Ratings based on 88 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Pros: kid friendly.
great for toddlers and small kids. needs a lot of remodeling inside the trains.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Neat experience

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Pros: Great theme
Cons: Had a caboose with two sets of bunk beds. It only had one ladder. Great for the minimal space but maybe build in ladders on each side
This is definitely for the experience of sleeping in a caboose. It's not a ritz and please don't expect that. It's a nice place with friendly people who know you are there for your kids. As long as you know it's a couple steps up from camping then you won't be disappointed with the accommodations
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom NoVA

Great for kids, adults not so much so.

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Pros: Fun for the kids.
Cons: Please update the decor inside of the rooms--a little paint and some new bedding would go a LONG way!
Location: Science Factory and Dutch Wonderland for the kids, local craft breweries for mom and dad. Great weekend!
Great place and so much fun for kids to sleep in a real train caboose, but accommodations are dated and cramped. Swing sets and animals in the petting zoo are fun, and breakfast in the dining car was decent and tasty for standard breakfast fare. Rooms are clean and well kept, but extremely dated and very low-budget in styling and decor. I would recommend bringing your own blankets if things like that matter to you. Sheets were fresh and clean, but blankets left a lot to be desired. Our caboose had a sink next to the double bed, then just a tiny standing shower and toilet in an incredibly small "bathroom". Double bunk beds meant every kid had a place to sleep, but there is little to do anything but sleep in the small caboose footprint. Worked great for our family who already had our days packed and just wanted an easy place to crash for the night. The kids enjoyed waking up to see hot air balloons filling the air, to play on the swing sets, and climb the silo to the "observation deck". Close to all the attractions. Don't miss the Science Factory--it was our kids favorite part of the weekend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

get away weekend with my son

Posted Oct 12, 2014
we live pretty far apart so we don't see each other as much as we would like so we started this weekend together the first weekend in October and we stay at the red caboose and enjoy the local tourist places to visit
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 29, 2014
This is a pretty old hotel. So I think they need to renovate it. There is an unpleasant smell in some public areas, such as hotel store, restroom, as well as in the cabooses. It is probably mold or something like that. It's a shame that such an overall good place goes shabby. They need to do smth.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by David

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Rome, NY

Nice for a one night stay

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: The whole concept of staying a caboose.The location, had plenty of things to around the hotel.
Cons: Check the hot water heater before staying a caboose there. Ours was not working and we didn't notice till later the first night.
Location: Great, and excellent things to do around the area.
Well, arrived after 1pm, and was told I would not be able to check in until after 3. The food at the diner car was pretty steep for the portions. Staff was nice, plenty of stuff to do around the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Luxurious camping

Posted Sep 3, 2014
This hotel is a good choice for family with young children. My children love the train room, restaurant, play ground, and animal farm. Although I have a very special experience, I felt one night is enough.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom C

Nice adventure place

Posted Aug 31, 2014
We all really enjoyed our stay at the Red Caboose Motel. Once you realize it won't be of a hotel room standard, it will be enjoyable. The space we stayed in was small but expected. It is a caboose! Very clean , staff very friendly. Out 3yr old and 1 yr old loved the place! I would definitely go back
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 28, 2014 on Hotels.com