Ratings based on 679 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Lovely hotel very close to the Spanish Steps.

Posted May 19, 2015
A nice hotel and vert conveniently located. The double rooms are small but with high ceilings they are comfortable. Some may find the early morning street cleaning and rubbish collection annoying. There is a wonderful roof terrace with views over the city. Free wifi is advertised but in reality a very short session is offered. I found it syrpriding that the hotel had no facilites for good take-away coffee. Thid is a must for guests who do not have time for a lengthy sit down breakfast or room service breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

perfectly located hotel

Posted May 12, 2015
Pros: Quiet - and the location
Location: You can ( if you want ) walk everywhere ( including Vatican at a push) from this location - we did.
If we go back to Rome we will not bother looking for any other hotel . Easy stroll in to all of central Rome and back twice each day (and we are almost 69 and 70 yrs old ). Very pleasant and helpful staff. Great rooms - feels like (and is) a 5* hotel. Is costly of course. We had to move to a 4* nearby due to flight cancellation but no room available to extend stay at Sofitel - but gave up a paid night at that 4* as soon as vacancy became available back at Sofitel - it was worth it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Good hotel, but I expected more.

Posted May 8, 2015
Pros: Hotel staff is very attentive.
Cons: Breakfast buffet should be transfered to rooftop. Guests would benefit from some sun light in the morning!
Location: Location is the best possible. Villa Borghese is nearby and there are a lot of good places to visit, eat and drink around.
The hotel is set in a beautifull building, in a very nice are of Rome. There are good places to visit nearby, including Villa Borghese, an also for drinking and eating. The rooms are quite small as well as the bathroom. The hotel has a rooftop restaurant with a great view, but no swimming pool. Hotel staff is very attentive. Overall experience is fine, but I expected more.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 6, 2015
Fantastic hotel . Staff very friendly and eager to help
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom washington DC

Decent but not what we expect from a Sofitel.

Posted May 6, 2015
Perhaps our expectations are too high for Sofitels based on our incredible stays in the Sofitel Bayerpost, Munich. However, the price and location weren't what we'd hoped for when staying in Rome. I appreciated the welcoming and friendly staff and the opportunity to upgrade our room for a charge, however the rooms were awfully small and furniture was quite old, and not in a beautiful antique way. Next time we are in Rome, we will rent an apartment for half the cost. The best thing about this hotel is the rooftop terrace at the restaurant. The kind staff comped us a drink there and we enjoyed the views immensely. If you have the chance, do visit, but perhaps think twice before staying.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Atlanta

Nice, quiet hotel in the city center

Posted Apr 26, 2015
The Sofitel is a beautiful hotel in a quiet corner of Rome near the Spanish steps. It sits on the top of a hill next to garden. Beautiful street that is nice and quiet at night. You can sleep soundly with your windows open. Delightful! Lots of great cafe's nearby for your morning espresso run and afternoon spritz. The bed was very comfy with nice, high quality sheets. The bathroom is big and well appointed. You will also love the rooftop terrace bar and restaurant. Stunning views.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom York

Great Hotel

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: Great Roof Terrace overlooking Rome
Cons: Nothing
Location: Don't miss a walk around the Borghese Park
Couldn't fault it. Great Service and perfect location
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Warwickshire

The place to stay in Rome

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: It staff go out of there way to ensure an enjoyable stay and like all Sofitel Hotels they do it with style.
Cons: Tea and Coffee in the bedrooms please!
Location: Close to all the sights and excellent shopping nearby.
From check in to check out friendly helpful staff. Beautifully decored room,immaculately clean. The Terrace Restaurant was superb.The tasting menu with the flight of chosen wines was exptional.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Ideal um Rom per Fuß kennenzulernen. Gute Lage, sehr freundliches Personal und eine fantastische Terasse mit Blick über das Zentrum von Rom.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New York, NY

A quiet hotel off slightly up the hill

Posted Mar 31, 2015
It was an OKAY hotel, definitely did not feel like a 5 stars hotel. GOOD - quiet, terrace was nice. POOR - carpet didn't feel clean, room was small, restaurant over priced, staff was not attentive except for 1 gentleman was friendly and helpful. Overall, it was an disappointment in comparison to other sofitel hotels.