Ratings based on 209 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel.

Posted May 12, 2014
Enjoyed our holiday. Although the hotel wasn't quite as close to the sights as we expected. Once we got our bearings we found it easier to get around. Comfortable walking shoes highly recommended.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but a bit far out

Posted Apr 23, 2014
Location: It is not near enough to walk onto the city, which was a bit of a let down. The free shuttle bus was help but got full quickly at peak times.
Rome is amazing with so much to see and do but a little on the expensive side
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Raj from London

Nice Hotel and Friendly staff

Posted Mar 10, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
by pop and jo from rome

Posted Oct 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
our stay was very good my only problem was facilities in the room eg,tea.coffee. the tv didnt work but we wernt in the room that long anyway the service was excellent. the hotel was away from the center but was very happy with the shuttle bus.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by ethan

Excellent

Posted Oct 16, 2013
Hotel better than expected shuttle bus reliable but should be booked in advance taxis bring you tourist route breakfast was cold to lukewarm but everything else about our stay was excellent
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leamington Spa, England

Good Hotel Away From Centre

Posted Oct 16, 2013
Pros: Staff, cleanliness, location, free shuttle.
Cons: The bar!
Location: Spend a couple of hours rooting out local cafes, restaurants and shops.
Great hotel, a short car journey from centre; which isn't an issue if you take advantage of the free shuttle service. The service runs every half an hour, though it must be pre-booked. Close to facilities such as supermarket, restaurant and cafes. Staff were very friendly and accommodating and sorted any request we had promptly, efficiently and courteously. The hotel is very clean and tidy, the only downside being the bar, which is actually a table in the lounge with some bottles of drink on it. With this being the case there was not a lot of life evident in the bar area upon returning, so don't expect too much! Breakfast is good with plenty of choice, both hot and cold and served by friendly staff. The rooms are quite small but well appointed, clean and fresh. Ours had a balcony, which was a nice touch. If you are out all day, as we were, the room was most adequate. Location is fine - which seems to be the major downside to other reviewers. We used the courtesy shuttle service each day, which drops you of in the centre and close to a Metro station. If you fancy some local hospitality visit - L'ortica / Tale Quale (basically right out of the hotel keep walking for a short while, on the left hand side). Very unusual decor and staff could appear 'strange' but they are very friendly and it's cheaper than the centre! Shuttle available on day of check-out and you can have your cases sent in the shuttle to the drop point. Overall very enjoyable stay.
2 out of 5
by Victoria from London

Impossible to reach via public transport

Posted Sep 18, 2013
Pros: The morning staff were helpful, and the breakfast was good.
Cons: Transport! Either get more shuttles, or notify people who have booked that they need to book the shuttle ahead of schedule.
Location: It's at the top of a hill. Don't, whatever you do, attempt to walk from the tram stop.
I booked this hotel under the impression that it was reasonably close to a metro stop, tram stop, bus stop or some form of public transport. Unfortunately, that is not the case, whatever the map & hotel website say, and the only ways to reach it are by: 1) car, 2) hotel shuttle, or 3) an hour-long walk uphill, dragging your luggage with you. Guess which one I ended up doing. Once I (eventually) arrived, exhausted and rather put out, the receptionist just shrugged and said I could have booked the hotel shuttle... which would have been useful information to have beforehand! It would also have been useful to be able to book the shuttle via email, rather than requiring me to phone in advance, as she explained (as I was travelling through Italy and often didn't have phone access). Never mind! I could book the shuttle to take me into the centre the following day. except that it only sat 7 people, and was only available for 8.45am or 11.30am... not ideal times! The hotel restaurant - as I was too exhausted to attempt to find a nearby restaurant - was not very nice. There was a choice of 4 dishes, and the pasta dish I eventually settled on was uninspiring. Mineral water was extortionately priced. The breakfast was good, though, and the room itself was fine. Staff - the evening staff didn't seem to care very much, leaving me to try to locate the lift and my room on my own, but the morning staff were good, arranging my on-going connection.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Far from the City, far from everything

Posted Aug 2, 2013
Pros: not to much
Cons: update the rooms etc
Location: nothing near the location
not bad, old needs update, they have a shuttle to town
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mike from Cyprus

Lovely Hotel in quiet residential area.

Posted Jul 21, 2013
Pros: Friendliness of the staff, and excellent shuttle service to and from city centre.
Cons: We found the bed to be a little hard.
Location: The hotel was situated in a quiet residential area just outside Rome city centre. There were a few restaurants and shops nearby.
We stayed for three nights in July and were delighted with this city hotel. The staff were very helpful and all spoke good English. The rooms were spacious and quiet.
3 out of 5
by Tricia from California

Far from city center even with shuttle

Posted Jul 20, 2013
The hotel is away from all the hustle which if you want quiet is nice but even with their shuttle service it is still another 30-40 min walk to Trevi fountain and the main bus line streets after your drop off. We found it easier to catch a cab then have to try to schedule a seat in their shuttle van that fits 6 people. They recommend you make reservations for the shuttle both ways so you be sure to have a seat. Most cabs from colosseum, city center etc. ran €10 except if it is late at night the cabs will charge a fee. There were nights and mornings when we had NO hot water and that was a miserable time taking showers. Wi-fi is a joke so don't expect a good connection or a fast one if you are there for work. Not within walking distance of restaurants except one by the hotel but city center has a much better selection so eat before you go back up the hill. Some cabs don't know what Duke hotel is so as long as you keep the address on you it will be fine in any cab. Bed is HARD as a ROCK but rooms do have nice blackout shades if you can sleep in those beds. Some of the hotel staff is a bit brash and seem to busy to look you in the eye but others are helpful. Other people who stayed in city center before a cruise told us the Duke was much nicer than what they had down in the city so this might be a good hotel for the area and it does have nice size rooms but don't expect to be close to anything in Rome.