Ratings based on 740 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern Ireland

Excellent hotel. Convenient to transport links.

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Hotel staff very helpful. Very good breakfast to start the day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wales, UK

Lovely hotel with easy access to sights!

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Just returned from my first short break to Rome, hotel was lovely, clean and no noise could be heard from other rooms or outside. The hotel was very clean and staff were very helpful, not just on the Reception desk but also the catering and cleaning staff we saw throughout the day. We stayed Bed & Breakfast, the breakfast had a wide selection to cater to all diets. The hotel had a variety of guests from couples to groups and families. The hotel is a two minute walk through side streets from the main station Termini for bus and rail links, as well as another Metro stop (Repubblica). From Termini you can access all of the main tourist sights by bus, metro or tourist buses such as hop on/hop off. The hotel is surrounded by hotels, a few shops and lovely restaurants. I would recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of a trip to Rome and as I fell in love with Rome I will definitely be returning to this hotel and Rome!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mumbai

comfortable but not great

Posted Aug 18, 2014
I must say that the room was one of the biggest I have come across in any European city.Very spacious with basic amenities made available. Though there was very less lighting in the room which definitely needs to be worked on by the hotel. A very good breakfast spread and nice and helpful staff. Hotel is centrally located and very close to the main train station of Rome: 5 minutes walk from Roma termini though the main attractions of Rome are a bit of a walk from there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Great Hotel close to the main railway station

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: Its location
Cons: It would be great to get a hotel that you could check in early provided you check our early
Location: All the main attrations are available within walking distance of the hotel
We arrived early morning from an overnight flight The staff we very helpfull in settling us down until our room was ready. Check in wasnt due until after 2 PM I think but they came and found us about 11-30 to say our room was ready. Great staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glasgow, Scotland

Great hotel close to Termini

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Great priced central hotel a 5 minute walk from Termini station in central rome. Within walking distance of the colosseum and other must see sights. Very good facilities and the room was cleaned to a high standard. I would definitely recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

Good hotel close to the train station

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Pros: location, friendly and English speaking staffs, breakfast, satellite TV, printer in the main lobby
Cons: wifi log-in process a bit complicated
Location: train and subway station, good restaurants
Hotel is about 5 minutes walk from the train station/subway station. Room is clean and comfortable and generally what you expect from a four star hotel. Not really any view outside the window but this is not really a concern for us. The breakfast is has a lot of options and are delicious. There are satellite TV inside the rooms and you can even get Asian channels. There is also a printer in the main lobby for you to print out travel itineraries. The only thing about the hotel is that you have to get a different log-in info for the wifi every 24 hour and each device can only use one. A bit extra work for you if you are staying multiple days.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very Good hotel

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Very nice hotel, very close to the train station & restaurants. About a 20 minutes walk in any direction to rimes ancient sites
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA USA

Nice hotel, Great Location.

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Location: Roma Terminal station is close by; lots of good food places nearby; If interested in tours or day trip, the office location is close by.
We stayed there for 4 nights. Overall happy with our stay. Room met our expectations, breakfast was decent and loved the location. The hotel staff particularly around the reception area could be more courteous.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Convenient location

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Pros: They have satisfactory breakfast at the hotel and rooms on 8th floor are very nice.
Cons: The hotel needs to understand the value of its customers.
Location: The location of the hotel is very convenient. Termini station (the main train station) within walking distance.
Customer service at front desk is very terrible. They really don't to treat you as a customer at all. I traveled to rome with my wife and two kids and the hotel informed us that they couldn't accommodate us room for two adults and two kids while we booked the hotel through Expedia agent for two adults and two kids. The front desk associate, Fabrizo, didn't bother at all to settle the issue with Expedia. We had to wait for three hours just because of the front desk associate avoiding phone calls from Expedia. We had even witnessed that the front desk associate hanging up and putting on hold for a very long time phone calls coming from Expedia. The front desk associate customer treatment was totally unacceptable and very offensive. Finally, the front desk forced us to pay extra money up front but not through Expedia, and Expedia advised us to do so and promised us to get a refund from Expedia. Th newly renovated rooms on 8th floor are excellent except the A/C not cooling the room. Rooms on the 4th and 2nd floors are in poor condition.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 6, 2014 by Mauro Polmonari, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, First of all we would like to thank you for dedicating part of your precious time to write a review about your stay at Starhotels Metropole. Any suggestion or opinion, related to our service and/or to our venue, is actually highly taken into consideration and, if in any way something can be improved, be well assured that our will aims to accomplish this achievement. We actually took notice of your precious observations and we regret if these aspects were not achieved. Together with the entire hotel staff, we would like to express our apologies for you feeling uncomfortable in any way since we aspire to certain essential priorities, among many, such as courteous staff aimed at customer satisfaction and we will definitely work on what you’ve kindly pointed out in your comment in order to improve ourselves and our service. We finally hope to have a further chance of welcoming you again sometimes in the future, in the meantime, please accept our best regards. Mauro Polmonari – General Manager Starhotels Metropole - Rome
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Toronto,Canada

Nice hotel and clean.Good breakfast.

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Cons: change the type of the beds.
Location: Nice and centered.close to metro.
I did not like the beds. I was assuming to have 1 king bed but there were 2 single mattress and we had to attach them to each other. when you were sleeping in the middle your were getting back ache.