Ratings based on 47 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Canuckie

Budget accomodation at edge of centre

Posted Sep 1, 2013
Pros: Good rates and interesting setting.
Cons: Internet access, tea and coffee, milk supplied, nicer towels, basic kitchen facilities, repair to basin area.
Location: Advertised as being near the Spanish steps, nearer the Villa Borghese/park.For Spanish steps, you go down the hill and up or use the metro tunnel
I stayed at the La Martina B&B round the corner off via Veneto.owned by the same people, as this property was being renovated. It is up a long hill if walking, but was an interesting place , small appartment on 5th floor of an former palace serviced by old lift, with 18th century floors, doors and windows retained, 3 bedrooms and a sitting area, but I would agree with comments about it by others. Breakfast was adequate, but would prefer to be left to help ourselves instead of attended to by the owner. I understood we were to have a spacious room, but we got the smallest and most awkward one facing the courtyard. Also the owner is extremely helpful. It was not expensive so I feel it was fair value, and the access to the Spanish steps metro and area was handy enough through one of the entrances just around the corner leading to long corridors and escalators to get through the hill. There was a sitting area, but the kitchenette was for the owner's use only - pity, because there was a Carrefour in the metro corridor and so could have been used for a light snack. Kettle in room but no coffee, tea or milk - also no internet ( disabled) and no tissues available. It is a bit unusual for a B&B being quite historic, but balanced by what I would say was just OK accomodation, fairly basic, slightly shabby, nothing fancy. Via Veneto is a very expensive area., but plenty of good places to eat near Spanish Steps.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Parth from UK

Great location. Comfortable room!

Posted Jun 29, 2013
Pros: Location
Cons: Reception desk is not 24 hours
Location: excellent
Great location. Comfortable room!..........................................................................
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Affordable hotel in the Via Veneto neighbourhood!

Posted Jun 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
We really enjoyed our stay. The hotel is located in the Via Veneto area, which is beautiful, and it is very affordable. The cleanliness and furnishings were good and the staff was wonderful. It is not a full-service hotel, so you have to be prepared to be independent. They do have a staff person there from about 8 AM - 2 PM or so. Wi-fi and a sitting are for hotel guests would be a nice addition. Great hotel, especially for the price, with the nicest staff (people, period) we met in Rome.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great time in Rome

Posted May 1, 2013
Pros: Great location
The Guest House is typical Rome, small but clean, on-suite bathroom. Weather was pleasant that allowed us to sleep with window open, but any warmer and AC would be necessary. Window opened to small courtyard which eliminated street noise. Not too much time spent in room as Rome has so many things to see and do. Location was wonderful, close to shops, park, attractions, restaurants. We skipped breakfast of coffee and roll as we need protein and not just sugar!! Taxis stand a block away at big hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Conquest from GB

not a house

Posted Mar 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
it’s called Via Veneto House - Guest House but it’s not a house it a few room in a corridor in a office block /block of flats but it is very quite at night with no noise from the street or Surrounding neighborhood making it easy to get to sleep after a long day of site seeing the room is small its has a built in fridge / stove / sink for you to cook but there in nowhere for you to eat except sitting on the bed but if you are not planning to eat in there and only plan to sleep after a day out it is ideal The location is excellent if you are going round Rome site seeing everything is within walking distance and the tube is only 2 minutes away if you don’t feel like walking to or from places the staff are not always there but when they are they are very polite and very helpful with whatever you need all in all a very nice basic place to stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Siobhan

Very comfortable

Posted Nov 13, 2012 on Hotels.com
Hello, myself and my mum stayed here for 5 nights. It was basic but very comfortable and nice and quiet. There is a lift which benefited my mum. It is a 5-10 min walk to the metro but a nice walk at that. Would return here again - staff helpful and kind.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Konstantin

Posted Jul 15, 2012 on Hotels.com
Nice location, a quiet street in a prestigious area downtown Rome (15 minutes walking distance from Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain). This is not a hotel in a detached building, but rather a large apartment. Our room and amenities were basic, but adequate. The management contacted us and kindly suggested taxi service from the airport for 45 euro. A driver waited for us at the arrival gate and very soon we were in our room. This was absolutely gorgeous and spared us from a usual headache while arriving in a different country for the first time. One reviewer complained about problems with the hotel's breakfast vouchers in a nearby cafe. Our experience has been only positive - they accepted vouchers and served us very politely.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Nice location, comfortable accomodations

Posted Jun 6, 2012 on Hotels.com
The room was small, as to be expected with low rate rooms in Europe. The staff was VERY friendly and especially because we don't speak Italian, they were very helpful with answering our questions and recommending where to go/ how to get around. Overall, we loved the location, and the proximity to the Barberini Metro Stop/ Spagna made it easy to travel throughout the city. The room was clean, and the breakfast (at the cafe on the next street over) was simple, but tasty. On our last night, the staff informed us that the cafe would not be open the following morning, so they asked us what we preferred for breakfast (down to even specifically how we liked our coffee) and what time we would like to have it delivered to our room. We thought that was very nice! My ONLY complaint was that we asked them to phone our next hotel to let them know what time we'd be arriving, and they requested 2Euro for that 15second phone call.... Considering I later had to use a pay phone to phone the hotel again (which only cost .50E).... I thought that was a little ridiculous. The staff member seemed to feel badly for charging me, and I got the impression it was a reflection of the stinginess of the owner. Overall I think the Via Veneto House is a bit overpriced for what you get, but compared to other accommodations in this area, I think we would consider staying here again if we return to Rome.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Minimalism in the Extreme

Posted May 30, 2012 on Hotels.com
The good: Quiet location, clean room, decent price. The young woman who checked us in was both friendly and helpful. The bad: As others have noted, you get a small room and little else. There is no WiFi, and although they trumpet a fine breakfast in a special room at a famous eatery, it turns out to be a small table near the cashier’s desk, and the breakfast is one drink and one pastry, delivered by a woman who was far from friendly. There is no service to speak of, only a person in residence for a short time every day. One is given a phone number to call at another place if one has any problems. The room has air conditioning, but it only gets turned on when the owner thinks the cooling season has arrived. Thus, even though the temperature in our room approached 80 degrees, there was a sign on the thermostat that said “Do not disturb,” so we were forced to live with the heat. Also, there was not enough hot water for even one shower. From our perspective, the worst aspect of the absence of service came the next morning when we asked if we could keep our two backpacks in residence for a while until our train left. The idea was inconceivable to the older woman who checked us out, and when we expressed surprise, she quickly turned hostile, condescending, contemptuous: if we thought we could do better somewhere else, well, good luck for us. If such minimalism suits you, and you can greet it with a happy face, this room might suit you.