Ratings based on 972 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel. Near Vatican

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Pros: Everything was great. I would have given it all 5 Stars except I had requested 2 beds and got one.
Cons: If you have a special request, call ahead to verify. I booked 4 months ahead and requested a room with 2 beds. My request was not accomadated.
Location: Short walk to Vatican. Other sights are about a 30-40 min walk.
Friendly professional staff. Breakfast buffet was included. Room was a bit small but very clean and the bed was comfortable. Quiet neighborhood.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Nice Hotel close to Vatican

Posted Sep 13, 2014
Pros: Breakfast! Excellent choices and attentive personnel.
Cons: This Hotel would have been a 5 star if they would consider the customers needs in the bathroom. We don't understand why there is no base in the shower
Location: Vatican, shops, small italian cafes, the location had an atmosphere of italian flavor and the hotel didn't feel like a large hotel. It was cozy.
As you enter the Hotel the atmosphere is upscale and inviting. Room was adequate in size and very comfortable. The television had no good reception and it would have been nice to enjoy a movie and relax after a long day. We would have paid for pay to view movie channels. 5 star as far as cleanliness.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from c

Clean and modern next to St. Peter's

Posted Sep 13, 2014
The hotel is probably one of the cleanest I have stayed in and very modern. The room had a lovely comfy bed and you can choose your pillow which is a plus. The breakfast was excellent with pastries, cereal, fruits, breads, hams and cheeses then hot options too although the egg was very strange. Great location for St. Peter's but quite a walk to other sights. You need to try the bar it's a lovely atmosphere but the spirits are expensive. The staff were very friendly apart from one morning when someone left their toast burning so I went to get it out as it was almost at the point of setting on fire and people were just looking and walking past, a very rude waitress came and told me off, I tried explaining I was just trying to help but she continued to shout at me and then another waiter came and told me off too, in future I'll just leave it and let their hotel burn down shall I?! Literally one street behind is the train station Roma San pietro if you get on the train to Civitavecchia and get off at San marinella about 40minutes at €4 each you will find the most amazing beach perfect for a relaxing day to recharge between the sight seeing. Overall fantastic hotel but slightly far from the rest of the sights but I would recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Great Hotel close to Vatican

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Pros: Modern, comfortable, great staff.
Cons: Nothing
Location: It was walking distance from lots of things. A stop for the open bus was 10-12 minutes away. Took 40 minutes by taxi from the airport cost 48 euro.
This was a great place to stay in Rome. Five minutes from the Vatican. The staff were wonderful. The room was thoroughly cleaned everyday and sheets changed every second day. Restaurant staff great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from united kingdom

very close to saint peters

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: close to the basilica
Location: close to the basilica, a good walk from other rome attractions although you are close to local bus and subway links
Very clean and comfortable hotel close to saint peters basilica, staff friendly and polite. Hotel a good walk away from other sits and places to eat
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati, Ohio

3 Night Stay In Rome

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: very close to the Vatican
Cons: Customer relations with the front desk
Location: Visited all the sites in Rome
For the most part we had a very enjoyable experience. There was some confusion when we checked in with the front desk clerk that I had paid in advance. Then when checking out we had a "terrible" experiences with the tall male clerk on duty about 7:30 AM. He was convinced I had not paid in advance and it became a very bad situation until after our constant arguing we only had to pay the additional city tax. He was a JERK! Poor customer service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, awesome free breakfast

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Pros: the free breakfast buffet, awesome location, 2 blocks from St Peters Square, very clean Cons: no irons in the rooms, the A/C doesn't get very cool in the room
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rhode Island

Wonderful hotel steps away from the Vatican

Posted Sep 3, 2014
The total experience at this hotel was excellent from check-in to check-out. The hotel is immaculate/spotless and well appointed. The service of all the staff was excellent. Everyone speaks English and is extremely pleasant. I found the room rates to be reasonable. The complimentary morning buffet was very good with a wide variety to choose from. The location of the hotel is wonderful only a 5 minute walk to St. Peter's Square. They offer a private car service to the airport for a flat rate of $50 Euros which is only $2 Euros more than a taxi charges. I highly recommend this. I would certainly look to stay in other Michelangelo Hotels scattered about Italy for future visits. They also have a hotel in NYC now for those who are interested.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: Breakfast was great, location was ideal
Cons: Nothing obvious
Location: Vatican City is a very short walk away.
For touring the Vatican and the area around this is an ideal location. Morning breakfast was complete with many options. Early check in worked and the staff made it easy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to vatican

Posted Aug 26, 2014
The location of the hotel was ideal and allowed us to visit the Vatican at a moments notice.