Ratings based on 796 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Israel

Posted Nov 23, 2014
Me and my mom had a great 4 night stay at this well located hotel. Breakfast is amazing, super kind and professional staff and a very nice design. Only thing that was a bit annouing is the wi-fi connection - first 24 hours are free of charge, and then, you must pay for your use of wi-fi. what's the point of paying for 24 hours more if we are not inside the hotel for the whole day?! I find that inappropriate for a hotel like this. Please take that to your consideration.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Eastbourne

Central to Termini

Posted Nov 19, 2014
Pros: Pillows
Cons: Only one ice machine that is situated up on the 7th floor.
Centrally situated for Termini Station. Clean throughout with fair sized bedrooms for Rome. Public areas a little dated but bedroom was nicely furnished with comfortable beds and excellent pillows. Breakfast buffet was fair although somewhat limited hot food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Stars hotel metropole

Posted Nov 17, 2014
On arrival the reception staff were rude and unwelcoming. They didn't ask about journey or anything and the way the spoke to you was like they were doing you a favour by checking you in. In contrast to that the staff at breakfast who were the most polite and welcoming people. Surely some tips for the front of house staff to learn. The hotel it self is brilliantly located near termini and main sights. It's very clean and comfortable. House keeping was brilliant and outstanding. Breakfast selection is great (standard veggie options but enough to keep you going until a late lunch).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Napa Valley, CA

Great location close to Termini

Posted Nov 16, 2014
Pros: Very close to literally everything, including the Termini and the Colosseum (we walked!). Breakfast was awesome and the staff was on target always.
Cons: With the number of Americans and other English speaking guests, I am surprised at how few English television channel options there were.
Location: We walked to the Colosseum, Spanish Stems, Trevi Fountain, and Termini. From here, you can easily go anywhere in Roma. So many eateries close by too!
For our 25th wedding anniversary European trip, we chose to have our longest stay in one place be in Rome. We chose this hotel due to its price and location and was not disappointed. We walked with our luggage from Termini to the hotel with minimal stops for direction. The check-in staff first appeared stern but I later understood it to be a cultural matter. Our room was spacious by European standards and clean. Our best surprise was going down to breakfast (which was included), and seeing the spread of items and breakfast area! It was wonderful. The staff was accommodating and surpassed our American expectations. I truly loved our experience and would definitely stay here again should I have the great fortune of visiting Roma again in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Miami, FL

Let Starhotels Metropole be your Rome pied-à-terre

Posted Nov 9, 2014
Pros: Extras like bathroom robes, complimentary breakfast with cappuccino or expresso.
Location: Near RomaTermini Station, Santa Maria Maggiore Cathedral, Teatro dell Opera, Alessio's Restaurant: all these & many others within walking distance.
Hotel location was excellent for walking to various must see monuments & locations, and near the Termini (Grand Central Station) for metro, train & public bus transportation. The breakfast provided is a great start and the cappuccinos were a nice plus! Maria at the reception desk excelled at making us comfortable and answering our questions on how to get around. Room accommodations were 4 stars and the A/C is up to par with "North American" standards so you won't have to be afraid that you'll be sweating it through the night!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Edinburgh

Excellent stay in Rome

Posted Nov 8, 2014
Pros: Comfort and convenient location for transport.
Cons: Better choice of UK TV channels would be a welcome addition. Only channel for news was BBC World which is more of a magazine programme.
Location: Unless you like walking, the major attractions in Rome are best reached by public transport from this location. All within a 5 min walk.
Having chosen this hotel based on the reviews posted on Expedia we were certainly not disappointed. The junior suite exceeded our expectations for comfort and cleanliness and was very well appointed with excellent lighting. The bathroom was superb with everything needed. The breakfast room was large and had no problem seating everyone even although the hotel was busy. Breakfast choice was excellent and the staff very pleasing and efficient. Easy short walk from the Rome Termini station and Metro made this hotel the ideal choice for our 4 day stay in Rome.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Manchester

Nice hotel near to Termini Station

Posted Nov 5, 2014
Good and clean hotel. Nice retaurant is very near.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom West Palm Beach

Nice Hotel in a Good Location

Posted Nov 5, 2014
The rooms are a decent size if you are used to American standards. They were clean, comfortable, and modern. The location was walkable to most of the center city destinations - the Colloseum, Forum, Trevi Fountain, Pantheon, etc. For a hotel of this size, I expected an active hotel lobby bar, but it seemed to be an afterthought, being staffed part-time. I would recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wales, UK

Exceptionally clean; convenient location.

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Pros: Location and cleanliness.
Cons: Coffee served at breakfast was not the best quality, but this was a minor issue.
Location: Excellent location for the independent traveller using Leonardo express train to and from Fumicino airport.
This was my second visit to this hotel; bed was extremely comfortable and room was very clean. I had requested a quiet room with a bath instead of a shower and my room had both which was great. Tea and coffee tray included. The reception staff were very helpful and dining room staff also. I chose to eat out of the hotel in the evening so cannot comment on the evening menu. Good choice for breakfast. I have stayed in several hotels in this area and would say that this hotel is the best by far. Fellow guests were a variety of nationalities which made the stay interesting; as I was travelling alone, I wanted to stay in a hotel where I felt comfortable and confident that staff could assist me if I had a problem. I would definitely stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 12, 2014 by Mauro Polmonari, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, first of all we would like to thank you for choosing us and, of course, for using part of your precious time to write a comment about Starhotels Metropole, since we do believe that our Guests' opinions and suggestions are very important in order to allow us to improve as far as our service and/or our venue are concerned. We aspire to certain essential priorities, among many, such as courteous staff aimed at customer satisfaction and impeccable service; that is why we are very glad to read in your review we succeeded in accomplishing these main achievements and, for all the positive comments you wrote about us, we would like to express our thankfulness. We finally hope to have soon another chance of welcoming you again, anytime in the next future, to Starhotels Metropole, in the meantime, please accept our kindest regards. Mauro Polmonari – General Manager Starhotels Metropole - Rome
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Birmingham UK

Short 2 night break to Rome

Posted Nov 2, 2014
A really great hotel. Well situated, staff were very friendly, courteous and helpful. Room was well equipped, clean and comfortable. The hotel is located close to train station and easy to access all the tourist sites from. I know where I will stay if I go back to Rome- the wonderful Star Metropole.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 12, 2014 by Mauro Polmonari, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, first of all we would like to thank you for choosing us and, of course, for using part of your precious time to write a comment about Starhotels Metropole, since we believe that any suggestion or opinion, related to our service and/or to our venue are very important in order to allow us to improve . We are very pleased to read all the positive things you wrote about us since courteous staff aimed at Customer satisfaction and impeccable service are our main priorities we aspire to. We are therefore extremely grateful for all the positive, concerning us, you underlined in your comment and, for this reason we would like to express our thankfulness together with our wish to have soon the chance of welcoming you again to Starhotels Metropole. Kindest regards, Mauro Polmonari - General Manager Starhotels Metropole - Rome