Ratings based on 1,863 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kingston Bagpuize

Not what we are used to!

Posted Jul 3, 2015
Pros: The rooms were clean.
Cons: More staff are needed in the restaurant at breakfast time.
Location: The Vatican and St. Peter's Basilica are nearby and Castel Sant'Angelo is only a short walk, but most of the other popular attractions are a long walk
At first, this hotel seemed a good choice, as the staff were polite and helpful when we checked in and our rooms were clean (although there were no proper wardrobes or drawers, only an uncovered clothes rail and open shelves in each room, which meant that our clothes got dusty and all our possessions were on show!) . However, when we went to the restaurant for breakfast the following morning, we realised that we should have chosen another hotel, as the room was so overcrowded that it was difficult to find a table. On the first morning, a very pleasant waitress showed us to a table and offered us hot drinks, but this experience was not repeated again during our 6-night stay. Although there was a good choice of hot and cold items, supplies ran out quickly and were not immediately replenished and often there were no saucers with the cups as other guests had taken them to use as plates. Having stayed at 5 other hotels in Italy over the past 6 years (and one of these 5 times), breakfast at this hotel did not live up to our expectations. On the second evening, we visited the bar and sat down and ordered drinks. It was our intention to play an innocent English card game, as we had on many previous occasions in hotel bars. I had just removed the cards from the pack and had started to play a game of Patience (a harmless game for 1 person!), when the barman quickly approached and told me that we could not play cards in the bar. We were not impressed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham, AL

Modern hotel blocks away from St. Peter's.

Posted Jul 3, 2015
Pros: The continental breakfast was excellent.
This hotel was our favorite on our honeymoon throughout Europe. We were extremely impressed with the staff and all the modern amenities the hotel offered. The hotel was close to several restaurants that we frequented. One of the coolest things nearby was the fountain of running water that I was able to refill my water bottle with several times. The fountain was located a block away from the hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Good Location.

Posted Jul 2, 2015
Pros: Location, Cleanliness. free wi fI
Cons: Friendlier Reception desk and better breakfast choice.
Location: Vatican is a short walk.
We booked 2 x Double rooms and received 2 x Twin. But they did convert the next day. We booked a Smoking room and was told they were not notified, despite me showing them the confirmation. They did however let me smoke on the Balcony. Breakfast choice is very limited.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from kent uk

Nice hotel close to vatican

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Pros: Staff by on large very friendly Very clean
Cons: Maybe shower room rather then within a bath
Location: Location for Vatican great Had to travel distance to other places of intrest
Fantastic stay helpful stand friendly staff Food ok could be better and more variety On the whole liked the breakfast wife not so much On the whole would definitely use again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from northampton uk

fantastic staff

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing
Location: 10 mins from the Vatican walking distance to all attractions
we were unlucky to be pickpocketed an hour after landing in Rome on arrival at the Hotel the staff could not do enough to help us they were all fantastic , they made our stay totally enjoyable and provided us wiyh all the help to report the incident to the police , i would definatley stay at this Hotel again and fully recommend this Hotel to everyone .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ammanford

Decent hotel in good location.

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Only a 20 minute ride from the airport - not the 45 minutes we were told to expect. Hotel is nice and clean and staff were friendly and helpful. The room was nice with balcony and views of St. Peter's basilica, but a bit on the small side and had twin beds when we were expecting a double. Don't drink spirits at the bar - 30 euros for two drinks!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best hotel nearest to the Vatican!

Posted Jun 29, 2015
You will not find a better hotel that is nearer to the Vatican and St. Peter's Basilica. If you want to be closer to the shops and the Spanish Steps, then the location is not as convenient but it is walkable to Travastere area and Via Garibaldi. The rooms are contemporary in design and are very clean as it is a newer hotel. I was very pleased. Definitely recommended for Catholics attending special ceremonies held at the Vatican.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Recent stay

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Pros: Location and that's about it.
Cons: Staff should be given training on how to deal with their clients/visitors.
Location: Close to the Vatican but no nice restaurants or bars close by.
Staff were arrogant and very unhelpful! Never again will we stay in this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Great location in Rome

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Completely enjoyed my stay, great location with a beautiful room. Breakfast was very good and everyone was helpful with my limited Italian. Only complaint was the housekeeping staff and their early morning activities. (8:30am) Staff knocked and opened our door the first morning of our stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Free wifi was terrible and noises around room.

Posted Jun 25, 2015
Wifi was a problem throughout the stay even after we paid the up charge for one device. Also there was a lot of walking noise from above and noise from other rooms which was a surprise. Good quality but these things weren't good.