Ratings based on 56 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Columbia, MD

Sleep in a Caboose!

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Pros: The cabooses each have their own character.
Cons: Fix the arcade machines. The kids were a bit disappointed so many were broken
Location: Choo Choo Barn train display, 2 train museums, ride a train, mini-golf, Cherry Crest Farm with corn maze and lots of activities.
We love this place. Have been going for 12 years now. We sleep in a different caboose each time. All are unique and comfy. Close to trains and lots of fun activities. Restaurant on site. Highly recommend the Red Caboose Motel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hoboken, NJ

I need of updating.

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Location. The Strasburg Railroad is within sight.
Cons: Everything.
Location: PA Railroad Museum, Strasburg Railroad, Toy Train Museum, and the Choo Choo Barn.
The hotel is in need of updating. If you have ever stayed in a chain hotel, any chain, this place is definitely subpar to them. Come with low expectations and they will be met.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Qu├ębec, Qc, Canada

original and nice place to stay

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Location: Lancaster and duch country
very special place to stay, a nice experience, would be most appreciated by families with children (5-12 y)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Appreciated the 10PM quiet time. This made it much easier to convince my two children that it was bed time. The playground and live animals made entertaining them easy as well.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fun Adventure

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Fun atmosphere! Great for kids! The room was clean and larger than we expected. Shower is tiny but usable. Beds were comfortable. Excellent location! Definitely a place you stay for the novelty of it! Consider the room a fancy version of camping :) We'd go back!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boardman, Oh

It was a nice location and close to all sites.

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: The location was great and the little entertainment offerings, on site, were great for the kids.
Cons: Stated above-update the cars and clean all of the carpets. The air conditioning did not travel well back to the bunk areas.
Location: Everything is available on the way to Rt 30 and on Rt 30-plenty to do.
We used your facility several years ago and were very pleased. Your staff was very pleasant but the rooms need to be cleaned thoroughly, especially the carpets. The carpets are in dire need of being cleaned and the rooms need to be updated. I used to go through the sample car, many years ago, and always wanted to stay there and we did, overnight, years ago and found it pleasing. The location is pleasing but I wouldn't stay again unless I knew that the carpets were cleaned thoroughly and the cars were updated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Paramus, NJ

If you love trains a must visit

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Cons: The rooms could be updated.
Location: It's right near Lancaster, so much to do! Amish Country, outlets, etc. We went to Dutch Wonderland, which was very close to the hotel.
We stayed here with my 2 year old daughter. The place was very clean, just old. There was a musty smell in our room - my allergies are pretty bad and I had some issues through the night with my allergies. But it's old and could really use some updating, the bathroom was really, really small. That being said, anyone who has kids (or adults) with a love for trains (like my husband) will LOVE this place. My daughter loved it - they have a little farm on site where you can feed the animals, a playground with swings/slide. The restaurant here was excellent for dinner - we had a delicious "Amish" style meal and so very reasonably priced! Since dinner was so good, we had breakfast here the next morning, just as yummy!! All the staff were really great too! All in all, a really nice trip - I just would have felt better paying almost $200/night for a room that was "updated" a little more, it's a lot of money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Kids would love it.......

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Pros: It was different from all the rest and very homey feeling set on someone's farm.
Cons: Fresher air in the gift shop, but their working on it.
Location: In the heart of Amish country, could eat and watch the buggies go by, with the Strasburg Railroad within sight. Lots to see and do.
Check in is late 3:00 and its not a fancy hotel. But it is unique...Every train car is different. Nothing fancy inside but clean and comfortable. We had two full beds with a small bathroom in between. Usual frig & micro. A tv for each bed. Was a very relaxing place and great for kids. The restaurant is a train dining car and good food and service. Shofly pie is a winner. If your looking for a 5 star, this is not it. But if your looking for something the kids will absolutely love, this is it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Allentown, PA

Nice with people into trains

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: Great location and you're actually in a real caboose
Cons: Inside of caboose is old, could use some updating, really expensive to stay there, especially when compared to cheaper hotels with wifi/breakfasts inc
Location: Strasbourg RR goes right next to it. Dutch Wonderland is no more than 15 mins away. Quiet, nestled in farm country.
Great for a family with young kids into trains. Old cabooses so don't expect a lot of space or updates. Comfy beds. Close to so much! Kids play areas are nice. Petting zoo is ok but lacking attention.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Hagerstown, MD

Red Caboose

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: It's Setting.
Location: This is on the outskirts of Lancaster, just around the corner from the Strasburg railroad and the PA railroad museum. We took a "lunch" train.
This was a nice hotel in a lovely setting. My grandson loved all the extras on site. The playground, the petting zoo and the outdoor movie each night were the biggest hit. The Caboose rooms we comfortable, my only complaint is the size of the bathrooms. It is peaceful and quite at night. This is a great place for families. The restaurant is great and serves home cooked meals. Every one who works there is friendly and helpful.