Ratings based on 1,826 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orange County CA

Stoned face clerk

Posted Jun 25, 2015
Stoned face clerk at check out as if I had to please her. The room cleaning maid took away our door card that was inserted in the slot to turn on the air that we used to dry up the clothes after 10 days of traveling when we were out of the hotel room for the day. The clothes were not dried as a result. We explicitly told her not to take the door card out for that purpose before we left. When we came back we asked where was card key, she told us she turned it in to the front desk.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from york

short trip to rome

Posted Jun 23, 2015
Pros: breakfast buffet was good with plenty of choice and pleasant staff. free wifi was easy to log onto. i liked the convenience of being close to station
Cons: it's fine, it is as described.
Location: this hotel is very close to the main railway station. it is a good location for walking to most things of interest, however buses and metro close by
my husband and i stayed at the metropole in june. it is convenient for the train station which was why we chose it. it is close enough to the centre for everything to be walkable but there is plenty of available transport if needed. the staff were friendly. the hotel was clean and comfortable. a breakfast buffet is available and there is a good selection of hot and cold food. it caters for all tastes, I'm sure everyone could find something that they like to eat. we were in rome for 4 days and saw most things of interest, at least all that we wanted to see. please be aware that at present the trevi fountain in under renovation so there's not much to see. we took the tours available to buy on the street for the colosseum and the vatican and can recommend people to do some visits that way. you learn more history and the guides were very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Worth, TX

Great Rome Hotel

Posted Jun 19, 2015
Pros: Location and they had a fitness room
Location: Great location - near metro and rail station and close to Hop on Hop off tourist bus site
Great location near main rail station - rooms are big by European standards and very comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 15, 2015
Great location. Perfect hotel for Rome! Everything was walk able. Hotel facilities were good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from AUH

REVIEW

Posted Jun 14, 2015
that's WONDERFUL!! nice location,good room,well conditioned air temp will make your stay perfect
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton

The hotel was wonderful but . . .

Posted Jun 13, 2015
Pros: The breakfast and the wait staff.
Cons: Those rooms that look at a fire escape should be discounted
Location: Amazing central location
The hotel itself was wonderful, the breakfast far exceeded our expectations but unfortunately the room we got was in the back on the 2nd floor and looked out at a fire escape. Very depressing and I'm so glad I was only staying one night. The room was very experience for what we got but maybe if we had a brighter room I would have had a better experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from münchen, bayern

Ganz gut

Posted Jun 13, 2015
Sehr nettes Personal. Gute zentrale Lage. Großes Frühstücksbüffet. Etwas dünne Wände.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Jun 12, 2015
Cons: The breakfast.
Hotel generally very good, however the standard of the breakfast was quite poor and not what you would expect from a four star hotel unless you have a liking for cold scrambled eggs and stale breads and pastries.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Middle England

A good hotel ideally located.

Posted Jun 10, 2015
Pros: The hotel is situated close to the Termini and within walking distance of the city's historic centre.
Cons: The walls required a fresh coat of paint and there were a few marks on the carpet that needed removing. These were minor issues.
Location: It is close to the opera and within walking distance of the Colosseum and the Forum. There are plenty of restaurants nearby.
This was the third time that we had used the Starhotels Metropole in Rome. The room was spacious, the bed very comfortable and the standard of daily cleaning was high. There was a good selection of food for breakfast but certain items such as fresh orange juice and boiled eggs cost extra and seem expensive. The breakfast room was spacious. The staff were polite and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxfordshire

Does what it says on the tin

Posted Jun 9, 2015
Pros: Cheap but 4 star! Convenient for transport links and food. Hotel has all mod cons, but we didn't have time to use half of them.
Cons: 24 hours free Internet is not enough if you are staying several days.
Location: It's Rome! Recommended: Partheon, St Angelo, St Maria & Angels, Michelangelo's last project round corner from hotel. Fountains! Ruins! Art!
This hotel was booked for us by our youngest daughter. She said it was ideal as it was close to the Terminii in Rome (bus and train) so that transfers would be easy and cheap. She was right; Ciampino to Rome by bus = 4 euros a head, back to Fiuminchino 6 euros. Also lots of cheapish places to eat around the area, and of course excellent public transport links to all the sights; Vatican & St Peters, Coliseum and Forum, well you get the picture. Lots of street traders; avoid eye contact and just say "No" very loudly. They are very persistent.