staff need to be more friendly and helpful
Location: Close enough to walk to the Spanish Steps
We stayed here 2 nights at the end of 3 weeks in Italy. Had previously stayed in a hotel on via Emmanuel Vitorio which was much more convenient to the major sites. The Savoy is located in a more exclusive area of Rome. The staff were not friendly nor very helpful. We stayed in 8 different hotels all over Italy and this was the worst in terms of staff. Even though the accommodations were nice, I would not return to this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dave and Liza from South Africa

clean hotel,very central

Posted May 24, 2014
Pros: Location, cleanliness, smoking rooms
Location: Near to Spanish steps, Trevi fountain, Villa Borghese.
Our room was very plain compared with the sumptuous rooms in the website photos. On the other hand we were glad to find a hotel with rooms for smokers. It was atop a hill and so, while it was only a ten minute walk downhill to the Trevi fountain, it was a half hour uphill walk back. The staff were very courteous, providing advice and tickets for sight-seeing. Breakfasts were ample, with refreshing fruit salads, and creamy scrambled eggs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Thomas from Melbourne Australia

Great location

Posted May 1, 2014
Pros: Quiet and calm atmosphere in traditional hotel setting
Location: Check out the bizarre bone crypt cemetery of the Capuchin Monastery
We rocked up in Rome after train travelling the length of Italy from Milan to Palermo in Sicily and back to the Eternal City with a busy bus tour of Sicily thrown in for good measure. The Savoy was just the spot for a pick-me-up of refined comfort before we enjoyed the chic of the via Venet justa round the corner.
2 out of 5
by Philip from UK

An unloved hotel that has seen better days

Posted Apr 27, 2014
Pros: The roof terrace and the location
Cons: Decor, food, reception staff, facilities
Location: In the centre of Rome and 15/20 minutes away from some very famous places, high end shopping and ezcellent cafes and restaurants.
The pleasant exterior is not carried through to the interior, unfortunately. The rooms were cramped and dark with basic facilities. The bathrooms were good. Wifi is not provided free, which these days is really not on. Breakfast was especially poor - terrible coffee, watered down and cheap juices and canned fruit. Reception staff were not especially engaged or engaging and frequently ignored guests coming and going. The roof terrace was very pleasant and service from the staff there was good. But the hotel lacks public spaces and comfortable places to sit, read and drink. There are two large rooms on the ground floor but these are only used for private functions. The decor is not good enough for a 4 star hotel. The location is very good, close to the centre of Rome.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dorothea from Stockholm

Hotel Savoy Rome Close to via Veneto

Posted Apr 24, 2014
I have to admit that i was disapointed of the hotel. I was expected something more exclusive. First disapointment was that nobody cared about our honey moon trip (we have advised upon the reservation). Nothing was prepared for us and when I asked for nice room, we have got a small, tiny room with double bed. TV screen was very small and it was no view at all. Almost impossible to open the window. Internet was more expensive than the usual one we had in our celular phones. We asked for internet and computer in the lobby and the hotel did not have this service for free. Breakfast was OK even though the breakfast room was located in the cellar which one does not expect in 4 stars hotel. All overrall rating is Ok thanks to very pleasant staff working at this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ray and claire from kippax

Lovely and clean with friendly staff

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Lovely hotel and staff. Would have been nice to have tea and coffee facilities. Air conditioning would have been nice too but overall a great hotel.
2 out of 5
by John from Miami florida

Overall

Posted Mar 25, 2014
Pros: the location.
Cons: everthing
Location: location is exelent.
The rooms are very dark,breackfast poor,internet very bad connection in the room,bathroom are deficient,the bed linnen are very old. For the price we spect better hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Jan 7, 2014
this hotel was in a great location, walking distance to most historic sites and a great place to stay for new years. staff were pleasent, room was small but nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 23, 2013
Pros: location, breakfast (plenty of choice)
Cons: hotel staff promised to book car for early start to airport. Car was not booked by them as we found out following morning. Fortunately next to taxi
good hotel in good location would like softer pillows