Ratings based on 419 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Great Staff and Location in Rome!

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: The people who worked there. Very nice hotel for the price especially.
Cons: If the hotel was not full then when the mistakes re: robe and beds were made, perhaps an upgrade to a nicer room could have been offered?
Location: Next to Villa Borghese with the lovely park and Art museum etc.; walking distance or easy metro ride to other Rome "must-sees".
Everyone was very helpful and nice from the check-in through check-out. I was a little disappointed that the couple we travelled with - who booked the same hotel at my recommendation - was given a much nicer room - and that was after I advised the front desk that my husband and I were there for our 30th Anniversary! We also had to go back down to tell them we did not want two single beds so they sent someone up to our room to turn them into a King and also to bring the missing robes while we were out. Still, the people were friendly and helpful, the doorman even lent us umbrellas as we were leaving the hotel for the day and rain was threatening, and the service was great. The view of Rome from the top floor lounge/restaurant was incredible! I was not impressed by the interior restaurant design and set-up though - no views from the tables as far as I could tell. All in all I thought the hotel was a very good value.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Super clean, super comfy and super friendly

Posted Jul 11, 2014
We stayed at the Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese for four nights in June 2014. Upon arrival, we were quickly and very politely greeted by hotel staff. The doorman took our bags for us immediately, and the overall check-in process was fast and smooth. The room was very comfortable and clean, and the housekeeping staff checked on us daily to ask if everything was up to par. Our room overlooked Via Lombardia but it is a very quiet street so there was no noise to complain of. The hotel itself was also very quiet so no trouble sleeping at night. Breakfast was not included in our package but much to our pleasant surprise, there was a table set up outside the breakfast dining room with a complimentary "breakfast on the go" -- fresh croissants and fruit, along with little to-go bags -- which we took advantage of each day. The location of the hotel is in a very nice area of Rome. It is just a short block or two off of Via Veneto and only about a 5 or 10 minute walk to the Spanish Steps. It is also about a 5-minute walk from Villa Borghese.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Sheri Daniel from Long Island, New York

Close to the Spanish Steps

Posted Jul 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very satisfied except upon arrival our room wasn't ready so the bellman took our generous tip and told us when we returned from touring our bags would be in our room. The hotel provided us with a lovely welcome drink on their beautiful terrace before touring and refused our tip, but when we returned from touring our luggage was still in the lobby and we had to have a different bellman deliver it to our room. We felt obliged to tip again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by S Latif from England

Hotel in a nice affluent part of Rome

Posted Jun 27, 2014
Nice hotel in an affluent part of Rome, with popular sites not too far off (10 minutes to Spanish steps) - staff are great and hotel very nice. Shopping areas close by and decent restaurants not too far away.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2014 by Vanessa, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for choosing the Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese on your visit to the “Eternal City”. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed our central yet quiet location. It is always a pleasure to hear how happy are our guests when they stay with us. We put a lot into satisfying all of our guests and we do it in a genuine way. We all look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best regards, Vanessa Lemonnier Quality Manager
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2014 by Vanessa, Hotel Management
Dear guest, We are so glad to hear that you have enjoyed our central yet quiet location. It is always a pleasure to hear how happy are our guests when they stay with us. We put a lot into satisfying all of our guests and we do it in a genuine way. Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in near future. Sincerely, Vanessa Lemonnier Quality Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Gary Isaacson from Tubac, AZ

Fine hotel if you are fasting or on a diet

Posted Jun 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Our room was comfortable, location pretty good near the always under repair Spanish Steps. My complaint is with the availability of food and drink at a reasonable price. The restaurant and room service prices were beyond obscene. 7 Euros for half a Coke. A half bowl of rice for $35. "We have a view" when I explained my discontent to the management. I was there for work; I was exhausted and could not have cared less about the view of the Vatican. This restaurant would close on opening day anywhere in the USA. We ate when we could at the pocket cafes within walking distance. I don't eat for a view or because the chef thinks he's an artist, I eat because I'm hungry.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the Spanish Steps

Posted Jun 14, 2014
Charming hotel with lovely buffet breakfast and rooftop restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Lovely Hotel, Excellent Service, Great for Tourism

Posted Jun 7, 2014
Pros: romantic. Central location walking distance to many of Rome's tourist attractions. Breakfast was lovely, but pricey. For some reason I presumed the ho
Lovely hotel, staff were amazing from start to end - Excellent service. Room and views were breathtaking, much better than my expectations. Very romantic. Central location walking distance to many of Rome's tourist attractions. Breakfast was lovely, but pricey. For some reason I presumed the hotel had a pool and spa, but this was not the case, the hotel uses a offsite communal pool and spa which is a drive away, apparantly most Rome hotels do this. Overall Excellent experience though pricey.